We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing big 5 experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours

Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours
Kruger National Park, South Africa
+27 72 787 2211
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Join one of our South African Open Vehicle Safaris into the World renowned Kruger National Park on either an overnight safari experience or even a Kruger Park day safari, which will enable you if staying on the perimeter of the Kruger Park the opportunity of seeing the Big 5 and experiencing the natural wonders of this magnificent game reserve.All our overnight Open Vehicle Game Viewing Safaris, from a Two Day to a Nine Day are conducted in our own safari vehicles and include all transfers, accommodation, dinner and breakfast, entrance fees and daily game drives. These safaris are not open to children under the age of ten years old. Please be advised that our safaris depart daily with a minimum of two guests traveling together. Many Have Copied,..... But none have mastered.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing big 5 experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Dean and mark were extremely organized, experienced, and knowledgeable guides. We were able to spot all the big 5 on first day! It was an amazing safari experience and I would definitely recommend them to anyone considering a trip to Kruger.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    4
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“Short but excellent safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tell the truth, I didn’t think much of 2 day safari because of two short time to see many things. But we had only 2 free days before our departure from South Africa and have no other alternative. However, the 2 day safari with Nhongo exceeded our expectations. For so short time (two game drives) we saw the Big Five including an excellent leopard sighting and plenty of other animals! Nkambeni Lodge was comfortable, bungalow and meals were very good. And, of course, Mark is an excellent and knowledgeable guide. We enjoyed very much of our short safari and are very much obliged to Nhongo Safaris for this. Hope we’d find soon some more time to visit Kruger once again but for more than 1 night!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Life-changing and utterly awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My Mum and I did a 5-day safari with Nhongo in July and we could not have had a better time. Nhongo was recommended to Mum as being a fantastic operator and right from the initial contact to the moment we said goodbye, this was certainly the case.

Verity and Sean were very prompt at replying to enquiries and the whole reservation process was very smooth. We were picked up early from our hotel in Johannesburg and driven out to Kruger by Verity - it was great talking to her about the political and social issues in Southern Africa. We were met by Mark at Nelspruit and driven to Kruger via the Numbi Gate.

As other reviews here have noted, Mark is utterly devoted to the Park and its animals. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge and is a brilliant communicator who could transmit his passion for the animals to us. He patiently answered all our questions, was full of fun-facts about various species and all was told with a sense of humour. He gave us more insight to the rhino poaching problem than any documentary could and I will never look at a hippo or zebra the same way again.

We did see the Magnificient Seven and even got to watch a pride of lionesses chase after a warthog (unsuccessfully). The animals were what we're there to see obviously but having Mark as a guide certainly enriched our experience. Along with Dean, they go out of their way to find the best sightings. And even the cold mornings were worth it, being in an open-top vehicle is definitely the way to do it!

The accommodation was superb and very comfortable and the visit to Moholoholo Rehabilitation Centre was a nice touch at the end.

We cannot recommend Nhongo highly enough and can't wait to go back and do another safari with them. Why? Because it isn't just another safari; it's undertaking an experience with people who are one with nature (and the animals) therefore making it so authentic and utterly life changing. You will leave with a deep understanding of the ways of the bush. Don't hesitate, just book!

BTW, you WILL talk about politics in South Africa, get over it get stuck into it, everybody enjoys a debate!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wow!!!...fun and amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

there were 5 of us...married couple, adult son and two spunky girlfriends. pick up in sandton was punctual and verity provided a brief explanation of our future experience.( I would say that we would have liked a bit more info about where to stay in jhb. we were so novice but the safari is their business so I do understand... I am being picky here. choose to stay in Melrose we learned...tons of options for food, entertainment, shopping and we felt very safe)

the camp could accommodate 300 but there were only about 30/40 in our mid week 4 day experience. mark was our guide....he worked hard to make our trip memorable all the while passionately explaining the tragedy of pouching and his love of the bush. we all enjoyed our experience ten fold. one of our favorite parts was when mark learned that we all golf, he redirected our lunch hour to a kruger park golf course ..oh my what fun....the hippos across the restaurant, the signs indicating dangerous animals and the thrill that one could golf on a safari was indeed a highlight ....the way he surprised us with the lunch was beyond memorable. our safari experience was amazing and while cat sighting was limited I could look at the animals we did see 1000 times and never tire. we loved every moment !!

the camp was great ...we had three 'tents' ...air conditioning and heat and we used both....indoor and outdoor showers were terrific. food was great. service, terrific at meal times. beds comfortable.

we loved our safari...the pick up, experience and hotel delivery at the end was a 10. basically we are "city folk types" but everyone with a sense of fun would love this !!! I would encourage all to partake ...wow ..magic and amazing !!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxury tented safari four days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The last person who left the long positive review really said everything I want to say. It's almost like we were there at the same time! Anyway, my wife and I had the best time with Mark and the team at Nhongo. Not only did we see so much of God's awesome creation (many many animals) we had a very close encounter with a pair of lions being very "personal with each other" that was quite something to see close up! Also, when I went on the bush walk with Dwayne and Chris I found myself within three meters of a white rhino. That was an experience that I will never forget ill tell you! In short the safari was brilliant and very cheap for what you got. At about AUD $900 pp for and an all inclusive experience of a life time is great value.
I can't say what the other guides are like but Mark is brilliant and very passionate about what he does. He is also very funny. He is a great asset to Nhongo Safaris. The admin and restaurant staff are fantastic too. Nothing was too much trouble. They were a delight to be around.

Funny enough my only negative was the shuttle bus back to Joburg. The driver wanted to charge us for having too much luggage. Being a bit of a stubborn mule myself at times I told him I was not paying anything and to take it up with Nhongo. Which he did by phone. So of course I paid nothing!

All in all, we had a fantastic time and I would definitely go with Nhongo again and have no hesitation in recommending them.

Thank you to everyone at Nhongo Safaries.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We at Nhongo Safaris would like to thank you for coming on safari with us to the Kruger National Park. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have given us and are very happy that you had a good time and got some great photos of the sightings you experienced while on safari. Looking forard to seeing you again on safari in the future.
Kind Regards The Nhongo Safaris Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours also viewed

 
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Kruger National Park, South Africa
 

Been to Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nhongo Safaris - Day Tours to your Saves list