We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern cottages” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Punda Maria Restcamp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punda Maria Restcamp
Save Saved
You added Punda Maria Restcamp to your Saves list
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Modern cottages”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The advantage of Punda Maria camp is that it is very close to the Punda Maria Entrance Gate - so ideal for a first or last night in the Park if you are going through that gate. But one sees very little game there in comparison with further south in the Park. We were luckily to see three very young (days-old) impala lambs together with their mothers on the loop road round the camp, but saw very little else of interest in the area. Not even a single elephant. Our night at Punda was the last of five days travelling up through the Park from Crocodile Bridge and we detoured via Pafuri before getting to Punda Maria - and that IS worth it, there was much more game up there than closer to Punda Maria. But it had been VERY dry around Punda Maria for months (although the long awaited rain finally arrived the evening we got there) - so perhaps that partially explains the lack of game. Or maybe we were just unlucky (our luck had to run out sometime, we had been exceptionally fortunate in our game-viewing further south). Having said that, my last visit to Punda Maria had been about 25 years earlier, as a student, and did not see much at Punda Maria then either...

The Accomodation at Punda Maria is very good - certainly the most modern and recently renovated chalets of the five camps we stayed in during this visit. However, a big downside is that the chalets are very close together and although one can sit outside on the chairs provided for each chalet, one is virtually sitting in the pathway leading to the other chalets. Plus the close proximity of the chalets means that there are no barbecue sites at each chalet (as was the case for all the other restcamps we stayed in). Rather, one can cook one's meat at a communal barbecue area further away from the accommodation. Not quite the same... Not that we were planning to barbecue anyway....
Although the chalets have been upgraded and modernised since my visit of 25 years ago, the shop and the restaurant certainly have not. The shop is miniscule and very poorly stocked - had difficulty in finding sufficient provisions for breakfast. Bread rolls about a month old. Since the rains had not yet arrived, it was very hot and sticky that evening but although the chalets do have good air conditioning, the restaurant does not. Only a couple of archaic ceiling fans that did little to combat the oppressive heat. On this, our final night in Kruger, by now heartily sick of the identical, limited-choice menu that is found at all the restcamps. Were there any pies available in the restaurant? Yes, replies the waiter, and rattles off the names of three different flavours of pie. We both order the same type of pie, but have to modify our order when he returns a few minutes later to inform us that he only has one of each kind available... The restaurant freezer seems to as equally poorly provisioned as is the Punda Maria shop...
Would only stay at Punda Maria again if it made sense to spend the first or final night of a Kruger Park trip there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estcourt, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We love Punda Maria and will strongly recommend this camp, especially if you are a bird lover. The trees in the Punda Maria/Pafuri area are exquisite and that alone is enough reason to drive so far north. The water hole at the fence is an added bonus and, if you are lucky enough to find a site close to the water hole, you could spend the day in camp and see an abundance of wild life. During peak times the ablution blocks are inadequate, so try to avoid the June/July rush. We also found that the shop was last in line to receive stock and days would go by without basics like bread.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
519 reviews 519 reviews
337 hotel reviews
Reviews in 338 cities Reviews in 338 cities
679 helpful votes 679 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Like a previous reviewer, our family had one of the two 3-bedroom cabins reserved. These are probably the most comfortable family cabins in Kruger: huge, with a nice indoor living room, kitchen, plenty of bathrooms, etc. Even satellite TV, if you want it. And the setting is very nice too, just up the hill from the office and other accomodations. In other words, peaceful, with civets joining you outside for your braai!

As also previously mentioned, make sure you stop by the waterhole at the camp ground for the ever-changing wildlife show. And, at least during our winter visit, the wildlife is just as easy to see in the north as in the south (perhaps because the animals gravitate to the waterholes in dry season). Touring the north is also quite pleasant, due to the nice scenery and low number of visitors.

We did not eat in the restaurant, which is small and not scenic (unlike other camp restaurants). The store has basic supplies; if you want something fancy to braai, bring it with you.

The swimming pool looked nice, but was too cold to swim in during winter. The promised laundry room was also broken, but the maids cheerfully did our laundry for a few dollars.

One world of caution on the "regular" accomodations. They look "atmospheric," but are also old and cramped. Nothing like our "fancy" 3-bedroom house. Just know what you're getting into.

I'd also note one oddity: there was no way to lock up our cabin. All the locks were broken, and we weren't given any keys. I know the locals probably think that's safe but, as a foreign visitor, I want to at least be able to lock my cabin at night. If management is reading, I'd fix the locks and give out keys.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was not our first time at Punda Maria Camp, it is one of our favourites in the Kruger. It is a smaller very peaceful camp in a beautiful setting. The busiest place being the caravan & camping area but as we were there "out of season" this was also not very busy at all. The hide & the waterhole in front of the caravan park are terrific and an abundance of game frequents it during the day, and each evening a herd of elephants which were fun to watch with all their antics.

Our last day here was the first day of school holidays & then I have to say I was grateful to be leaving as the kids running around screaming & shouting just spoils the solitude which we come to the bush to enjoy!

We booked a 3 bed bungalow BD3 - No 22, they are very neat & tidy and as always clean. We had a bit of a "hiccup" when the geyser valve blew one morning at around 3am, we thought it was pouring with rain & when my husband got up to check out the rain he climbed out of bed into 2 inches of water covering the entire bungalow. The duty manager was brilliant and this was cleaned up & fixed by the time we returned from our early morning drive, with the added bonus of our towels etc that got dreanched having been laundered for us & returned fluffly & clean. Thanks to Anna the lady who cleaned our section of bungalows for looking after us so well!

We had one dinner at the restaurant on our last night & found as always the service great, the staff freindly & helpful and the meal was super.

We did a "Sunrise Game Drive" with Thomas who was really amazing. He is passionate about what he does and we found him so knowledgeable & interesting & again a great sense of humour & we had a fabulous drive with him with the added bonus of great sightings including lion. The fallacy of there being no game in the North is just that, a fallacy.

We went up to Pafuri Picnic spot & Crooks Corner on two occasions and thorughly enjoyed it seeing a lot of varied game & birds.

Again a super stay at Punda Maria

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Punda Maria is a quiet relaxing camp with efficient staff members. There is never a problem when we request certain units, unlike with Lower Sabie and Letaba camps! We were at Punda for three nights and there were a number of leopard, lion and cheetah sightings around the camp and on the main Pafuri- Punda road. We enjoy the night animals - bush babies, civets and genets that come out after the sun has set. The tents are in the process of being renovated and we stayed in number 2 that was complete - nicely varnished and the top extended by 3 meters to stop rain and wind.

Room Tip: We enjoy the tents as the nocturnal animals visit us to catch insects that are attracted by the ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was the first of nine camps we stayed on our recent family trip to the Kruger and, by popular consent, the best. Very good service by very nice people, the facilities were basic but clean and in good order and exactly as advertised. The camp was very safe (no locks necessary) and really relaxed and close to nature. The staff were fab and the pool was good and I have no hesitation in recommending Punda Maria for those that want to experience the Kruger for what it is

Room Tip: Go on a sunset drive - its the best of both worlds (daylight & nocturnal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was the first SANPARKs camp we were to stay in - so it was going to have a hard time living up to my expectations. As it was, I loved it! It was one of the less developed and simpler of the camps that we stayed in - but it has a special place in my heart. The fact that the cooking / braai facilities are communal means that it is a great way to meet the locals - they were so incredibly friendly and great fun, taking pity on us first time braai-ers and sharing their fires and food with us. they even took time to sit with us, review our itinerary and make suggestions - which we wholeheartedly embraced and this ended up making the holiday for us. We visited roads we'd never have found and saw sights we'd have missed if it was not for the kindness of the people in this camp.
The night skies are also incredible here - take time to walk down toward the gate and lie on the road around midnight - you'll see galaxies with your naked eyes.
The shop is small but reasonably well stocked for its size - we managed two wonderful meals of stew and burgers whilst we were there.
The room itself was compact but had everything we needed. The shower was warm and powerful and the little kitchen has a wee fridge and kettle.
Northern Kruger is a lovely place to stay - far from the maddening crowds and less game intense, but the birdlife and scenery is to die for. be sure to head up to Pafuri if you stay here - the scenery is out of this world.
I loved Punda Maria and would recommend it - but if you want 5* luxury and a ease going holiday then it is not the place for you.
I have also written an additional review about Punda Maria here in an attempt to encourage family and friends to visit! http://www.tarajiblue.com/2012/04/a-review-of-punda-maria-rest-camp-kruger-national-park-south-africa/

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punda Maria Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punda Maria Restcamp

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punda Maria Restcamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.