We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next door to nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marc's Treehouse Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Save
You added Marc's Treehouse Lodge to your Saves list
Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
München
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Next door to nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We booked this accommodation as part of a 3-day safari and spent 2 nights in a treehouse. Although we had the option of more civilised accommodation, we decided to stay in one of the oldest treehouses (with no en suite bathroom) for a close-to-nature experience.

The bed (with mosquito net) was not really clean and we decided to sleep in our clothes. The food was very basic, but ok.

If you want the thrill of a chance encounter with a leopard or buffalo, or meeting antelope on your way to breakfast, this might be the place for you. If you don't like ants, mosquitos or spiders, go for the more civilised option.

Even though we felt a little uncomfortable at the time, we don't regret staying here, as the experience was fantastic - one morning we saw a buffalo (one of the "Big Five") lying on the other side of the stream from our balcony.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    53
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
53
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The lodge is really nice with beautiful scenery, active wildlife, excellent dinners and breakfasts, and comfortable accommodations. The staff is very friendly and willing to answer any questions you have.I stayed in a tree house and it was really fun, and, surprising mosquito free. The netting works really well! My tree house also had an attached bathroom including shower and was incredibly spacious. I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Tree houses have mosquito netting while tents are completely closed in. Some tree houses have bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went with a group of 24 from our school. Staff was super accommodating, friendly and helpful. Atmosphere was pretty surreal because all sorts of wildlife (monkeys, impalas, etc.) walk all around you. Tree houses were spacious and relatively clean (the staff did a good job cleaning but you obviously have some bugs that creep in). There was a bathroom and shower in the tree house as well. Food was delicious and had plenty of variety. Especially loved breakfast (muffins were awesome!). All of the safari guides were also very knowledgeable, friendly and drove us around for hours so we could see the Big 5 and more! Overall awesome experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharatpur, null, Nepal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

staff friendly, delicious 3 course meal, very organised and roooms were very spacious and clean.

the treehouse is not for those who like luxury, although saying that it was absolutely clean and i had no problems with bugs or other animals. you just have to use ur iniative and not leave any food in your room otherwise monkeys will break in

Room Tip: ask for room 4 its nice and definitly no bugs and monkeys if u are worried.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Traveled to Tremisana Lodge and Marc's Treehouse Camp in Nov. of 2012 and had the greatest time ever. The Staff at Tremisana lodge were great, especially guide "Steve" he was great. One of the nicest people I have meet. I made the trip alone but felt like I was with a friend the whole time. We saw lots of animals on our game drives and he was very knowledgeable about everything in the bush. Comming back to get dropped off at the airport Steve got pulled over for doing 1 K over. Total shakedown. What a bunch of BS. I felt so bad because he got a huge ticket and was facing reprocussions. Well just to let you know if the owners are reading this I had such a great time that I will be comming back soon with my family and if I find out Steve is not there because of this total corrupt nonsence I will not be comming back. Such a nice guy and was definatly not being dangerous in anyway shape or form. Like I said "ShakeDown".
Spent the next 3 nights at Marc's Treehouse Lodge and couldn't have imagined it would be so fun. You are totally in the wild bush with no fences so wildlife roams the grounds. The entire staff was so nice and helpful. Pretty (the one in charge) in particular was extra helpful and made sure you were happy and comfortable the whole time. Food was good. Couldn't have been happier! Just want to say thanks for an amazing adventure. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel and are affraid of a few bugs this is not the place for you. But if you want an authentic African Bush experience I highly recomend Marc's Treehouse Camp.

Joey Edwards
Stayed Nov. 2012

Room Tip: All Treehouses have great views. Some have showers in the treehouse and some don't. The ones tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A well organized tour, had a great 4 days! The staff is very friendly.The tents are spacious and with a nice double bed, light and electricity to charge your camera etc. A bathroom is just outside next to the tent. Breakfast and dinner were very good. Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

For an authentic African safari, you really can't go past Marc's Treehouse.

The accommodation on stilts and close to the water made you feel close to nature. You were greeted by Kudu and waterbok drinking by the waters edge every morning.

Pretty and her team really made us feel special, referring to us only as "the family". With 3 young children (8,9 &10) we were the largest group during our stay and we were treated wonderfully.

Be aware that if your accommodation is a long way from the office, get the use of the vehicle to transport your luggage. Ours was a little worse for wear after navigating the sandy and sometimes muddy path to our room.

But all in all, a great experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marc's Treehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marc's Treehouse Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.