We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice private spot in the bush” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamboti Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamboti Camp
Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice private spot in the bush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

on our trip through mpumalanga, we had a 2 night stay in this camp in
side kruger park. the camp very private and tucked away in the bush. the safari tent we had was right on the boundary fence to watch the animals go by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Third time to this camp and the first of 3 camps where we would stay this visit in Kruger. Tamboti is a satelite camp of Orpen, we took the luxury tent (as before) with view on the dry riverbed (in fact we've never seen any water in it during our 3 visits - in different seasons). The tents are great, they're lined up next to each other, so if your neighbours are nature lovers too, you'll hear only all the sounds of nature around you..

We saw already some game during our drive in (through the Kruger gate, which took us about 4,5 hours out of Joburg airport, by Nelspruit), but then again when relaxing on the terrace in the morning, you'll see also, with some luck, game passing by. Birdlife of course is great. During our braai in the evening a hyena came to visit us (there is a fence, so was outside).

The tent itself proves that Kruger can maintain nice accomodations, this camp is small(er) and gives better privacy than the bigger camps. We definitely will come back to this one..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our tent was transported from Hemingway’s Africa into modern day Kruger Park. I am not a person that enjoys nature, but the luxury tent made it manageable for me. There is a good sized kitchen, which is fully stocked with pots and utensils. On the side of tent there is a braai area. On our first night we were sitting around the braai cooking dinner and a genet came up to try and share some food. Each morning we enjoyed coffee and rusks for breakfast on the porch.
On the last morning of our stay the riverbed was very busy. I saw more animals out there than on the entire 3 hour morning game drive that I had taken. While we were packing to leave monkeys were using our tent as a jungle gym.
I will definitely stay in Tamboti again. Orpan Gate is an epi-center for animal activity. Almost all of the animals we saw in Kruger were within a 10 km radius of Orpan.
If you want to see animals and get back to nature, definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Definitely book one of the luxury tents with en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We camped at Tamboti with friends for four nights.
The facilities are superb.
The braai had to work overtime every night as we passed the evening away delighting about the animals we had seen during our drives.
The tent windows are fitted with screens which you are instructed to leave closed during the day to stop inquisitive animals casing the joint with a view to breaking and entering whilst you are gone.
At night, however, we left the main screens down so that only the transparent mesh was between us and the outside world. The noise of the animals and the wind blowing in the trees will stay with us forever - or until our next visit.

This is the best place we have ever had the pleasure of staying !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at Tamboi for two nights....wished we booked for a longer stay! We stayed in the en-suite luxury tent (overlooking the river dry river bed) with a nice deck and braai area. We woke the first night with some honey badgers on the deck!
It is private and really gives you the feeling of living in the bush. We find the tents to be comfortable, even during the second night's storm! We had some visitors like monkeys and squirrels.
We found the shop at Orphen gate to be good and stocked with all the basic requirements that tourist might have.
We wanted a late night drive, but could not take it, as they need at least 4 people to go on a drive. That was a bit dissapointing.
A lovely experience and we will for sure return to this special place!

Room Tip: I prefer the en suite tents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

There are two types of tent available. One is with shared ablution facilities and the other has its own en-suite. I have stayed in both and recommend them highly. My choice is the en-suite tent which has a great deck and braai area. Most of the tents overlook the Timbavati river bed.

Location: One of the best. It is situated near Orpen gate which is centrally located and not as busy as the southern section. From Orpen there are many private game farms and rehabilitation centres within easy reach. Moholoholo wildlife rehabilitation centre is a must do. Private game reserves nearby include the Northern Sabi Sands, Timbavati and Kapama. One or two nights in one of their luxury camps will round off a perfect vacation.

Wildlife: The area around Orpen is well known for excellent sightings and simply by driving between Satara and Tamboti you may well get to see Lion, Leopard, Wild Dog, Rhino (black and white), Cheetah, Elephant, Nyala, Sable, Buffalo and a host of other species.

Tamboti is run by SANPARKS and is therefore in serious need of management. Do not expect any kind of service or pristine tents. The communal ablutions are normally kept very clean and the tents are serviced daily. Maintenance is hardly ever done so one may expect certain items to not work properly, broken steps and/or broken decking. Whilst some tents may have been renovated after the recent flooding you may still find certain tents in a state of semi decay, broken window blinds and mould/fungus growing on the canvas. Do not let this put you off. These are easily overlooked due to the location and in general the bedding is comfortable and clean (even if not the best quality).

If you take this tented camp for what it is and do not expect anything super luxurious then it is easy to have a great time.

You will need to shop for groceries outside the park as Kruger shops are notoriously expensive and the quality of meats, veggies etc is not that good. Tamboti is self catering and as such has a decent sized fridge in each tent for your groceries as well as cooking facilities. My suggestion is to buy wood and cook over an open fire in the evenings.

I love Tamboti tented camp and always look forward to going back there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our second stay in this Sanparks Kruger camp only confirmed our first impression - this is one of the absolute gems of KNP!
With a choice of budget permanent tents (without kitchen or ensuite but with a braai) or luxury tents (including kitchenette, ensuite and braai stand) there is something for everyone. The charm here is the 'wildness' of the camp, the peace, quiet and the views from the tents over the river bed. Wildlife in and around the camp is superb.
Happily, Orpen camp is only a few minutes away, so you can restock provisions, get a cappucino from the coffee cart there and anything else you require.
For those using budget tents never fear the ablutions and camp kitchens are very clean and tidy although if you want the bathroom in the middle of the night it is prudent to get your friend/spouse/partner to accompany you - leopards do on occasion get into the camp!
Highly recommended for at least 3 nights but the longer the better!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamboti Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Camp

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 137 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamboti Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tamboti Camp to your Saves list