We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic but comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mopani Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mopani Rest Camp
Save
You added Mopani Rest Camp to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
mooi River
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rustic but comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mopani is the Kruger camp that we least enjoyed. We stayed in a 4 sleeper rondavel which was equipped with a outdoor kitchenette. Not a good idea, with the heat and insects that abound. Although the rondavel was clean, it had a very unpleasant smell. The camp itself has all the amenities needed for a pleasant stay. A well stocked shop, pleasant restaurant, pool(which was very green) and great views overlooking Pioneer dam. The camp is also close to the Moolplaas waterhole. We enjoyed our stay but perhaps next time in the Kruger we will give Mopani a miss!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoedspruit
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

While I know the Kruger restcamps well, I felt that the maintenance at Mopanie leaves much to be desired. We were there for a conference group and Christa made all the difference keeping us happy, a BIG thumbs up for this lady... The conference facility is world class with all the Audio & Video equipment you may need in very good working order.

However, the accomodation is in dire need of maintenance (Bungalow 22). It was raining heavily throughout our stay and the thatch roofs are tired. It was leaking like a sieve. My door lock didn't work properly and I struggled to open the door. Some door handles was missing and the general state of the room not that good, another person in out party's toilet seat was missing.. Aircon extremely noisy.

Although there was maintenance problems the linen was clean and the beds comfortable. The food was good although the service not entirely up to scratch.

Overall not a bad experience and I still managed to enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: Have a look at general maintenace and the state of the accomodation before settling in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have enjoyed this park a lot, as the accomodation is good, friendly staff and a nice sitting area outside. The rooms of the lodges were clean and comfortable. All what was needed was available. the area outside to enjoy the view on the wilderness outide the lodge area was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just returned from a couple of weeks in South Africa. We've visited Kruger before and as well as staying in a couple of safari lodges we wanted to try the rest camps.

We spent one night in Mopani Rest Camp with our grown-up son and took a guest cottage. This turned out to be a 3-bedroom cottage, sleeping up to 6 and had a fully equipped kitchen.

It was clean, spacious, with comfortable beds etc - but needed a bit of TLC to put right normal wear-and-tear. We felt it was good value for money and suited our needs (touring camp-to-camp) quite well.

There were lakes next to the camp but we ddin't see any wildlife - maybe we ddin't find the right spot or the views were obscured by bushes etc.

The camp restaurant was acceptable - the food was OK and priced reasonably - rather like a motorway service station. The shop provided enough to do self-catering.

We took a night ride with a ranger - quite interesting, but didn't see an awful lot as it traversed mainly the public roads. Perhaps the highlight was the huge herd of buffalo that looked back with glowing eyes reflecting the light from our lamps.

If I was returning to Kruger I'd certainly have no hesitation in using this rest camp again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We we allocated a very good unit with a view of the dam, sighting were great but there were some niggles. The temp was 40 degrees Celsius on the friday and our air con was not working. The swimming pool has black algae and needs attention. That been said the staff were great, very helpful and we had seen a lion with a snare round its neck and the staff were most attentive to sort the situation out and kept us informed that the ranger had arranged a parks board vet and had darted the lion and removed the snare and applied antibiotics etc. The camp is a stunning camp with excellent accommodation for a rest camp. We had excellent sightings around the camp and the camp shop well stocked and well priced. We did not eat at the restaurant as it was under going alterations. this camp is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are only 4 units with dam views but they are stunning, units can cater from single rooms to 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in 2 different camps while in Kruger Park the previous month. This turned to be the best of the two. Situated in an area with much wildlife Mopani offers nice comfortable bungalows. Northern part of Kruger is supposed to offer less opportunities for wildlife. We have a different opinion after our trip since we saw much wildlife in the area. The only real experience with lions viewing took place between Mopani and Punta Maria. Also we saw a big herd of elephants and this is also the place to see some baobab trees! We drove all the way from the south to the north of Kruger Park and this area is not of a less beauty at all! The rest camp location is beautiful as it is right on the Pioneer dam. We could even hear lions and hippos while having our dinner at the restaurant of the camp. We enjoyed also the sunset by staring the dam. Generally, as it is of the newer camps in Kruger we found accommodation nicer and well maintained. It also has a little shop with souvenirs, food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the rest camp for two days with our three grown up kids. We got a very big and spacios chalet, fully equipped. The camp itself is very nice and clean. The camp is situated at the northern part of Kruger. According to our experience, animals were found in the center and in the southern part of Kruger (at least during the winter time when we stayed), so we had to travel south every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mopani Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopani Rest Camp

Address: Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Mopani Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Also Known As:
Mopani Rest Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mopani Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.