We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay for Safari in Kruger” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhino Post Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rhino Post Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Rhino Post Safari Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Kruger National Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location to stay for Safari in Kruger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As part of our honeymoon we decided to stay few days in the Kruger National Park in order to do safaris.
We've been advised to book the Rhino Post Safari Lodge and we weren't disappointed..
Well trained, kind and dedicated Staff will welcome you and guide you throughout your entire stay.
Great food & drinks are served with a large variety of tastes that would suits everybody.
The Lodge is well built and fit perfectly into its surrounding by using natural local materials for the build - Giving you the impression of being part of the nature and so close to the Wild life.
Finally the safaris are conducted by well trained and passionate rangers who will take the time to answer any questions you might have and make you discover the wild like no others.
Overall we had a wonderful experience in this Lodge and will advise anybody to book it!!
Only bad note, be careful of what is and what is not included as you might get surprised when paying the bill (just ask the staff and they'll tell you - we did not do it and got a bit surprised...)

Room Tip: can't really give tips as the lodge is very small and all the rooms have great views and privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
62
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

four wonderful nights on safari at Rhino Post Lodge. Two at Plains camp, and two at Rhino Post. Fantastic staff, wonderful food and great accommodation in the bush. Would highly recommend and would definitely return one day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good food, really nice guides and staff. In the last day, they changed the game drive time just to adjust it to my flight time. Really nice. Oh, and you are always eating, that`s great. We wake up early, eat, go to game drive, stop for a moment, eat again, go back to the hotel around 10-11 AM, eat, take a rest, eat before the afternoon game drive, go to safari, stop some hours later, eat, go back to the hotel and have dinner. Fantastic, isn`t it? And I`ve already said, but I repeat: really good food!

Despite that, we had some problems in our accomodation. The energy always ended around 11 PM and the bedroom became all dark, with no fan (it wasn`t so hot, mas, in some days, that would be hell), the shower is outside the room (people outside could see us if they really tried. "Look, a monkey! Look, a lion! Look, a naked girl taking a shower!"), the water of the shower wasn`t hot and they don't have Internet (although they let us use the computer in the reception). Well... Nothing that really compromised the trip, after all you`re in the middle of the bush, so these problems are expected. To eat was more important! =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

A first trip to Africa was highlighted by the lodge and staff at Rhino Post. Every detail is considered in making certain guests are happy and safe. From being met at the Krueger landing strip, the clean, spacious and comfortable room and most importantly the dedication of the guides to ensure we saw as much wildlife as possible, this was a most memorable stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senlis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything is excellent there: accomodation, food, organization,etc. Staff very friendly and efficient, we feel relax there... Why not a 3rd time?
We recommend the outdoor shower, the dinner in the bush, the drives (to be honnest, must be lucky to find leopards, and very lucky to see cheetahs...)
Highly recommended, though the prices are quite expensive

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our safari and we loved it. The guide/ranger was brilliant, very knowledgable and really cared for the animals and conservation. It was a real eye opener to stay here.
After the first few drives/walks without seeing any big game animals I was a little put out as we had paid so much to stay here (and had also been to Masai Mara where we got sick of seeing Lions) but I did change my attitude and appreciated what they are doing in this lodge. Other safari parks actually import animals to keep tourists happy whereas in Rhino post safari they only have 4 tents in a massive area so the animals are not constantly being chased by people.
I found the tent area so peaceful and it really is in the 'wild'.
Food was nice but one night we got a dish that was very typical to South Africa and I couldn't eat it. (My husband had both of ours) but other then that the food had been good and plentiful.
In the end we did see all of the big game, bar the black rhino (which we did get so close to until it smelt us and ran away)

It was a very interesting and enjoyable trip. I would love to go back again if we could afford it :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed at Rhino Post for three nights at the end of Jun/early Jul. Wholeheartedly second all the positive comments earlier. The Kruger experience and scenery here is breathtaking. Rhino Post is located ~10m from its own watering hole; in dry winter months, this is a magnet for wildlife. Over breakfast one morning, we were treated to a herd of +40 elephants (big and small) transiting the area and stopping within spitting distance! Ben, our safari guide, has vision that will make an ophthalmologist despair (try picking out a Rhino at +1km distance unaided!)

Instead of repeating all the positives people have said, just a few additional pointers:
- Winter here can be quite chilly (coming from a Torontonian!). The morning drive (one of two daily) leaves ~6am, so your ride in the open 4x4 can be a bit nippy. Thankfully the trucks come with blankets (cut up like ponchos) and raincoats to block the wind, but do layer up
- There is a pool that overlooks the bar but we gave it a pass, seeing it was so cold you need to break through the ice to get in! Would be great respite from the summer heat in warmer weather. Mosquitos may be more of an issue in warmer months (few creepy crawlies prowling in ~10deg C weather)
- We rented a car and drove up from Joburg (a pleasant 6hr trip through some stunning scenery near Nelspruit). getting to the lodge is easy if you follow their directions to the T (or rent a GPS unit). The last 3-5km roads are dirt tracks, so consider getting a SUV for additional clearance. also be generous with the time you allocate for the intra-kruger national park legs; occasionally a herd of animals cross the roads and cars full of gawkers would block the access roads. budget at least 2.5hr from Rhino Post to Kruger Intl Airport in Nelspruit
- Cellphone reception is spotty at best through Kruger and the lodge. There is wifi around the bar but it's quite slow. Not a problem for those seeking solace from the rest of the world but Facebook addicts, be warned
- This is a very rustic, safe, cozy and comfortable lodge. However it's not laden with spas, outdoor jacuzzis, champagne and whipped cream + iPod stations and other excesses. If thats what you're after, look elsewhere and prepare to pay accordingly. Otherwise, I can hardly imagine a better staging point for your little piece of Kruger magic. Great value for money, and very family friendly too

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rhino Post Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Post Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhino Post Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Tingo so you can book your Rhino Post Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhino Post Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhino Post Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.