We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view from the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Save
You added Letaba Rest Camp to your Saves list
51 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Letaba River, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing view from the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not as modern as the Skukuza rest camp,but you really dont mind when you have such an amazing view from the restaurant veranda. You can sit there for hours watching the animals come and go and the food is quite reasonable. Make sure you leave time just to sit and take it all in

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    95
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
57
92
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our second overnight stay in Letaba in nine years, and it remains one of our favourite camps, overlooking the river. Plus, it is in the part of the Park where one usually sees a lot of game - including big cats. The chalets are well equipped and the fittings etc. gave the impression of being in a better state of repair than those of Satara where we had stayed the night before. The semi-tame bushbuck that wander freely around the camp are lovely to watch. Less pleasant are the numerous vervet monkeys that are everywhere. They can be quite agressive and get into everything. There are signs warning you not to leave food (or anything else that might attract their attention) unattended. One of them tried to make off with a box of matches, but dropped it when I yelled at it. The monkeys forage in the wastebins in the chalets' open-air kitchens (so best to use the monkey-proof bins close to the chalets) and have even learned to open the refrigerators on the chalets' verandahs. So one is advised to turn the fridge around so that the doors face the walls and thus cannot be opened by the primates. Hope they find a solution to the monkey problem...
Regardless, Letaba is a very pleasant camp.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Letaba has a great atmosphere and all the amenities you need, from a pool to a shop to a piece of ground to pitch a tent on. There are great views of the river from the restaurant and you can walk along the fence next to the river to look for game. There are also a few local bush buck who live in the camp and make it quite special.

There are a lot of elephants in the area!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room close to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in a guest house, right at the end of the camp. The accommodation was great. The balcony overlooked the river and it was very relaxing watching the sun set with Squirrels racing up and down the trees right beside you. Rooms were clean and although it was 3 single beds in each room, they were very comfortable.

Would certainly book longer at this camp next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked late this year so we were happy to take whatever rooms we were given. There were three of us and we had a building on the perimeter. The accommodation was small with three beds and the kitchen area was enclosed within the rondeval shape, which meant we had to sit outside the building of an evening. We only had two chairs and I asked at reception for a third one but it never arrived until I reminded them again the next morning. An early morning walk around the camp will allow you to take in the sunrise over the river and and see the resident bushbuck foraging along with many different sunbirds. We ate at many of the restaurants throughout the park over a week long period. They all have the same menu but the meals served differ slightly. All are fine if unspectacular. You are in elephant country here and the game drives are good allowing you to cover the north and central areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The tent had 2 single beds, a fan and fridge. There are several building with the shared ablutions and although the camp is huge, there is always one close by. I stayed 2 nights during an overland tour and the waste in one toilet was not cleaned during the whole stay. Furthermore I had stains on the linen. In conclusion it could be more clean, but was ok enough for a short stay. It was already very hot during and I fear hot summer days are a pain in the tents.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We will always manage a few days at Letaba when visiting Kruger. The game viewing in the area may not be quite as good as Satara or further south but the camp has so much else going for it.
It is quieter than the other large camps and has a great ambience and still has all the facilities you might want. The restaurant is consistently good and there is nothing like lunch on the terrace overlooking the game down at the river. The camp has lovely shady trees and garden areas and a walk around the camp itself is a pleasure. The shop is reasonably well stocked and the staff pleasant. Have always found the ablutions very clean in the camp.
This visit we utilised the 2 bed safari tents and found them a lot of fun and a good budget option.
Take a walk with a good torch at night around the camp and you will be pleasantly surprised by the amount of wildlife you see in the camp and outside the fence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#7 of 13 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
78.7 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#83 of 146 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amukela Game Lodge
Amukela Game Lodge
#10 of 13 in Balule Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#116 of 146 in Kruger National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Address: 51 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Letaba River, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letaba Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.