We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letaba - great base for central kruger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Letaba River, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Naracoorte
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Letaba - great base for central kruger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed at Letaba 4 nights in a very comfortable and clean bungalow. The restaurant is situated in a lovely position overlooking the river. The surrounds are peaceful, you don't feel crowded in this camp. There are many terrific game drives to do from the camp to easily occupy several days. Also the Elephant Hall is very interesting and informative - well worth a visit. I loved this camp and have booked another four days there this year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    65
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
37
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Letaba was our second rest camp stay in Kruger. Similar to our first night, we found the accommodation very basic (which is fine) but also filthy. We had several lizards, spiders, and other insects which we shared out bungalow with. The toilet was broken (wouldn’t) flush, but we were able to fix it. Thankfully, the air conditioner did work well, so we were able to get some rest.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed our first night in Kruger here. Be sure and allow enough time to drive from Phalaborwa Gate - it was much further than we thought. Rondavel was clean but starting to show signs of excess wear and in need of some TLC. Sheets and towels shabby Had unit on the perimeter and that was nice. Also restaurant and staff were better here than at Lower Sabie or Berg en dal;/ Had great wildlife sightings, even in early January

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My experience here was the best of the Kruger Rest Camps. Though accommodation is no frills, it is clean and well maintained. Bedding and towels looked and felt fairly new, as did the beds. Bathroom was fine, but looking a little old, however there is a renovation project in place and it will not be long before they have all been done. The kitchen area falls into the same category. Overall everything was OK. The unit we had was supplied with kitchen utensils, however if you are fully self catering then these are a bit too basic and I would advise bringing your own utensils.
The camp facilities were also good. The restaurant was particularly good; the service was efficient and friendly. The food quality was excellent, though the meals format is more cafeteria than restaurant. This was far better than restaurants in other rest camps (see my reviews of those).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tafalla
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in a Safari Tent within the Letaba Restcamp for two nights and would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheap base to see Kruger. Firstly, it is important to remember that if you are going to Kruger, you are there to see the wildlife and we had quite a few very good sightings extremely close to the camp. Within the camp itself you get what you pay for. Our Safari tent was basic but apart from the fridge which was a little grubby, everything was clean and well maintained. The communal showers and toilets were on the old side but clean and there was never a queue to use them.

The only down sides were that the Safari Tents cannot be locked from the outside so make sure you take a padlock if you stay there and also the camp is extremely quiet and maybe lacks a little of the atmosphere that some of the otehr camps have.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at Letaba Restcamp for 4 nights earlier on this month, within the permanent tents. Letaba is a set in a very beautiful location with stunning views of the river, many birds and bush buck close to the tent, and a very good shop and clean shower facilities.
Our accommodation was in one of the permanent tents, and our party had 3 in total. These were unclean with poor facilities and mice inside! The tents were in desperate need of updating and some care and attention, we would not recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ALFRED
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We had a wonderful experience at Letaba, the camp itself is full of beautiful trees with lots of bird life, many squirrels run about and the kids loved the tame duikers that walked around freely! the food at the restaurant was no 1 and the service great!! we were lucky enough to see the big 5 and although this camp is quite a way up north, it is definatley worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Address: 51 km from Phalaborwa Gate | Letaba River, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Letaba Rest Camp 2*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Letaba Rest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Letaba Rest Camp to your Saves list