We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT RECOMMENDED- NOT 3 STAR!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nkambeni Tented Lodge

Save Saved
You added Nkambeni Tented Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nkambeni Tented Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Numbi Gate, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa (Formerly Faircity )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ermelo, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOT RECOMMENDED- NOT 3 STAR!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked accomodation at Nkambeni Tented Safari camp for the evening of 4 and 5 May 2013. On our arrival we realised that this camp is definately NOT SITUATED INSIDE THE KNP as advertised, they are false advertising and the poor foreign tourist staying there as guests does not know that they are being deceived.

The parking area is situated roughly 800m from the accomodation, and you are required to carry all your luggage to your tent, this is not acceptable.

On our arrival at the tent we were really shocked at the standard of this tent, the bedding (duvet & pillows )and towls are worn and old.

The wood on the flooring and walls are worn/ damaged and is in desperate need of some tlc and varnish.

The aircon in our tent is not working on either the hot and cold setting. Yhis poses a real concern as the days are very hot and during the winter months it gets extremily cold at night.

On Satuday night it started to rain slightly and the tent was leaking on our bed, not a good experience.

Moving on to Dinner and Breakfast, they are charging guests R130.00 per person for their evening dinner, which consists of cold and surely old food that they re-use each night. This is truely exploitation for both South African residence and foreign visitors.

I can truely carry on with the complaints, but I appeal to everyone reading this and considering staying here to re -consider, as the accomodation inside the Kruger (SAN parks) is of a much higher standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Attorney911,

thank you for the review and comments on our safari camp. With regards to your opinion on the location of the camp, it is within the Kruger National Park boundary and definitely not misrepresenting this fact or trying to catch the poor foreign guest as stated by yourself, this I respect as your opinion, but not factually correct (your opinion).

Again, the facts should be correctly stated - there are three parking areas on the property, none of the rooms are 800 meters from the closes parking area, I personally measured and the furthest parking to room ratio is 270 meters. We have porters available on request to assist with all our guest luggage.

With regards to the guest amenities, this again is a matter of your opinion and again, I value this as our guest experience is the important factor. I however can not agree with the comments and this is clear when reading the other reviews by our guests.

With regards to the flooring, definitely agreed on this and our maintenance team is currently preparing for this.

The aircons is a problem and I concede we need to address this and find more suitable alternatives to this.

I agree with you that a leaking tent is not acceptable and I apologise for this, I however found no record of this at reception - did you report this to our receptionists in order for us to address this?

Your comments with regards to the food and then stating we are re-using the ingredients is outrageous. This is not true at all and I can assure you definitely non factual. Throughout the comments made on the reviews on the safari camp we are recommended for the quality and volume of food - our dinner buffet has more than 30 items on offer - try eating at Spur for R 130.00, you might get a steak and chips.

There is no exploitation going on as you state and again, I am surprised you make comments such as this without any facts.

Again, I value your opinion and suggestion, but this again is your opinion and suggestion and I base my management decisions and operations on the volume of guests we accommodate that are satisfied with our product and leave with smiles.

It is a pity you did not enjoy your stay with us, I can assure you this is not the experience I would like our guests to have, but clearly from your review it was not what you expected.

Thank you for the review.

Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    40
    34
    16
    12
See reviews for
23
59
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The main lodge was a comfortable place to meet and relax with friends. The evening meal and the breakfast were both good and provided a very nice selection. The staff and manager were also very helpful and friendly. In fact, they went out of their way to make sure our needs were met.
On a less positive note, the tents are most definitely not luxury and some are located quite a distance from the lodge. The condition of the rooms really depends on your expectations. The beds were clean and the floors were swept but the room is open in a variety of places to the outside (through the floor boards, the poor fitting door to the outdoor shower) and bugs travel inside freely. Also, the walls of the tents are stained giving the appearance of a less than clean facility.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mic R,

Thank you for your honest review and the comments made with regards to how you experienced our safari camp. I shared your comments on the food with the chef and his team and they are vary happy with this feedback. We are trying our level best to change the description of the tents, this should not be described as luxury but as comfortable safari style tents. We are busy planning a deep clean of all the rooms - addressing the rain water stains as well as filling the open gaps in the floors. This is going to take a while to complete as we do not want to disturb our in-house guests.

Thank you once again for reviewing our property.

Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Hhat an amazing place. If you want to experience the true Africa spirit but still want the luxury and comfort, this is the place to visit. just outside the gate to the Kruger Numbi Gate it is great to go and come as you wish. The bush feel and the tented camp give you a true meaning of the bush life in South Africa. The tents are luxury with all the modern amenities. I was super impressed that they are wheel chair friendly. The food was out of this world giving the guests a true reflection of what South Africa eat and enjoy everyday. Breakfast was served at 5H30 to 9H00. So if you wanted to go on a early game drive you could do so. The staff are super friendly yet slow as in true Africa. When arriving at Nkambeni Lodge get into your holiday mode kick your shoes off and begin to relax. After 3 days of sun and wild animals we wish we could have extended our stay for a few more nights. If you are traveling from overseas and what to experience the true bush feeling with the modern finishes this camp will surely impress you.

Room Tip: tented units from 1 to 60 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Kenneth H,

thank you very much for your great review of our property, this was the highlight of our daily meeting this morning. Chef Thabo and his team liked your comments on their food and assured me they will keep this going. You are more than correct, we want our guests to experience a true holiday feeling, they must want to stay and just relax, eat, drink and be merry!

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards, Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Nkambeni over Easter and it is really great value for money. The staff certainly go out of their way to make it a pleasant experience and a comfortable stay. This is a good base if you are wanting to explore the Kruger or the surrounding attractions such as Graskop etc. or even if you just want to relax and enjoy nature.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 112 and 113 - had a good view out towards the park and still close enough to rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Liesl C,

thank you very much for the kind and honest review on our property. I shared your review with my team this morning and they were very happy you had a good experience and had a good rest.

We would love to host you in the near future.

Have a great day, Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late afternoon to a warm reception. Pleasantly surprised by the entertainment provided at the boma along with great food. After a good night's rest in our tent we enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the hippos in front of the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Woefkardoes,

good morning and thank you very much for the great review. Our reception team managed by Gayle is going to great lengths to ensure our guests are welcomed and feel at home at our property. We are very happy that you had a great experience and enjoyed our food and entertainment.

Thank you once again for the review and we are looking forward hosting you again.

Regards, Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights as a weekend getaway, the camp is situated just inside the Kruger fence line at the Numbi gate entrance but a word of warning you still have to pay the conservation fees to enter the Park as a day visitor. I would suggest they negotiate with the park to be able to of for this service to be offered from the reception in order to avoid the lines at the nearest gate (Numbi)

The tents and fairly comfortable and were clean, the staff were well presented on arrival and on hand to help us with our luggage. Second point to note is room location, the best tents are away from the restaurant, as this gets quite festive in the evenings, but close enough to the car park so that the walk to the tent is reasonable. There is only a central car park but this is quite nice as the tents are very quiet and peaceful. Good place to come for some R&R.

The food, both breakfasts and dinners is really good. Both offered in a Buffet style service with lots of variety to choose from.

All and all a good bush experience and would recommend this place to those who are willing to give up 5 star service for a reasonable and comfortable place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jelley86,

good morning and thank you very much for the great review on our camp. It is great for our team morale. We are currently working on ideas on how to make it easier for our guests entering the Kruger through Numbi Gate and ensure they don't wait in line.

We pride ourselves in making this an affordable experience yet do not overlook the small details that make a stay with us pleasant and worthwhile.

I will share your comments and feedback with my team this morning and I can assure you this will make their day.

Thank you and kind regards,

Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerba buena
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

they offer what they show in their webpage, the camp is ok, nice restaurant and bar, big pool, very nice people attending, but, always is a but, the camp is inside the park, but outside the ticket gate, so every time you go inside the park, you have to pay,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Tented Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SipoYerbabuena,

good morning and thank you very much for the kind review. Our camp is indeed a easy alternative to traditional Kruger accommodation and we are currently working on making the entrance through Numbi Gate a bit easier for our guests.

Have a great day,

Wynand du Toit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nkambeni Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkambeni Tented Lodge

Address: Numbi Gate, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa (Formerly Faircity )
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 138 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nkambeni Tented Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Kruger National Park experience with friendly staff, clean serviced en-suite canvas chalets with bush views, a restaurant and bar with real South African food and drink overlooking a waterhole with resident hippos and a range of optional safari activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Nkambeni Tented Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Nkambeni Tented Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nkambeni Tented Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.