We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible Game Drives !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shishangeni Private Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shishangeni Private Lodge to your Saves list
Shishangeni Private Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“incredible Game Drives !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was our Honeymoon.

First time in SA, first Safari, knowing nothing about it or expecting anything...

Talking first about the little things that could be improved,
- one lady from the desk was very cold and even rude globally and esp. when we needed a hand with a phone call. It's only one person and the rest of the staff was Wonderful. Making her smile could make the service experience perfect.
- the internet was down when we stayed, hope it's fixed now. (nota : you, usually, don't need @ in such places...)

Otherwise, the Chalet was great! We enjoyed the terrace, the outside shower is amazing, the beds very comfortable. We loved finding our chalet made up each time we got off the night game drive.

The restaurant is great! Congrats to the chef with menus between local food and European tastes. We loved esp. the breakfasts and the Braais !

THE MOST AMAZING THING is the Game! We experienced two perfect Rangers (Sofiso and Keneth, in a different style) funny, clever, amazingly good to find the animals, they both gave us the feeling of being invited by the Bush and its inhabitants... They don't hesitate to go off the road to see them very very close. The explanations and the jokes of the rangers are fabulous. We loved the morning calls; the bush breaks during the game; the all atmosphere of it. We've seen all of the big 5 and almost the entire extended list.

You want the perfect Game Drive experience and a very good place to stay (on the way to be excellent I’m very sure), Here is THE place, affordable.

M&I from Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are privileged that you spent your honeymoon with us.. Thank you for your constructive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and especiall the wildlife at Shishangeni.

Keychain Hospitality has recently taken over the management of Shishangeni and we will take your comments into serious consideration. We are happy to inform you that the internet wireless has been updated, and I'm sure when you next visit, all the staff will have smiles on their faces :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
29
62
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our 2 week tour through South Africa and I could not imagine a better way to end our vacation. The staff was the friendliest we encountered in a country full of friendly people. It's a very short, very easy drive from the Crocodile Bridge gate and a longer, but more interesting drive from the Skukuza camp near the Paul Kruger Gate. Upon arrival, we were met with refreshing welcome drinks, served lunch, and then shown to our (amazing!) room. After a shower and nap in the biggest most comfortable bed I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in, we met back at the main lodge for tea and the afternoon safari. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very entertaining. We learned a lot and had a great time! We made a stop out in the bush to watch the sun set with a few (complimentary) drinks. After some night time game viewing we headed back to the lodge for an exceptional dinner. The next morning's game drive didn't disappoint either, and we got to hang out in the bush and enjoy some coffee and cookies. From beginning to end we had a great time at Shishangeni and even considered moving our flights so that we could stay a bit longer. In the event that we ever return to Africa, we will absolutely be returning to Shishangeni!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad to hear that this was the highlight of your trip. Thank you posting the lovely photographs. We hope you can return to Africa, and especially Shishangeni soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattukkoottai,tamilnadu state
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

we were lodged in a private lodge with a quaint name ,Shishangeni , within the game reserve , near the crocodile bridge.The overall decor is reminiscent of the British colonial style hunting lodges. There are about 22 cottages with their own passages leading to them. Almost all are similar, of the suite type with a large bedroom with a huge 4 poster bed swathed in mosquito curtains with a small ante-dressing room , and an adjoining bath and washroom and a shower outside the bathroom in the open!The bedroom opens out into a wooden porch type balcony with large old trees providing shade -and sometimes sheltering baboons too. After providing us hot cofee/tea, the game drives started very early in the morning with daybreak, and in the afternoons extending into the evenings till dusk.The rangers drawn from the indigenous population of the game reserve, ,also functioning as our jeep drivers and guides, were very courteous, knowledeable with a very keen eye for spotting the animals,birds etc. All the meals were provided in the lodge, the staff being very courteous and helpful. There is also library, a small museum,conference room an an enclosed open space for night buffets under the clear african sky with a campfire! There is also a small swimming pool with cool waters.
Had an enjoyable experience staying in this lodge.

Room Tip: though all the rooms are similar. rooms numbering 10 and above are way far back . Choose rooms near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and accurate description of Shishangeni, and for posting the photographs. We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The safe in our room was opened by someone from the hotel staff using the hotel's master key, and in excess of $1000 was stolen from the safe. Obviously we complained to the hotel management, but nothing was done in response to our complaint and we have heard nothing at all from the property owners in regards to the theft. We expected the room safe to be secure from theft, but evidently the hotel does not keep watch over the key that opens the room safes. Our trip was significantly impaired by the theft, and we'll never return to this location again. If you do stay here, don't think that items put into the room safe will be there when you return to your room.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else. Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your unfortunate incident at Shishangeni. An investigation has been opened and we will let you know the outcome of the findings.

Please note that Keychain Hospitality has recently taken over the management of Shishangeni and have recently employed a new General Manager. We take incidents like this very seriously and assure you this incident will be resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very comfortable room, not meant for 3 but it worked out fine. Taking a hot shower outside under a fantastic stary African sky is fantastic!
And getting up at 5 isn't easy but the drives are great. Did indeed see the Big 5 in a two day stay. Food is very good, but one should get to the meals early to guaranty finding the full variety. The only set back is the lack of information. There could be a better greating explaning how things work and the times for meals, and that there is paid wireless...
Staff is very welcoming and ready to help. We loced our stay. Monkeys and all!

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out, if walking 5 to 10 min to your room is a problem (handicap), get a room be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Shishangeni, and that you managed to spot the Big 5.

Thank you for your constructive comments. Keychain Hospitality has recently taken over the management of Shishangeni and will be sure to take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I did not travel to the Shishangeni Lodge, but my mom did for her 75th birthday and the time she had was AMAZING! Thanks for making it special and coordinating easily my request for a choclate birthday cake (which she;s still raving about with "hard" candy cover and the delicious sparkling wine which she said was local and adored. Staff did great job making her trip special. Thanks and I hope to visit - she said it was exquisite!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad your Mom had such a great 75th Birthday.
We hope you can visit soon as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I am a frequent traveler to South Africa but this was my husband's first time and I was anxious for him to love it as much as I. We had a great ranger - Kenneth who spent a lot of time teaching and sharing his considerable knowledge and frankly, his skills made this trip amazing. We had a truly awesome leopard sighting in addition to a lion pride with 2 adolescent males and one of the largest herd of Cape Buffalo I seen. That said, the game made the trip - the lodges can be quite a walk from the main lodge along a raised walkway so if any of your party have mobility issues, this probably isn't the place for you. The rooms were nicely appointed with a great deck that overlooked a water hole and large outdoor shower. The deck chairs weren't very comfortable so not great for lounging around. The food was OK, not terribly varied and not very creative but plentiful. The service was great! Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoy their guests.

Another reviewer mentioned the lack of a tracker and the lack of a rifle - one of the managers mentioned that they have applied for the appropriate permits for rifles without which they cannot offer walkabouts and expected to have them fairly soon. It was a great trip and as a result, my husband has changed from no interest in my trips to "when are we going back?"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shishangeni Private Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shishangeni Private Lodge

Address: Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shishangeni Private Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in Africa where legends are bornShishangeni comprises of three camps to choose from Shishangeni Private Lodge, Camp Shonga and Camp Shawu. Each of the three adding a different experience to the visitor. The Lodge offers big five game viewing, superior service, excellent cuisine, and the best accommodation in Southern Africa. The emphasis of all three of our camps is on nature without losing the luxury and superior service our guests are accustomed to. We are striving to create the optimum balance between people and their environments, while having an absolute minimal impact on the neighbouring habitat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Shishangeni Private Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shishangeni Private Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.