We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victim of Burglary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shishangeni Private Lodge

Save Saved
You added Shishangeni Private Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shishangeni Private Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Victim of Burglary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The safe in our room was opened by someone from the hotel staff using the hotel's master key, and in excess of $1000 was stolen from the safe. Obviously we complained to the hotel management, but nothing was done in response to our complaint and we have heard nothing at all from the property owners in regards to the theft. We expected the room safe to be secure from theft, but evidently the hotel does not keep watch over the key that opens the room safes. Our trip was significantly impaired by the theft, and we'll never return to this location again. If you do stay here, don't think that items put into the room safe will be there when you return to your room.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else. Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your unfortunate incident at Shishangeni. An investigation has been opened and we will let you know the outcome of the findings.

Please note that Keychain Hospitality has recently taken over the management of Shishangeni and have recently employed a new General Manager. We take incidents like this very seriously and assure you this incident will be resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very comfortable room, not meant for 3 but it worked out fine. Taking a hot shower outside under a fantastic stary African sky is fantastic!
And getting up at 5 isn't easy but the drives are great. Did indeed see the Big 5 in a two day stay. Food is very good, but one should get to the meals early to guaranty finding the full variety. The only set back is the lack of information. There could be a better greating explaning how things work and the times for meals, and that there is paid wireless...
Staff is very welcoming and ready to help. We loced our stay. Monkeys and all!

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out, if walking 5 to 10 min to your room is a problem (handicap), get a room be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Shishangeni, and that you managed to spot the Big 5.

Thank you for your constructive comments. Keychain Hospitality has recently taken over the management of Shishangeni and will be sure to take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I did not travel to the Shishangeni Lodge, but my mom did for her 75th birthday and the time she had was AMAZING! Thanks for making it special and coordinating easily my request for a choclate birthday cake (which she;s still raving about with "hard" candy cover and the delicious sparkling wine which she said was local and adored. Staff did great job making her trip special. Thanks and I hope to visit - she said it was exquisite!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad your Mom had such a great 75th Birthday.
We hope you can visit soon as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I am a frequent traveler to South Africa but this was my husband's first time and I was anxious for him to love it as much as I. We had a great ranger - Kenneth who spent a lot of time teaching and sharing his considerable knowledge and frankly, his skills made this trip amazing. We had a truly awesome leopard sighting in addition to a lion pride with 2 adolescent males and one of the largest herd of Cape Buffalo I seen. That said, the game made the trip - the lodges can be quite a walk from the main lodge along a raised walkway so if any of your party have mobility issues, this probably isn't the place for you. The rooms were nicely appointed with a great deck that overlooked a water hole and large outdoor shower. The deck chairs weren't very comfortable so not great for lounging around. The food was OK, not terribly varied and not very creative but plentiful. The service was great! Everyone went out of their way to be helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoy their guests.

Another reviewer mentioned the lack of a tracker and the lack of a rifle - one of the managers mentioned that they have applied for the appropriate permits for rifles without which they cannot offer walkabouts and expected to have them fairly soon. It was a great trip and as a result, my husband has changed from no interest in my trips to "when are we going back?"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Gorgeous lodge in the private reserve of Shishangheni. All the comforts are ready to be used in this fantastic place, built in the wild. The rooms are built in a traditional way, very large, with private terrace. Only a note about the food, not so various, to be improved!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved seeing lion,rhino,leopard,- all the game, our gameranger was extremely knowledgeable! however the decor and management leave one hoping that someone steps in a rescues what could be an totally amazing lodge.

On arrival, we carried our own bags to number 21- the furtherest room. The decor is stuck in the 1970s and requires an update.

The staff are very friendly, but defintely need some guidance.

This good be amazing- but definetley needs a new owner or proper management.

Room Tip: Rather- pay more and get proper value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyChainHospitality, Management at Shishangeni Private Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the wildlife at Shishangeni, and was fortunate enough to see the resident leopard.

Room 21 is indeed the furthest room. Keychain Hospitality has recently taken over the management of Shishangeni, the staff have been trained and we are going through a refurbishment project.

If you visit Shishangeni again, I'm sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

There are 22 lodges at Shishangeni. All the lodges enjoy privacy from each other. Depending on which lodge you are allocated, it can be quite a walk.

You may see monkeys, impala deers and warthogs roaming around in the hotel grounds as you walk along the walkway to your room. Beware of the monkeys as they may approach you to snatch your belongings especially if there is food.

Each lodge is very spacious with a bathtub, outdoor shower and outdoor sitting on the terrace. You can choose to have a massage at the terrace and be surprised by the sight of some wild animal roaming by as you are having a massage!

Bottled water is provided in the lodge but I am not sure if it is only 1 bottle for entire stay as I did not get replenishment for my second night.

I find the carpets on the floor a potential hazard as they are slippery on the floor. I nearly slipped a few times. A suggestion is to place the carpets partially underneath a piece of furniture to prevent slipping.

They seemed determined to feed you well! Food is included, buffet style. Not a large variety is offered but it is more than adequate. Morning and afternoon refreshment are provided before the morning and evening drive respectively. During the sarafi drive, we will also stop for morning coffee and evening sundowner. All included in package.

The staff are all very friendly, eager to help, accommodating and a happy bunch!

It has been a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you do not fancy a 5min or longer walk, request for a room not beyond number 15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shishangeni Private Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shishangeni Private Lodge

Address: Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 137 Specialty lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shishangeni Private Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in Africa where legends are bornShishangeni comprises of three camps to choose from Shishangeni Private Lodge, Camp Shonga and Camp Shawu. Each of the three adding a different experience to the visitor. The Lodge offers big five game viewing, superior service, excellent cuisine, and the best accommodation in Southern Africa. The emphasis of all three of our camps is on nature without losing the luxury and superior service our guests are accustomed to. We are striving to create the optimum balance between people and their environments, while having an absolute minimal impact on the neighbouring habitat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Shishangeni Private Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shishangeni Private Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.