We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service, but the Food and lack of a Tracker, will disappoint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shishangeni Private Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shishangeni Private Lodge to your Saves list
Shishangeni Private Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Service, but the Food and lack of a Tracker, will disappoint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We arrived to a friendly welcome, and were shown to a lovely room - all living up to expectation. Our ranger, Leonard, was friendly and made us feel at home as soon as we departed on our first game drive.
To our surprise there was no tracker with the vehicle - and no rifle. Recent poaching in Kruger has apparently necessitated this change - but we felt this totally changed the experience - unfortunately for the worse.
I've experienced private lodges at Sabi Sand before, and the tracker plays a huge role in identifying spoor, and tracking game. So much is lost without his services, and the night drive is an impossibility for the poor ranger who has to drive in the dark, pan a torch left and right, and try to spot game. It just wasn't going to happen - and it didn't. We saw almost nothing in the dark apart from the odd game a guest spotted.
During the daylight drives we did see Cheetah - which were awesome - and plenty of rhino, elephant, hippo, crocs, buffalo, giraffe, impala, etc.
But, in 3 days, no lion and no leopard. But it's the wild - and that's how it goes.
The service at the lodge was great - friendly assistance and nothing was too much trouble.
However, the food was aweful. I'm not fussy - but it was really terrible, with some dishes being inedible - and the deserts being a joke.
Other guests we shared a vehicle with from Europe and the USA also complained that the food was diabolical. Sorry Shishangeni - for a private game lodge you should be ashamed.
Even the Boma dinner, which was a lovely setting, was a disappointment as the meat was tough, the salads plain, and the desert inedible.
I would not recommend Shishangeni to others, and even though I paid a last minute discounted rate I felt I didn't get value. I felt sorry for the international visitors for whom this experience was that first, and possibly their last safari experience. There is so much other choice out there that knocks the socks off Shishangeni.
Pick one of the private lodges at Sabi Sand - the game is incredible, the lodges are world-class, and the food is something special.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    44
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
70
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aldie, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The best vacation I have ever had...... The safari was outstanding, the staff, food, lodging, and service were beyond my wildest dreams.... I can't wait to got back.... It was the best!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our first of 3 lodges. Very friendly staff and the game viewing 2nd to none!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in early June, full board, 2 adults and 2 children 5 and 10.
Rooms were very spacious and luxurious with arm chairs, rugs, foot stools, lovely and very comfortable beds with mosquite nets. The rooms were a few steps along a board walk from the main building. The bathrooms had free standing baths that over looked the bush there was also an outdoor shower and all very private. There is a fridge, tea and coffee facilties and separate dressing area in the room. Food was good, some meals were buffet service, some table service and good outdoor boma one night and the bar prices were very reasonable. All in a nice open dining area overlooking the bush with comfortable sofas and an open fire was lit on cooler evenings. The children were made to feel very welcome and frequently disappeared with staff to the kitchens etc. Ursula and her team are superb, nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel special. Victor our guide took us out in the open top Toyota vehicle, he is extremely knowledgeable about the game with a great sense of humour and agan brilliant with the kids, they were also very flexible with game drive times and the game drive picnics were great, and they have not had malaria in the area for some 8 years. They do some good deals 4 nights for 3 etc. I rate this place most highly and would recommend it and certainly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We drove over to Kruger NP from Jo-berg for a weekend and couldn't have picked a better spot than Shishangeni Lodge. The lodge is beautiful and the staff is excellent. The food is also very good and exceeded my expectations. The menu was interesting and diverse (oxtail, ostrich). The game drives were very well done. The drivers are courteous and professional. We were able to see many different animals (4 of the Big Five) and the scenery is tremendous.

The only downside is that the gym facilities are very limited and you can't just go out and about for a run (unless you want to end up as dinner). But, those are minor in the context of an excellent weekend. I strongly recommend Shishangeni as a great place to stay in Kruger NP.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This place was truely magnificant. The guided tours with Simon were not only beautiful, but also educational - he really went out of his way to make sure we didn't leave without having seen the big 5! Hotel service was really first class and comfortable. Beautiful outdoor private patio from where we were lucky enough to spot 2 elephant! My husband is usually not a morning person - but with those awesome game drives, he was more than willing to wake up at 5:30 every morning. Thank you to Shishangeni for a truely amazing african experience - as a local, this trip made me appreciate the beauty + splender of our country. :-)

Room Tip: Room no. 16 has a great private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed in Shishangeni Private Lodge for a week-end in January 2011. Overall a very good stay: the safari tours were with a very good guide, small groups and great views. The lodge in itself is comfortable, even though not the 5 stars we were promised by the travel agency. Great pool, very good food too. Definitelly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shishangeni Private Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shishangeni Private Lodge

Address: Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 144 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shishangeni Private Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in Africa where legends are bornShishangeni comprises of three camps to choose from Shishangeni Private Lodge, Camp Shonga and Camp Shawu. Each of the three adding a different experience to the visitor. The Lodge offers big five game viewing, superior service, excellent cuisine, and the best accommodation in Southern Africa. The emphasis of all three of our camps is on nature without losing the luxury and superior service our guests are accustomed to. We are striving to create the optimum balance between people and their environments, while having an absolute minimal impact on the neighbouring habitat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Shishangeni Private Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shishangeni Private Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.