We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort to your Saves list
Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O Box 112 | Jagurst Rust, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great family destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great family destination, staff are friendly and helpful, always willing to assist. Roads to hotel good, no problems. They go the extra mile to have the family very well entertained, from a set programme for kids daily to hikes and night entertainment for the entire family. If you are willing to get out and about, it is difficult to be bored here. Only negatives for me was that the bathrooms in the venue can do with a little upgrade, blackening grouting etc, but really it is not that bad at all, totally manageable. Other negative was the service at breakfast, waitress was clueless, forgot our drinks order, brought coffee instead of tea and food took a long time to come. Spa, was also closed, when we tried calling, looks like it is privately run, and if quite they just leave. All that being said, I would definitely visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineHeath, General Manager at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Gregory M

Many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Feedback both positive and negative assists us in continuously monitoring and improving our guest service.

I am delighted to hear that enjoyed your stay at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort.

Your constructive comments will be addressed both with our F&B Manager ito your breakfast service, our housekeeping department and our out sourced Spa. Even though the Spa is an outsourced operation, it is still required to meet the standards that we set for them. Their operating hours are from 08h00 to 16h00 and by appointment for anytime outside those hours. Due to their popularity is is important to make an appointment at all times however.

We look forward to welcomming you back to our resort and hopfully you will see an improvement in terms of the feedback you have given.

Kind Regards

Ernst-Jan Hiltemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    58
    32
    11
    7
See reviews for
104
19
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My experience with the resort was a joyous one from the moment I sent a reservation inquiry to Three Cities. The response was immediate and very favorable!!! Brian was so professional and helpful. I was impressed before I set foot at Alpine but, wait there is more, the welcome we received at the gate bowled me over!!! PraiseGod is a good example for all accommodation establishment wishing to have a competitive edge over their competitors!!! Such a bubbly and welcoming spirit!!! To cut a long story short, the kids had a blast, we had a ball and were so sad to leave such a beautiful place!!! Everything has been well thought out in the sense that one is never at a loss for things to do. Needless to say, a weekend stay is just not enough!!! We'll definitely be back!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineHeathResort, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Nelisiwe

It's wonderful to hear what our guests think of their stay here at Three Cities Alpine heath Resort.

Thank you for the glowing praise and kind words. We'll be sure to keep our standards of service high and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for naming individuals that made your experience a positive one!

Kindest Regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are looking for great family facilities, exceptionally friendly and efficient staff, and short walks for younger folks, then this is the place for you. It's not high-end luxury for adult visitors but for kids, especially younger ones, its a near-perfect location for a getaway.

A special mention for Richard at reception and all the other staff who were friendly and efficient at all times.

Room Tip: You either want to book a room at the very top of the hill, or at the very bottom. The former gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineHeathResort, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Howes

We're happy that you chose the Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort and even happier that you chose to review our resort on Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and getting a perfect score next time!

Kindest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Best place to stay in the berg
So much to do. Very good value for money family holiday
Views are out of this world
Fishing is good
Great hikes
Plenty for kids to do
Very safe
Also good for business conferences

Room Tip: All room views are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineHeathResort, Marketing Plan Coordinator at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Petzer

Thank you for your visit to the Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a trip to the Drakensberg, and it was well worth it.
I was particularly impressed by the spacious accomodation and facilities for the kids.
Staff in the coffee shop are a bit unfriendly, but the rest the staff was awesome. Victor at the Kids area is a superstar, he puts in extra effort to make your kids feel at home.
I would suggest they consider heating one of the pools. The communal braai areas are a bit of a frustration, because its quite a distance from the Chalets. Braai stands at the Chalets would be perfect.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafikeng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing 3 night stay with our family. The setting is magical. The chalets are lovely and has everything you could need. Their is lots of entertainment for the whole family and for the more adventurous, lots of outdoor activities such as quad bike rides, Bungy jumping, horse rides, tractor rides for the kids and family games to enjoy by the whole family. They have a spar on the premises for a little pamper....was great!!! Really glad we visited!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Over the last 10 years this has been a frequent destination for family get-togethers. Each chalet sleeps 6 and allows you a little quiet space while also providing enough communal space for the kids to run free (and safe). During school holidays there is usually a full (though unimaginative) entertainment program including quizzes, bingo, face painting and soccer games. Generally it's a good ides to bring your own entertainment for the evenings though. For those not keen on cooking for themselves there are fresh and wholesome options from the bar, pizzeria, coffee shop and hotel restaurant, as well as occasional themed buffets. There are several nature walks around the area and longer guided hikes can be requested. A recent addition are the stables where you can get horse rides (beginner level only).

This is not a resort for romantic weekends or party animals, but is perfectly suited to families with young children and those needing a relaxing break.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort

Address: P.O Box 112 | Jagurst Rust, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALPINE HEATH – A PLACE OF WONDER. The magnificent mountains of the Drakensberg provide the spectacular backdrop for Alpine Heath Resort. The resort is located midway between Durban and Johannesburg, and offers superb accommodation, fine cuisine, All-Out-Adventure pursuits and superb conference and wedding facilities. This resort is a sports enthusiast’s dream with a host of activities available to keep the entire family entertained. Guests can choose from indoors activities like:• Board Games• Squash• Table-tennis• Gym• Spa treatments There is also an extensive range of outdoor activities, which includes:• Horse-riding• Helicopter flips• Fishing• Mountain biking• Tennis • Putt-putt course• Swimming and even friendly sport matches. The kids will be fully entertained with ‘funtastic’ options that are sure to exceed any child’s expectations and energy levels. A daily variety of things to do, from arts & crafts to nature related activities are on offer. Children will never have a dull moment with the exclusive Kid’s Entertainment Program at the Kid’s WOW Zone! Just five minutes drive from Alpine Heath Resort is the All Out Adventures, which caters for extreme adrenaline junkies. Their activities vary from their well-reputed Canopy Tours to the Zipline and Kingswing. Alpine Heath Resort has many hiking trails, varying in difficulty, on offer. Situated in a World Heritage Site, the resort is the perfect base from which to explore some of the country’s finest trail attractions including the Amphitheatre, Tugela Falls (the World’s second highest waterfall) and Mont aux Sources. The Royal National Park is located 15km from the resort and boasts fantastic hiking opportunities at the world-famous Amphitheatre. Some of the trails available are:• Chain Ladder Hike• Tugela Gorge• Surprise Ridge• Cannibal Cave• Cascades, Look Out Rock• Tiger Falls. A trip to the Drakensberg would be incomplete without visiting the Spionkop Battlefields and all the history associated with the South Africa Anglo-Boer War. Relive the memories of past heroes and walk in the footsteps of three great leaders, Winston Churchill, Mahatma Gandhi and General Louis Botha. Alpine Heath Resort offers guests a number of dining options. Hungry patrons can choose between self-catering or enjoy the culinary delights of the resort’s La Gruyeres Restaurant, savor some scrumptious offerings at the resort’s onsite eateries - The Tavern or the Pizzeria, enjoy light snacks at the Coffee Shop or shop for some fresh produce at the local Village Market so that guests can prepare cuisine in the comfort of their own chalets. The resort has 100 luxuriously appointed, fully-equipped chalets offering panoramic mountain views from comfortable lounges, a fireplace for those romantic wintery evenings, kitchen, patio, satellite TV and three cozy bedrooms. Alpine Heath Resort is truly a highlight of the Drakensberg and it’s what makes this unique berg village so popular all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and South African Hotels so you can book your Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Heath Hotel Drakensberg Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.