We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marula Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marula Camp
Save
You added Marula Camp to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tshukudu Game Reserve | KT 207, Portion of Vienna, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Service was good, the room was average. Very relaxing and saw the big 5 in one afternoon. The food was excellent. The kitchen area was very clean and neat. Like the idea of a small crowd of people staying at both the camps.
The game drivers went out of their way to show us as many animals they can and also made it very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the review regarding your stay at Marula Camp. We are thrilled that you like the idea of our fully equipped communal kitchen. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kriel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The place is excellent. Friendly staff, good serverst. Good food. The bush walk in the mornings are great. The game drive is excellent. It is so nice to interact with the animals. Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the time taken to write the review about Marula Camp. We try our best to provide you with the experience of getting close and personal with some of our animals. We hope your next stay with us will be just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yzerfontein
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The more than relevant unexpected experience that became a highlight of our trip.The Marula team understand what add value and make for comfort in the Bush-veld. 4 Star accommodation and facilities with "old world" lapa and fire to make this unforgettable.The personal service and firsthand involvement with clients make you feel special and coming back a non negotiable item on the next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the time spent writing such a wonderful review for us. We pride ourselves in adding the personal touch and making our guests feel special. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had an wonderful stay at the Marula Camp and took some amazing photographs. We really enjoyed the bush walk in the mornings and the opportunity to get so close to nature. The facilities were nice and clean and the ready made fire in the evenings after the game drive was a welcome site. All you had to do is get your braai meat and a glass of wine and enjoy the relaxing fire in the boma.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Marula Camp. Sitting around the fire in the Boma with a glass of wine is definitely the way to end a day of being close with nature. Thank you for sharing this special place with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komatipoort
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had my family out from Australia.
My grandchildren were so excited to walk with the cheetah ,touch a live leopard and caracal etc.
Chris made the whole package very special, loved every minute.
Thank you we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the review regarding Marula Camp. We are glad to hear that your grandchildren from Australia enjoyed the intimate contact with our cheetah etc. They will definitely have some interesting stories to tell once back at school. We hope that your next stay with us will also be just as wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a fantastic experience! This is the first private game reserve that caters for children to experience the wild in an open range rover and bush walks in Big 5 territory. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the time spent writing the review for Marula Camp. As we are a family orientated camp we have now also added a Playground as additional entertainment for our younger guests. Looking forward to having your family stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay, tents were great and especially enjoyed patting the Cheetah Ntombi at the pool! The shared kitchens have an excellent setup with assigned cupboards (groceries) and separate fridges for each tent/cottage and good assortment of pots and pans, good quality utensils and crockery. Boma has a lit fire each night for braai/bbq. We all enjoyed the afternoon drives and morning walks. Learnt a lot about the local bush and animal behaviour and would like to get back here again. Staff all very friendly, polite and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky S, Manager at Marula Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Marula Camp. Ntombi, the resident cheetah of Marula Camp tends to laze around the pool as she was hand raised by Chris and Vicky Sussens. She is part of the family and enjoys the company of other "guests" around the pool. We hope to share this special experience with you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marula Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marula Camp

Address: Tshukudu Game Reserve | KT 207, Portion of Vienna, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marula Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marula Camp experience is characterised by close proximity to wildlife, an authentic bushveld atmosphere and the intimacy of an exclusive six unit camp. The comfortable self-catering accommodation consists of 2 luxury African style safari tents with bathrooms en-suite, and 4 air-conditioned cottages, sleeping a maximum of 22 guests. This family safari camp is loved and enjoyed by guests of all ages. The outdoor pool and children's playground ensure that youngsters stay happily entertained between game drives. For the odd rainy day, there is an indoor lounge with DSTV (cable tv) and free Wi-Fi. Although dining is easy with the Tshukudu restaurant in close proximity to the camp, self-catering at Marula Camp is a breeze. The communal kitchen is fully equipped with refrigeration, storage and cooking space for each of the units, and is spotlessly maintained by friendly staff throughout the day. Each unit is equipped with a bar fridge, kettle and complimentary supplies for making coffee/tea. After the daily signature three hour game drive, guests return at night to a wood fire in the traditional African Boma, prepared by staff. Marula Camp is serviced daily, and linen and towels are provided. Guests only provide own food and drinks. Experience the sounds of the bushveld and observe wildlife at the drinking trough from the pool or your veranda. Hear the rhinos walk past the camp at night. See a bushbaby jump peek at you through the branches. Go on an unforgettable game drive and be intrigued by the stories of the bush.This, and the warm hospitality of owners Chris and Vicky Sussens, will make you want to return again and again. Marula Camp is not a place, it's an experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marula Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.