We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, value and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Pools Resort

Save Saved
You added Hippo Pools Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Pools Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   On the R40, 22km North of Hoedspruit, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hoedspruit
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfort, value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in a very well appointed housekeeping unit on site. One night we ordered a meal prepared at the hotel which we optioned to eat in our room. The food arrived hot, plated,
and pleasantly presented. My wife had a vegetarian option and I the schnitzel which was surprisingly good.
The cost of the room and meals were modest given the quality and the hosts Dave and Kelly were most helpful in their advice as to local attractions. The site is perfectly located for a day trip to Kruger National Park which we enjoyed tremendously.
The hippos at the pools are at times highly entertaining. We were delighted when suddenly they all decided en mass to stop sunbathing on the sand bank and charged as a group into the river. The resulting mini tsumami was impressive.
We stayed in off season (end of May) and consequently at this and other locations received excellent rates and uncrowded facilities. There is a huge pool on site along with a games room
with table tennis and a pool table all of which we enjoyed on an almost exclusive basis.
All in all we would recommend this resort to our friends and will return on our next visiy to South Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was lucky enough to find this little gem for our wedding. What an amazing experiance!!! The chapel looked amazing and all our guests were booked into the rooms. Everyone raved about the placed. Service was brilliant, food amazing but the staff take the cake! A special thanks to David for setting everything up and making the whole wedding experiance so easy and stress free!! Having the hippos on the runway was just the icing on the cake (but i know david arranged it haha)

Room Tip: The main lodge by far is the best for large families but all the river houses are just as amazing! y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

the staff was very friendly and helped us a lot when we said we had lost our cell phone on our way there, they were nice enough to let us use their phone without even asking for anything in return. the rooms were exactly what was advertised and had all what we could need, the location is very nice and you can see monkeys wandering around.
I would strongly recommend you eat there and try their hake with lemon butter sauce, it's delicious and the staff will do everything to make you have a wonderful dinner. If you eat just beside the pool at night it's magic.
there are a lot of things to do in the area too and the staff will give you all the information you need.

Room Tip: we had a family budget room but we regretted not taking one of the rooms just beside the pool just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 days here and had a wonderful time. Kelly and David are so welcoming and helpful. The first day we arrived we hadn't booked dinner but they rustled up a braai pack and some cool refreshments for us. We stayed at a poolside house and it had everything we needed. The rooms are cleaned every day which is great. The pool is huge and there are plenty of games and a play area for the little ones. Watch out for the monkeys! They are brazen in their attempts to try and get some grub. My husband left a bag of groceries on the ground beside him as he tried to open the door and they had a bag of bread rolls gone in jig time! However, they are very entertaining to watch. Highlight of the stay? Joint winner between a game drive at Thornybush (where David used to work!) where we saw the big 5 and the quad biking with David. And that river at the back- yes there are hippos! David has his cctv camera trained on them and will let you know when they surface. We spent a good half hour sitting on watching 3 females wallowing. We would highly recommend this spot to truly relax and unwind.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in good locations but we loved our poolside location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a very pleasant visit to Hippo Pools. The new managers Kelly and Dave offer friendly, professional service in a relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to our next trip planned in December!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Hippo Pools last august 2012 and had a very nice stay! The environment is beautiful! Green gardens, Bougainvillea, a deep blue pool and very comfortable and clean houses.
We stayed at one of the riverside houses and it was amazing. Very nicely decorated with a stunning view at the river. The braai place is cosily built under the trees near the river. We spent a few memorable evenings there. Hippo Pools is also a good place to make some adventurous excursions. You can go to the Kruger Park, visit Moholoholo rehab centre, take a boat trip....and many more.
We would definitely recommend Hippo Pools to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hippo Pools Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Pools Resort

Address: On the R40, 22km North of Hoedspruit, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Pools Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hippo Pools Resort is a friendly and intimate holiday resort situated on the banks of the mighty Olifants River. The resort is in close proximity to the Kruger National Park with two of the most popular main gates within 45 minutes’ drive. Only 22 km from Hoedspruit and within easy driving distance of local tourism attractions of the area, the resort is an ideal base to explore and enjoy the best that the Lowveld has to offer.Hippo Pools Resort has variety of accommodation options, with something for everyone - from family groups to business travellers looking for an overnight stopover. Cosy thatched Rondavels and poolside rooms at the main resort complex offer accommodation for couples and smaller families. Just a short walk away from the resort and nestled under jackalberry, wild fig and leadwood trees are the riverside houses each with three bedrooms, splash pool, and spectacular views over the Olifants River. All rooms are well equipped for self-caterers.The Resort has its own restaurant, licenced bar and tea garden that are open daily. Light snacks can be ordered at any time and pre-bookings can be made if you require breakfast and/or dinner.Hippo Pools Resort is also the perfect venue for conferences, functions and year-end parties. Our quaint little chapel under shady trees and next to the river provides a romantic setting for weddings both large and small. Access to the resort is by tarred road and for the aeroplane enthusiasts; the resort has an 800 metre tarred runway. Planes can be parked within viewing distance of the rooms and both fly-in weekends and fly-out breakfasts can be arranged.Hippo Pools Resort is home to a range of resident wildlife including the wallowing hippos who are our namesake! They can often be found relaxing in the pools of the Olifants River right in front of our riverside houses. Waterbuck, duiker, vervet monkeys, baboons and banded mongoose are often spotted, as is an array of fantastic bird life. Our bird list includes kingfishers, fish eagles, marshal eagles, trumpeter hornbills, rollers and even the elusive Pels fishing owl have been observed, to name but a few.If you are looking for a relaxed yet professional atmosphere with the perfect location and something for everyone, then Hippo Pools Resort is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hippo Pools Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Pools Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.