We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you chef.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Club

Safari Club
19 Safari Junction | Raptors View, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
0827892608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Hoedspruit
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Roodepoort
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Thank you chef.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I visited the Safari Club on a public holiday, 9 August 2013. It was not very busy and having been their twice before I expected nothing but good service and great food. First problem was ordering a bottle of sparkling wine, almost none were available. We settled for a bottle and when we wanted to order a second, it took whoever went to look for it in some store room, almost half an hour to return and inform that there was nothing. When trying to order a bottle of wine instead, we made three selections before one was available. The wine list is small and I find no excuse for not having what is offered. Management was no where to be seen. A table with a small family complained about the service for all to hear! The highlight however was the chef. He took on the role of management and came to each table to enquire whether all was fine and on finding out it was my birthday really went out of his way to make sure that the food was excellent and even made me a mussel starter that was not on the menu a special dessert on the
house. A few last comments. The table cloth at our table was torn, the restaurant had obviously just received (I hope) cases of beer etc. It was unpacked and took quite a bit of floor space in the restaurant and did not create a very good atmosphere. There was also unopened outside umbrellas lying on the floor. From being a top restaurant in Eat Out 2011 some serious work is needed to keep the standard.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A nice place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Located at the entrance to the Raptor View estate the Safari Club offers a very pleasant place to spend some time with a very nice outdoor area in the summer as well as a well set out restaurant.
Food choice is good and of a good standard at reasonable prices as is the wine list.
Particularly enjoyable is to take a slow breakfast on the deck and contemplate the day ahead.
Service has always been efficient and friendly and I would always be happy to go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Night Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This resturant has good food, they are well priced and an amazing ambiance. After dinner, the whole resturant turns into a great night club on weekends for a great party

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Try the Ostrich Steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have used this restaurant a few times at lunch time so feel the review is balanced for their service at that time of day.
The menu is quite varied and I can highly recommend the Ostrich Steak which is superb.
The place lacks a little bit of atmosphere at lunchtime. However, it is beautifully appointed and the service is always very friendly although sometimes slow and orders were sometimes mixed up, but not catastrophically.
There is outside seating although the restaurant is quite close to a main road out of town, but it is not an overly busy route.
Food prices were a bit higher than some in the area but was of good quality. For South Africa though the portions were a little on the small size I thought.
Would I go again, yes, if only for the Ostrich!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Above average meal at an above average price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Safari Club is conveniently situated on the main road through Hoedspruit in a good location. It is well decorated with mist sprayers keeping the verandah cool on hot days and there is lots of parking.

The menu is good. I had a curry and rice which was tasty but only luke warm. The papadums were not cooked properly but the waiter brought another without any fuss. A relative had the salmon and said that it was very good. The service was good with friendly waiters and was quick enough and efficient.

A nice place to stop and get a good, if slightly pricy meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Club also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.