We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Jessica

Hippo Jessica
Essex Road | P.O.BOX 1629, Hoedspruit, South Africa
+27 (0)15 795-5249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 attractions in Hoedspruit
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a once in a lifetime experience that should not be missed. You get to feed and touch a almost fully grown hippo without any fear.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Up-close and Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is really difficult to get good pictures of a hippo. Here you can get pictures while you are feeding Jessica, giving Jessica a drink, kissing Jessica and massaging Jessica's back. What a treat.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved the experience! You won't be able to do anything like this in the world. Amazing how soft Jessica is and how we were able to interact with her. She is free to go out and roam with the wild hippos in the area (which she does), but always comes back. Very cool.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Quite a scary prospect to kiss Jessica.... but one we did anyway! interesting and fun experience near hoedspruit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“enchanting but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just seeing a hippo face to face is an astounding experience. The fact that she has been reared by devoted humans since she was a few days old is remarkable and she certainly pleases her visitors with her tea drinking.

My only concern is that hippos are intrinsically dangerous - many deaths annually are due to hippo attacks. I fear that it is just a matter of time before she turns on the hand that feeds her - be it her owners or a tourist who are encouraged to kiss her. Perhaps when she becomes a mother, she'll revert to her wild, fiercely protective hippo mode of behaviour?

We enjoyed our visit - but I have reservations.....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Jessica also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Hippo Jessica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Jessica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hippo Jessica to your Saves list