We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jessica is different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Jessica

Hippo Jessica
Essex Road | P.O.BOX 1629, Hoedspruit, South Africa
+27 (0)15 795-5249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Hoedspruit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Jessica is different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We drove to Hoedspruit for this attraction. It is interesting to feed Jessica who seems very comfortable in her surroundings. And, she loves foot-body massage.

Glad to know that they now have a male hippo, 9 months old. We got to play with this, than with Jessica. It was fun to see this hippo tussle with the house dogs at times with the whole jaw around the necks of the dogs.

Visit only if you are in the area. it is located 1 - 2 km before entering town, coming from Lydenburg. You will have to drive 8 km gravel road.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“If I didn't have the photographs I wouldn't believe it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

You will never get so close to a hippo ever in your leaf. The bizarre spectacle of Jessica lumbering up for her tea and corn is unreal. But I must admit I lost my heart to Ritchie the baby hippo there

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is fun, strage and a bit weird.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I heard about Jessic and you can go on YouTube and see a video. I fed her, she kissed me. It is a bit odd but worth the side trip at least I think.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“We LOVE Jessica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

One of the highlights of our trip was visiting Jessica the Hippo at her home. We had seen videos of Jessica on television and heard the story of Toni Joubert rescuing this orphan and raising her as an only hippo and wanted to see this for ourself. We are so happy that we did. We arrived via a long circuitous route through a corporate orange grove thanks to our GPS so beware. But it was well worth the trouble. We arrived at the gate and welcomed by one of Jessica's caregivers. We were escorted to the dock on the riverbank and were standing there chatting away with Tonie when we look up and see Jessica nimbly trotting down the path to the water. What a sight. She gently entered with barely a splash and swam over to the dock to be granted a snack by my husband and myself. We had a great afternoon talking to Tonie and watching Jessica as she went about her business acting very much like a very large dog who swims. Visiting hours 10 to 12 and 3 to 5. joubert@jessicahippo.com or www.jessicahippo.com. Make time in your schedule to see this. You will be delighted!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

my wife really likes kissing a hippo - need I say more! And now there is a new little Richard which we look forward to watching grow up

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Jessica also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Hippo Jessica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Jessica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.