We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's great interactive zoo, but the sexist guide ruined it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre

Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre
R531 near Kampersrus, Hoedspruit, South Africa
084 511 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 attractions in Hoedspruit
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It's great interactive zoo, but the sexist guide ruined it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Why do male guides think that it is funny to make derogatory comments about women? The sexist attitude and comments of the guide ruined it for me. Embarrassed polite laughter from the group does not mean he is funny. But otherwise it was good. Patting a Cheetah, seeing wild dogs up close, the vultures and the other exhibits were great. It's a zoo, so don't expect to see anything but animals in small enclosures.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    66
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brits, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was incredibly informative with very accomplished guides who were entertaining as well. We learned a lot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“close view of rehabbed animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Maholoholo is doing very good things. The variety of animals at Maholoholo was fascinating, educational and the rehab center is doing what it can to help the animals and educate the populace. We enjoyed our afternoon there very much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The weather was miserably cold and rainy in Graskop, so we headed toward Hoedspruit and Moholoholo. This place is well worth the 1 1/2 hour drive from Graskop and it was clear and sunny here as it is in the lowveld.

Everyone here is absolutely passionate about wildlife conservation and it shows. Our guide, Oscar, was a fountain of knowledge about these animals, many of which cannot be returned to the wild. You get to enter the animal enclosures, pet an adult cheetah, feed a vulture and ruffle the feathers on an eagle's head -- where else could you do all that?

We learned so much during our visit, such as the fact that leopards are the only cats who can walk down trees head first, because they are the only cats whose wrists will lock. Here you will see all of the animals you may miss on safari, such as cheetah, leopards, lions, genet, giraffe, many types of eagles, hyenas, honey badgers and wild dogs. The experience is fascinating and you never feel rushed. Even though we visited during the busy school holiday, we were split into smaller groups so we never felt we were in a massive tourist group.

There are only two "tours" per day, at 9 am and at 2 pm and you must be on time, as they close the gates after the tour begins. This was a fascinating experience that we can't recommend highly enough for both adults and children. The work this center does is inspiring and well deserves our support.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant outing for young and old”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a brilliant afternoon at the centre - from stroking a cheetah to feeding vultures. We were divided into smaller groups and taken round by well-informed guides. Would highly recommend!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre also viewed

Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moholoholo Wildlife Rehab Centre to your Saves list