We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blyde River Wilderness Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blyde River Wilderness Lodge to your Saves list
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Off R527 | Hoedspruit Limpopo, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bern
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this delightful lodge set in its own wildlife park! As we drove in we were greeted by a herd of Nyalas having a good graze of the lawns surrounding the reception area!
Our room "luxurious" was comfortable, airy and clean but somewhat dated! Doors and paintwork could use some attention! The staff were very attentive especially the lovely Monica and the breakfast was excellent! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I hope you are well, thank you so much for taking the time to review the Blyde River Wilderness Lodge.

We are very proud of our own wildlife are and we are happy that our guest also enjoy the presence of our Giraffes, Zebra’s , Nyala’s, Impala’s, and horses.
In our Bush are also Bushbuck, Duiker, Steen buck, Waterbuck, Bushpig and Warthog found. In the River Hippo and Crocodiles swim by.

We are proud to inform you that The sliding doors and windows are all replaced. Due to the floods we had in 2012 some were damages as the whole Lodge was covered in water.

Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Have a lovely day & keep well.

kind regards,

The Blyde River Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights end of May, and it was wonderfull. We have two small children aged two and four, and we stayed in the owl house. The house was comfortable. There are antelope that walks past your house, and down in the river are hippos that you hear and see (they dont come out of the water). You can go forma walk in the reserve and see zebras and giraffes. There are lovely trees, green grass and i could have stayed there for a week. We had breakfast included and it was really good, from fruit, cold meats to eggs, sausage etc. They also serve dinner. Cynthia, the manager, is really a capable lady, we felt very welcome. This is a place where one could come and rest! The swimming pool is open, just note if you have small children!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good. The all look out on the river bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I hope you are well, thank you so much for taking the time to review the Blyde River Wilderness Lodge.

It was wonderful having you as our guests and we really appreciate your lovely comments.
This feedback makes our love and passion for the loge worthwhile. We are very proud of Cynthia to!

We are glad you enjoyed our Self Catering unit “The Owl House”.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

All the best & kind regards,

The Blyde River Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The awesome: this is a beautifully situated establishment. The sound of the river Blyde is so relaxing, as are the horses and wildlife wandering around, but the most incredible sounds of all are from the hippos - you can hear them loudly calling and rumbling to one another, especially in evenings. During the day they kept their distance but come up the the lodge area at night. We stayed four days and saw them in the distance several times during the day and close by in the river one night. The rooms are basic but comfortable - good beds. The bad: breakfast, which is included if you go that route, is very good with a nice selection of cold and hot dishes. The dinner option, however, is NOT worth the R200 they charge for each plate and although they ask ahead of time for dietary restrictions they are ignored upon arrival. The ugly: no onsite management leads to bad service. After driving all day to get there from J'burg, we wandered around for over an hour in the area trying to find the place by following our gps, calling the lodge and the cell number on the lodge's voicemail repeatedly to get directions but to no avail. Eventually we found it only to be told by one of the ladies working there that she "forgot" to tell me you can't just follow the gps as it is incorrect and she heard the phone ringing but couldn't make it to the phone in time. Sigh. I also had an extremely important exam to submit one evening and was horrified to find the server not working. We turned the router on and off, tried everything imaginable. We asked the observing ladies if there was anywhere in town with wifi - no idea. Only then, after about an hour, did they volunteer the information that the server goes off after eight every night. So I unecessarily failed an important test. The place is beautiful but it could really do with some coherent management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I hope you are well, thank you so much for taking the time to review the Blyde River Wilderness Lodge.

We are very glad you enjoyed our beautiful Lodge Surrounded by the tranquil Blyde River and the majestic Drakensberg mountains, set in our Private reserve.
With Hippo and Crocodiles, the reserve is also home to Giraffe, Zebra, Nyala, Impala, Bushbuck, Duiker, Steen buck, Waterbuck, Bushpig and Warthog.

We're very sorry that you have experienced our Dinners like you did. We serve a delicious 3-course meal every night. Our Dinner consists of a starter with home-made bread. Our main dishes always consist of local produce and our meat/fish/chicken dishes are of the best quality. Our Chef always serves a lovely homemade dessert which are very popular with our guests. The price for Dinner was R 200 (+/- € 14.00) for the full three courses including fresh bread rolls, garden salad & tea/coffee after dinner, this price is not per plate as mentioned but for the full three course meal. We believe that this is good value.

We are very sorry to hear that at the time you phoned us for directions there was nobody to answer the phone. As we are in the bush communication can sometimes be a bit difficult. Cell phone reception can sometimes be a challenge, the same for the internet and out telephone systems. We do our best to keep our communication systems open to our guests. We do recognize these problems and look for every opportunity to enhance our communication systems.

When the booking is made we always send our guest information about our Lodge which contains a very detailed description of our location.

Your main concern was the internet connection. We do apologize for this problem as it was very important to you at that time. We do as you said advertise with a Wifi connection, however we are a Bush Lodge in the middle of the Wilderness and sometimes the internet is not available. The system is down sometimes which it is totally out of our hands.

I hope that besides finding the location and the internet you look back on your stay as a beautiful African experience.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

All the best & kind regards,

The Blyde River Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place was a real pleasant surprise! Blyde River Wilderness Lodge and Blyde River Canyon Lodge are sister establishments, owned by Australians (but seemingly very much in partnership with local South Africans)! The place was absolutely stunning - beautiful big trees along the river with rondevals sprinkled across the grounds. Each of the rondevals are spacious with bedding for many (much more than advertised) and a full kitchen! There were subtle niceties like the hot water bottles (to keep warm for the evening)! This place was less than an hour from the Three Rondevals (and many other scenic spots)! I recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Hope you are well, thank you for taking the time to review Blyde River Wilderness Lodge.

When guest book at our Lodge we send a letter of enquiry, this letter has the correct GPS Location, a very detailed map and written directions. These 3 different instructions are also available on the website: www.blyderiverwilderness.co.za .

However at the time you booked with us some signs next to the road were unfortunately stolen, during a short period of time the road to the Lodge was less sign posted than it is now.
I can proudly inform you that we recently have all new signs. The GPS co-ordinates lead you to the entrance of the dirt road, from there you can follow the signs to the Lodge ( 6 KM + a 2 KM driveway).

The quality of our lovely 3- course candle light dinner, breakfast and service is very important to us. All meals are fresh and homemade and we only make use of local products.
Therefore we feel sorry that you haven’t experienced it like we would have liked you to.

We are sorry the trouble finding us, that might have influenced they way you experienced the entire stay with us

We would love to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Blade River Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

You have to go by a long dirt track, but it is absolutely worth it! Passing the track we have seen zebra and giraffes, great!
The lodge is great: very beautiful situated along the river - there should be hippo's in it but we have not seen (or heard) them! We booked the Owl house - a rondavel with two bedrooms and more beds upstairs, very nice decorated, a complete kitchen and nice bathroom. The garden is great, well maintained and with two nice swimming pools. The staff is very friendly, meals are good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge.

We are aware that a long time has passed before we respond to your feedback. This is because many of these reactions were placed before we professionally took part in Tripadvisor.

Still after all this time we would like to thank you for your lovely review and constructive criticism.

We hope to welcome you and your family/friends again in the future.

Have a lovely day & keep well.

Kind Regards,

The Blyde River Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You feel like in your home. The kindness of the staff is incredible. The garden is luxury. The pools are amazing. The meal is really good, without sophistication. Located negar the blyde river, we can hear the music of the water and the birds. No words can describe such Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we passed through the Blyde River and had a lovely nights stay. We were woken in the morning at 7am by the sound of the hippos over the river which was an amazing experience to say the least! The food was lovely and they had a good alternative for me as I am a vegetarian. Really nice resort and lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Blyde River Wilderness Lodge.

We are aware that a long time has passed before we respond to your feedback. This is because many of these reactions were placed before we professionally took part in Tripadvisor.

Still after all this time we would like to thank you for your lovely review and constructive criticism.

We hope to welcome you and your family/friends again in the future.

Have a lovely day & keep well.

Kind Regards,

The Blyde River Wilderness Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blyde River Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyde River Wilderness Lodge

Address: Off R527 | Hoedspruit Limpopo, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blyde River Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the tranquil Blyde River and the majestic Drakensberg mountains, this thatched lodge is set in a Private reserve, in an area famous for its panoramic scenery, birdlife, fauna and flora. Nestled on the banks of the Blyde River, it offers travelers a unique bush experience whilst soaking up the beauty of the natural surroundings. The lodge is situated along the famous Panoramic Route of Mpumalanga/Limpopo Province and is just a 50-minute drive to the Kruger National Park- Orpen Gate. Places of water are places of life. Not only are the water courses of the Blyde River Wilderness Lodge well populated with hippo and crocodiles, the reserve is home to giraffe, nyala, impala, wildebeest, zebra, bushbuck, duiker, steenbuck, waterbuck, bushpig and warthog. The towering Northern Drakensberg escarpment provides a canvas for nature to capture a masterpiece with each sunrise… This is your opportunity to escape and invest in peace. Accommodation comprises seven (6) double/twin rooms with en-suites, one (1) Large Self Catering Rondavel with en-suite which can sleep 7 and (1) self catering king fisher cottage which sleeps 2/3 people (preferably 2 adults and one child)All rooms are tastefully furnished, and each room leads out onto the tranquil river settings where Crocodiles and Hippos swim by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blyde River Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blyde River Wilderness Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.