We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly unforgetable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vuyani Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vuyani Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Vuyani Safari Lodge
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Moditlo Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1,325pp-5nights-all in!
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A truly unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I can not say a single bad word about the vuyani safari lodge. Everyone here is so loving, caring and helpful. You are completely looked after from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. The food is exquisite and I can safely say as I first time traveller and holiday destination I couldnt have chosen better. I truly felt at home and was very sad to leave everyone. I can safely say I will definately be coming again, within a heartbeat. Highly recommend the vuyani lodge, no question about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Danni,

Many thanks for your excellent review! I knew this was your first big trip abroad, and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it here. It was a real pleasure hosting you here, and we would love to welcome you here again n the future.

Many thanks again.

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
144
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I can't imagine that any safari lodge anywhere could be any better than Vuyani. Every aspect of our experience there was superb, topped off by the amazing number and close-up quality of sightings of animals and birds. A heard of elephants rambled right in front of us. A pride of lions stared at us from 30 feet away. We saw cheetahs (endangered), wild dogs (first sighting in ten months), tsessebes (the only three on the reserve), and over 70 other animals and birds. Remarkable! We were lucky, of course, but Jessie, our tracker/guide was the cause of much of that luck. The man is nothing short of phenomenal. His knowledge of everything from termites to Grey Go Away birds to the night sky was seemingly endless. Combine that knowledge with his passion for what he does and his great sense of humor, and you have the best guide imaginable.

Vuyani's accommodations are well designed and equipped, and very comfortable. The food at every meal was delicious. And, as so many others have reported, every staff member was darn good at his or her job, and warm and friendly to boot. The Lodge is exceedingly well managed. I cannot recommend Vuyani highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles C, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Many thanks for your glowing review!

I couldn't be any happier that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge, the food and of course the safaris. You had some spectacular sightings indeed, so that's fantastic.

We hope to welcome you again here some time in the future!

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

the extremely personable, friendly, knowledgeable and consistently thoughtful and supportive staff are what made vuyani outstanding for me. the very comfortable and spotlessly clean accommodations and the fresh food painstakingly prepared each day were excellent. being able to watch the food preparation was fascinating and the opportunity to talk with the enthusiastic cooks as they worked was wonderful. staff made every effort to supply individual requests.

Room Tip: honeymoon cottage has light,open and spacious floor plan, fully stocked drinks fridge. lovely bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles C, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Janet,

It was a pleasure to meet you at the lodge, and I am looking forward to meeting you again at the lodge in November (maybe this will be impossible due to the birth of my first children around that time), but if not then, then surely the year after.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, the jacuzzi, the amenities as well as the team and of course the safaris!

See you soon again at the lodge!

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

After reading all the glowing reviews on here I was a bit nervous that Vuyani could never live up to my high expectations - I was wrong, it exceeded them! The service & warmth of the staff is evident as soon as you arrive and continued throughout the whole stay. Every single member of staff was incredibly friendly and always keen to make sure we had everything we needed. The lodge itself is incredibly well presented & our room (the honeymoon sweet - which has it's own private decking with jacuzzi overlooking the bush) was easily the most luxurious room we've ever stayed in! All the guides who take you out on game drives have an unbelievable depth of knowledge about the animals, vegetation & birds so as well as seeing amazing things you also get to learn lots too. They are also very passionate & do a fantastic job tracking animals to make sure you see as much as possible. We were thrilled with all the animals we saw but it is worth saying that game drives vary massively - some days you'll go out & see rhino, cheetah & a herd of elephants (!!), other days might be very quiet. But, that's what you should expect - these are wild animals afterall! But, I think the quieter drives serve to show you the immense skill & patience it takes for the guides to track the animals & also makes it so much more exciting when you do spot your first lion or elephant etc! We ate like Kings & Queens during our stay - the food was always delicious & such a variety too. Another thing we loved about Vuyani is the small family atmosphere. There are only 14 guests staying at a time which means you get to know people really well, which added hugely to the enjoyment of our stay. We went to Kruger for the day while we were there & would highly recommend it. If you are looking for a safari then look no further - go to Vuyani! 

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles C, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Natalie,

Many thanks for your amazing review. What a pleasure to hear that we exceeded your expectations, especially as they were very high.

We are indeed blessed with a stunning reserve, with lots of animals, so I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safaris with the ranger and tracker.

I would say that one of the many special aspects about this lodge is the intimate atmosphere, so that makes for lots of relaxation and also meeting new people with lots of new friendships.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you here again some time in the future!

Kind regards,

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had the most wonderful time, exceeding all our expectations. A special thanks to Themba, Mike and Uyai who suffered a myriad of questions from us and worked so very hard to ensure we got to see as much wildlife as possible. Memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles C, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Many thanks for your positive review. We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed going out on safari with Mike, Themba and Uyai. They had a great time showing you the hundreds of species that call our reserve home.

We would love to welcome you here again, it would be all our pleasure!

Kind regards,

Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Fabulous lodge in secure private grounds. Craig is the lodge manager and is extremely experienced with wildlife and the local people. His staff cook and serve you with a smile and the rooms are of a high standard with local art decorating the walls. No expense spared when this lodge was upgraded by the owners. The game drives are fantastic - early morning at 5am and evening - searching for the pride of lions and Rhinos - we were so lucky to be feet away from the Lions - it was amazing and our drivers/hunters were exceptional. Jonathan and JZ really put every effort to track the main 5 and stop on the way for anything interesting - amazing.

Room Tip: we stayed inside the lodge and preferred it to the outside lodge cabins in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Debbie,

Many thanks for the excellent and detailed review you have left for us. Great news!

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safaris, and that you got so close to the lions. Great experience indeed!

By the way, the lodge wasn't upgraded by the owners, but built about 5 and a half years ago from scratch, so that's why the quality of the rooms and the decor is very high. Only the best materials were chosen, and the best craftsmen used.

Please visit us again, you are always welcome!

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place is fantastic. We had the best safari experience here. Not only is it a great luxury lodge, but they have a wonderful chef, great food, and great guides for your twice daily safaris! We loved our room, we loved the game drives, we loved the meals, and we loved the staff! The private game reserve it is in provides an intimate and close up game experience. We also purchased a day in Kruger National Park, which is much larger and provides a different experience. Together, both game drives provide just about everything you would want.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms - 10 people max at any one time!!!! We stayed in one of the rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Many thanks for the super positive review! I am so happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us: safaris, rooms, food, as well as the staff. And indeed, Kruger Park trips and private game reserve safaris are very different, and we recommend to do both here. Both types of safari outings are unique.

We hope to being able to welcome here some time again!

Kind regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vuyani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyani Safari Lodge

Address: Moditlo Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vuyani Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vuyani Safari Lodge is located on the Moditlo Private Game Reserve within the Blue Canyon Conservancy which is more than 36,000 acres in size. Located next to the Kruger National Park, at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain range, Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of South Africa's premier luxury safari lodges, in the country's most famous area for African wildlife. The Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of only 2 lodges on this reserve, and with only 7 suites, it offers one of the most exclusive African safari experiences in South Africa. The reserve offers a unique opportunity to observe all of Africa's large game such as the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, hippo and crocodile as well as some of the very rarest species, amongst others the wild dog, the brown hyena, the ground hornbill and several other highly endangered animals. Almost 400 various species of birds have been counted. Some of the rarest European migratory birds visit the reserve in the European winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Vuyani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vuyani Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vuyani Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.