We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matumi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Matumi Lodge to your Saves list
Matumi Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Guernsey Road Klaserie, Hoedspruit, South Africa (Formerly Matumi Game Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed here as part of an Intrepid tour and while the actual rooms are lovely, there's definitely room for improvement. Mostly around the bar and restaurant.

The menu feels like it was developed in the 70s and only offers one choice per night which is not particularity well cooked. The kitchen could use some help getting the lodge up to International Standards.

It would also be useful if the Manager was more proactive in organising activities and events for people, we had to continually chase her to book us into safaris.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I spent 5 days in Matumi Lodge and it was a very pleasant time. The lodge has all the commodities including a nice swimming pool.
The staff is friendly and I was really impressed with the hospitality in South Africa.
In this lodge they make you feel home and all the guests are treated as a big family. It´s good for those who travel alone but don´t want to be alone all the time.
No tv or internet in the rooms meaning you will really be away from the civilization during your holidays.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of an Exodus safari trip to Kruger. It was billed as a luxury lodge by the tour leader, but was quite disappointing. Our room was only average with poor lighting and a problem with no hot water, which was resolved the second day. No porch area to sit outside the room. The property is very small and walking around very limited. They have an observation tower but there was no wildlife viewing except for some impala, which are fed on site. The main emphasis of the lodge seemed to be selling drinks. We were billed for more than we had which was corrected but it was a poor system and inconvenience. There were no optional trips available and no library. I did not try the internet as I had no confidence it would work. We did have an hour walking trip on the adjoining property but it was mostly along the fence line to look at scat and a few plants. However, my main complaint was the food. No choices for dinner, small portions and poor quality. I did not think there was any effort shown to accommodate the guests as dinner was always an hour late and breakfast 15 to 30 minutes late.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The room was great, the staff really friendly, the Food delicious, the pool so refreshing and the whole lodge is just so nice! Rini is so helpful und her knowledge is just incredible. It's one of those places I definitely want to go back to one day.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Excellent lodge, comfortable accommodation and very friendly staff. A place with a great positive energy. the common areas are great, breakfast is very good and the bar has different drink options....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at Matumi Lodge between 26th-31st July 2014. It is a fantastic place to stay. We had a warm welcome, the staff were lovely and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The food at the Lodge, cooked by Erwin, was great! We couldn't fault it! The lodge is at a great location, close to Kruger National Park and Other day excursions.

Rienne went out of her way for my three girls, making sure they were always warm with blankets, making food that they liked (three fussy eaters!) and organising lovely tours that they thoroughly enjoyed. The highlight of the trip for my nine year old was the trip to see Jessica the hippo and feeding her bottles of tea! Even down to going out and buying marshmallows for the girls for the campfire, Rienne was brilliant!

Thank you for making our stay most enjoyable. A big thanks to Rienne, we really felt like part of the family when we left. A really great experience, you guys (Erwin, Corrie, Rienne) deserve to make a success of Matumi Lodge, keep up the brilliant work! The Girls say Hi to Shazza!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaza2005, Front Office Manager at Matumi Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely compliments! It was such a great pleasure meeting your special family


We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your safari holiday!

We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Matumi Lodge due to the wonderful people who own and work at the lodge! They were so inviting and accommodating! I was traveling on my own and they welcomed me to their table!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaza2005, Front Office Manager at Matumi Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your lovely compliment! It is so great to know that you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matumi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matumi Lodge

Address: Guernsey Road Klaserie, Hoedspruit, South Africa (Formerly Matumi Game Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Hotel Class:3 star — Matumi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Matumi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matumi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.