We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timbavati Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Save
You added Timbavati Safari Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Orpen Road (R531) | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I spent over a week at this lodge in July/August and cannot praise the service and dedication of the staff too much. The accommodation is fantastic, with a wide range of animals and birds viewable even from the rondavals. The rondavals themselves are extremely comfortable and individually decorated with thoughtful attention to detail and provide a unique and individual experience which really complements the 'safari' holiday.

The guided tours and drives enabled sightings of a wide range of animals both in the all day Kruger drives and the sunset drives. I saw all the 'Big 5' while here, but the guides were also keen to show visitors the whole range of African wildlife on view - ideal for photographers and budding naturalists. An important point to mention is that the lodge is extremely convenient for and close to the Orpen Gate, allowing early morning access to Kruger (one of the best viewing times).


The staff were fantastic, from Ryan and Kylie in the office, to John and Luke in the extremely well thought out bar area, where I spent a certain amount of time. The bar itself really adds to the ambience, creating a comfortable and active social area right next to the large swimming pool. The food was of a very high standard - easily the best I experienced in all the lodges I have visited in the area.

All in all, I cannot recommend the lodge highly enough. A couple of all day drives were the highlights of my 3 and a half weeks in the Kruger area and I shall most definitely be returning. A heartfelt thank you to all the staff, managers and owners at Timbavati. Outstanding.
Mark, Manchester

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Mark,
Thank you for your review on staying with us. It was such a pleasure having you here and we are so glad you enjoyed it, and managed to enjoy all aspects on the property and out and about. As an avid bush lover im sure we will be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
25
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is amazing. The staff were great, location stunning, and food delicious. The really special part were the amazingly knowledgeable guides. They made our trip. If you are looking for a beautiful and exciting location to start your safari from here it is! Make sure you wait for them to accompany you to your room at night ;) Ayoba!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Charlie,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its great to hear you enjoyed every aspect and we look forward to welcoming you back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our last hotel in our journey through wild Africa! After this we had to go to Johannesburg to fly back! It was great here! In the lodges you felt like you were in the middle of africa!! Real african style huts!! :-)! It was nice and clean! The beds were great!! Kruger Park is only 15 minutes away so that's always nice!! they do their one sunset safaris but you can also book a full day safari in Kruger aswell at the reception But save the best for last and i must say that this was the staff and the bar!! We had the best times sitting at the bar! Got to thank Luke 4 that!! :-)

I MUST DO if you're nearby or want to visit Kruger Park!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Job,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us. So glad to hear you enjoyed every aspect and enjoyed your evenings with Luke, the bar man. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Timbavati Safari Lodge is undoubtedly the best way to experience South Africa for the first time. The staff are welcoming, helpful and very knowledgeable. The facilities are beautiful, traditional and clean and the location is ideal for walking trails, game drives and access to the Kruger National Park. The activities Timbavati team offer are extensive and range in adventure level and prices, catering for all visitors. We were fed traditional, scrumptious, home cooked food every day and were welcomed to join members of staff for a few night caps at their beautiful wooden pool bar each evening. This was an ideal way to learn all the ins and outs of living and surviving in the “bush”. Some amazing stories were shared and stunning moments captured. I am so looking forward to my next visit to Timbavati Safari Lodge, a home away from home!

Room Tip: The closer to the edge of the reserve the better for spotting monkeys and other wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Caz,

Thank you for your positive review on your stay with us. Sounds like you managed to have many experiences and make plenty of lifetime memories. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poconos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A wonderful place to experience the African bush. Although I was not prepared for the animals walking around, I quickly became used to it. The huts were very clean and hot water abundant. The meals were wonderful and staff could not do enough. Just remember to bring a flashlight, look out for the dung, and know there are no TVs, radios or Internet available. It was great being "unplugged" for a few days. The safari was fantastic, and our guide tried very hard for us to find lions. It was not to be but not due to the lack by our guide. I would highly recommend this Lodge.

Room Tip: All the huts are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi 'Mountains',
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We like to hear the fact you felt 'unplugged' for your stay, that is what the bush is about :) The team are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The best place on earth! The staff were all so friendly, the food was delicious and we had a fabulous game drive! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a bush getaway. Plus it is on a few KM from the Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hi Philippa,
Thank you for your reviewing your stay with us. Its great to hear you had an awesome game drive and the staff made you fell welcome. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place was absolutely fantastic. If you want a genuine safari bush experience, this is the place to go to and at such a great price.

Being able to wake up in your own lodge right on the edge of the Kruger National Park, in the middle of the lodge's own reserve, to monkeys, warthogs and wildebeest walking past your patio was incredible. The individual lodges dotted around the reserve are basic, but well fitted out with all you need, each has its own patio for you to relax on at night with a glass of wine, or if you dont fancy that the pool/bar area always had people you could go and mingle with.

The pool bar area is fantastic, with its own fire pit and a hidden entrance to a traditional African Boma, where a traditional braai (bbq) with african dancing is held during some nights of the week.

The food was incredible, real hearty SA grub and served by the most friendly staff who are willing to help you with anything you could want. Same can be said for the two barmen, ready to serve you with a local beer or glass of wine, and a story or two.

The couple who run this place really have put their whole lives into making it into the experience of a lifetime for all their guests. My friends and I felt so welcome, as if we were part of the Timbavati family.

Organising game drives in the Kruger National Park (only 20mins drive to one of the main gates) or in the Timbavati Game Reserve was so simple, just let the staff know when you want to go and they organise it all for you, including lunch or a sunset picnic in the park.

When I visited Timbavati, it was my first trip to SA, and first on and SA safari and it could not have gone better. It was everything I expected and more and would recommend anyone and everyone to visit Kruger and stay at Timbavati Safari Lodge...you wouldn't find a better, more genuine South African safari experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, General Manager at Timbavati Safari Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Kerrishh,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The team here take great pride in knowing we were able to make your first trip to South Africa such a memorable and well organized experience. We hope to see you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Address: Orpen Road (R531) | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timbavati Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.