We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to stay at Velmore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Velmore Hotel Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Velmore Hotel Estate to your Saves list
Velmore Hotel Estate
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   96 Main Road | Erasmia, Centurion 0023, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Happy to stay at Velmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I slept two nights being with my company on conference. Front desk staff was polite and helpful. Rooms were cozy and clean what is very important to me. WiFi in the room a bit poor but working although there was a very signal in the bar and lobby. Food was good, no problems there. It was a nice atmosphere in this beautiful estate with fountains and lights in the evening creating a lovely time I spent there. I can recommend hotel and conference facilties. I look forward to be back in October this year. Mark from Europe.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north facing warmer in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velmore, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your kind review. We will be sure to pass on all the thanks to the staff of the hotel. You will be glad to know that new systems are being installed and are almost completed that will enable.

We look forward to seeing you in October, travel safely.

Warm regards,

Velmore Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I came here for a conference with my company. The conference room was cold and sparse, no WiFi available (at a conference venue this is unforgivable), very few plug points for laptops. Toilet facilities did not work properly. Food was ok. Needs some maintenance/coat of paint. Fair drive from Joburg. Definitely not a good venue for conferences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velmore, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your conference. Velmore in the past suffered from multiple system failures due to lightning strikes and external factors such as ADSL going down due to cable theft... These issues have recently all been resolved and we are confident Velmore is well on the way to becoming one of Gauteng's premier events venues.

Warmest regards,

Velmore Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa Polookwane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The TV, sound system and booking system was not working due to a lightning strike, but its understandable. The TV worked again later in the evening.
Waited 30 minutes for a bottle of wine.
Small defects in rooms like toilet roll holder crashed down, bathtub plug did not work so I bathed in 2 cm water.
Water was luke-warm.
Breakfast served at 7h00, I had to beg someone to serve me. They were not ready. The hard eggs were soft, the 2 sausages were horrible (did not eat them), the toast was soggy and cold. I cannot believe I paid for that!
On the positive: Everyone (staff) tried to help where they could, seems there is NO management in the hotel.
The coffee was DIVINE!
The rooms are pretty and clean.
The fillet steak was good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velmore, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate the thorough review and have taken both the good and the bad to use as a scorecard in our management meetings and staff meetings.

You will be happy to hear that a complete lightning protection system has been installed, including lightning rods and surge protection units at all incoming power points, the excitment from our side is growing as we are busy with a complete technology overhaul that includes servers, point of sale systems, satelite dishes and PABX systems...

We are confident that we now have the correct stable platforms to ensure a flawless guest experience.

Warm regards,

Velmore Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had the misfortune to stay at this 'hotel' - Service was amateurish as waitrons were absolutely clueless as to what service protocol and presentation is (and they also looked grubby). Food at the restaurant was no better than boarding school fare and the serving area looked very unhygenic. The rooms, while spacious had seen better days and were tatty - broken lights, damaged walls, ran out of hot water in the shower (seriously!), and the balcony needed some serious attention for safety sake. TV channel selection was limited (3 public channels and 3 sports channels) and signal was fuzzy. Spa was also odd - had to sit in a public waiting area while waiting for a massage (which was good). Grounds also appeared unkept, with weeds growing through the paving etc etc. For the stars it proclaims to have, this hotel is in some serious need of attention, starting with hotel management !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velmore, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review, we have reviewed your comments and will be looking carefully at ways to improve our service to our valued customers.

Sincerely,

Velmore Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pros:
It was a very pleasant stay, comfortable bed, clean room and excellent conference venue. The area is picturesque, pool area and bonfire fantastic. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The Golf courses nearby look fantastic, and there is attention to detail.

Cons:
The load balancing wrt to water pressure needs to be addressed. We were not given a key card for the duration of the stay. The channels available varied from Room to Room. there was no lock on the bathroom door.The gym treadmill was broken, however most is made out of a small gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velmore Hotel Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velmore Hotel Estate

Address: 96 Main Road | Erasmia, Centurion 0023, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velmore Hotel Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velmore is ideally located between Pretoria and Johannesburg. This luxury hotel has a tranquil country setting that borders the Hennops River and offers views of the Magaliesberg Mountains. Its unique architecture is nostalgically inspired by traditional French Provence, and the layout of buildings over the expansive landscape creates a sense of space and serenity. After the sun sets, the ambiance transforms into one of magic and romance with its atmospheric lighting, elegant archways, fine dining and exquisite décor. The hotel can cater to large corporate events, product launches and stage shows, weddings and celebrations - no event is too big or small. Velmore offers the perfect weekend getaway close enough for convenience, but far enough to escape. The hotel prides itself on its elegant accommodation, attention to detail, service that matters and exceptional culinary experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Velmore Hotel Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velmore Hotel Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.