We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but hectic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primi Piatti

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Primi Piatti
Shop 102A, Irene Village Mall | Corner Nellmapius & Pierre van Ryneveld Street, Centurion, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 74 restaurants in Centurion
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value but hectic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Good service, generous portions, looks out over the Monte Casino small square. Spoiled by the large sport TV screen on the other side. But a good place for a pre-theatre snack.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    1
    2
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A great Italian style meal can be enjoyed and Primi Piatti - Irene Mall outlet. The service is prompt and friendly too.

Make sure that you arrive very hungry as the portions served up are really generous.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been visiting Primi lots of times-best manager ever was Flloyd and his Awake team!!!
However management changed it looks like the standard changed as well as the waiters attitude. Normally in winter would pop in for soup and ciabatta, not on our last visists were we have been told NO soup. Then we ordered the chicken livers with ciabatta, there was no ciabatta-was served with ouse bread and when we commented and asked about the ciabatta the waiter went stone deaf. Needless to say we never seen the waiter nor manager untill we had to jump up and down like mad people to get the attention of somebody to get our bill.
Nobody asked why we did not eat the livers or what was wrong....what a dissappiontment. Take it off the menu or put out of stock so you can see when you look at menu they have nothing you came for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Putting the Primi Piatti name to shame”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've visited Primi Piatti in Irene Village Mall regularly over the past year or so and although they have one or two really good items on their menu (most notably the seared fillet and the chocolate milkshake), have left disappointed more often than not. After my last visit in August 2012, I in fact decided never to go there again.

Chief compliments: The chocolate milkshake is absolutely divine. The seared fillet (even if it isn't really seared) is pretty damn good too. And the decor is quite funky.

Chief complaints: A long list, but principally service, noise, smoking, and food preparation.

Service: Ranges from almost acceptable to pathetic, depending on which waiter you get. Our last visit (which I'll focus on in this review) was unfortunately closer to the latter end of the scale. Amongst other things we were told that the starter we wanted to order (some variant of pizza bread with dip) was not available because the appropriate size pizza base wasn't available. When we asked if they had other size pizza bases available, the waiter said that they did, but he didn't know if they could use this. We eventually convinced him, but it took quite an effort and he had to go consult the manager as well (who by the way remained in some back room the entire time and didn't come out to deal with us personally when our waiter had this query). Then on the mains, we got a piece of chicken on a vegetarian pizza, which again was not enough to get any attention from the manager. On this visit there were about as many waiters as patrons, yet we were ignored for long periods when we could have done with new drinks or getting an order in.

Noise: Terrible acoustics. Even when only about half the tables are occupied it becomes next to impossible to hear anyone other than the person sitting right next to you. This wasn't really a problem on our last visit as the place was practically empty, but definitely an issue if it's even slightly busy.

Smoking: They have large doors that open to an outside area where smoking is allowed (I'm not sure if smoking is allowed in the whole outside area or only some part of it as we usually elect to sit inside), but the smoke does come inside and can be quite irritating and is something we've unfortunately noticed on every visit.

Food preparation: I don't think they really know how to sear something despite the fact that this term is used quite liberally on their menu. On two of the last three occasions that we were there my girlfriend ordered seared salmon only to be presented with horribly overcooked fish that I suspect was actually oven-grilled. We complained about it the first time only to be met with the excuse that it was a new menu item and the kitchen had got it wrong (we didn't have time to give them another opportunity as we needed to get to a movie, so she ended up just having the table salad we had ordered). Unfortunately when we went back a few weeks later (our second to last visit), they were still doing seared salmon wrong. I don't know how she knows, but my GF also claims that it wasn't Norwegian salmon as advertised on the menu, but Cape salmon (she's somewhat of a salmon connoisseur though, so I'll accept her word for it). The same goes for the seared fillet (my regular order), which is nothing but a regular grilled fillet, but if you ask for medium-rare it's still pretty good! Now technically I understand there is a thin line between grilled and seared, but these guys are definitely well on the wrong side of that line to be calling it seared. Then on our last visit, my girlfriend (a pescetarian) found a piece of chicken on her vegetarian pizza (see comment on service above).

We're not going back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service, great food and nice setting. The waiter was friendly and i was very surprised that he knew about 8 menu specials off the top of his head.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primi Piatti also viewed

 
Centurion, Gauteng
 

Been to Primi Piatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primi Piatti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.