We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Irene Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Irene Country Lodge to your Saves list
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nellmapius Drive | Irene Village, Centurion 0062, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Serenity!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a nightflight from Amsterdam to Joburg we ended up in this awesome hotel. We were very early but could check-in directly and also got an upgrade as it was our first time with them. We had a blast. The hotel was outstretched and had all the facilities we needed. Most importantly: relaxation, friendly staff, the kitchenchef knew what we wanted to have for breakfast after 1 time, the location is supurb (near the airport, but not in Joburg). It was great!

Room Tip: Take a forestlodge, when you walk on your terrace, you directly are surrounded with nature!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APIreneCountryLodge, Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr Manu

Dear Mr Manu

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at our beautiful property, African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our friendly STAFF, breakfast service and kitchen STAFF. It is always a pleasure to meet and exceed our GUEST’S expectations. We will most definitely share your feedback with the TEAM.

We look forward to welcome you back for your next visit.

Kind Regards,
African Pride Irene Country Lodge TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
53
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful place but atrocious service. Went with visiting family from overseas family for afternoon tea and scones, waited 40 minutes and did not get any drinks or scones. Chaotic service. Left with parched children. Visited place many times as it is beautiful but service seems to get steadily worse.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APIreneCountryLodge, Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mrs Farro

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent visit to African Pride Irene Country Lodge. The TEAM appreciates your feedback to assist us in constantly improving our service delivery.

We profusely apologize for not living up to your expectations and your disappointing visit.

If you could be so kind as to forward us your contact details and we would be more than willing to discuss your feedback with you personally.

Kind Regards,
Vorster Venter
dm@irenecountrylodge.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villarrobledo, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

It is a lovely place, surrounded by a marvelous landscape. It has a nice SPA with a very good massage and thermal facilities

Although having a car is a must if you want to get out of the hotel. Plus... having the farm so close is also an advantage

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APIreneCountryLodge, Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely comments about recent visit to our beautiful property.

We wish all GUESTS to experience the tranquil environment that we try to create at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

We will share your feedback with the TEAM.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northcliff, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We recently spent a weekend at the Irene Country Lodge. It is so relaxing and peaceful that all one needs to do is relax. Ask for a room overlooking the dam and the sunsets are spectacular. There is complimentary bottled water for the guests throughout their stay. The rooms are nice and big and furnishings good. The staff are friendly and very helpful. There is a spa where one can relax. Two negatives are that the service at the outside tables overlooking the dam can be slow and our visit to the Irene Dairy Farm across the road early on a Monday morning - they had not had time to replenish their stocks yet so we left disappointed. Smuts House and the Rietvlei dam are close and worth a visit. There is also a lovely craft market in Irene but only on specified weekends. A negative to this though is the long traffic jam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where there is no one above you and it must have a view of the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APIreneCountryLodge, Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely comments about recent visit to our beautiful property.

We recently concluded a room refurbishment project and an Aircon upgrade project to improve on our GUEST experience at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

Thank you for bringing the slow service at our Lakeside area to our attention. We are currently implementing new back of house systems and revising the sequence of service to ensure each GUEST at our property receives the five star service that we live up to.

We are looking forward for your next visit to show you that we exceed on all levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Excellent! Service was wonderful. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The Spa is terrific. The room was large and comfortable. And private. A nice balcony looking out on the forest. Quite. Peaceful. Dinner prices were very reasonable. Had a nice conversation with the operations manager. A lot of remodeling and improvements. You won't go wrong at this place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 600 block are very secluded, quite and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

This was my first time in SA and what a great experience we had staying at the Irene Country Lodge. After a long two days of flying it was a pleasure to arrive at the lodge. We arrived before check in time and the staff was able to let us in our rooms early. We immediately went to have massages and a facial. After we sat at around the pool restaurant and enjoyed a lovely lunch.
Our room was very spacious with a balcony up to date bathrooms with a large tub and large shower. A/C worked very well . The Cambodee Spa was excellent and reasonable prices compared to the USA. We had dinner at the main restaurant several nights and the food was very good and reasonable. Even though you were just outside the city it was very quiet and serene.I would definitely recommend this place. I found out later that it is a Marriott property and was recently renovated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two story units which are surrounded by trees. Our friends stayed in the hotel uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Exceptionally beautiful hotell and surroundings. Huge bedroom and bathroom, much bigger than a lot of hotel bedrooms, equipped with bath and separate shower. Quiet air conditioning and patio door opening onto lawn with chairs and table with lake view. Buffet evening meal with lots of choice for less than £30 including tips for the two of us.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Irene Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Irene Country Lodge

Address: Nellmapius Drive | Irene Village, Centurion 0062, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Irene Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something to be said for an oasis situated within the heart of Gauteng, South Africa’s Economic Capital. The historical village of Irene, Centurion is known for the long and winding oak-lined country lane where cows graze in green pastures, you will arrive at a haven of peace and tranquillity. With lakeside views to rival most paintings, African Pride Irene Country Lodge is a luxurious upmarket hotel, which boasts spacious opulent rooms, fine dining restaurants, conference, function and wedding venues, and also boasts an upmarket day spa called Camdeboo Day Spa. Being in a peaceful setting does not indicate a lack of activities. Venture out and visit the nearby Irene Dairy Farm, Flea market or Smuts House Museum. Take it a step further and strap on you hiking gear. Explore the Hennops River hiking trail or the variety of wildlife in the Zwartkops Nature Reserve. Come and spend your getaway with African Pride Irene Country Lodge, where world charm meets modern day convenience in a breath-taking country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your African Pride Irene Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Irene Country Hotel Irene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Irene Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.