We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip - extended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Pride Irene Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added African Pride Irene Country Lodge to your Saves list
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nellmapius Drive | Irene Village, Centurion 0062, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Trip - extended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although off the commercial spaces, it is one of the good locations possible for a hotel in a city! all the rooms seem to be facing the beautiful lake and it is so relaxing. good lake view restaurant and a place to relax your nerves. Nice and warm staff, good and spacious rooms with most of the facilities, stayed for a good 05 days!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenecountrylodge, Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear SrivatsG,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

Our guest rooms are indeed double the size of your average hotel room today. Add to that the beautiful view of the lake and we believe we have created a tranquil environment that is relaxing to body, mind and soul.

We trust to see you soon in the not to distant future. Safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Amalia Boshoff
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
48
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Global
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Simply put, the lake and sunset with bird life makes the difference.
Rooms are good. Nothing special.
Restaurant is good. Buffet can get a bit monotonous.
Staff is excellent. Make you feel as part of family.
I stayed there 6 weeks straight.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the 300 series rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed at this hotel for a night – en route from Johannesburg to Kruger. Unfortunately ….. because we really loved it. At first we thought it was a bit isolated, geographically, but it was really difficult to fault. Lovely reception, and public areas, helpful staff, great rooms – ours was on the first floor with a nice view of the lake). The grounds are really nice, lovely large lake with plenty of local small wildlife to see in the evenings as well as early morning.

The highlight of our stay was a drink outside in the lovely bar area. We benefited from a lightning storm which really lit up the sky and was very exciting. We had a meal in the restaurant – a buffet. We generally hate buffet style, but have to say this was a really good meal, well presented and very tasty. A big choice, especially considering this is not a huge hotel. Breakfast also really lovely and having the opportunity to sit outside as well was terrific.
Unfortunately we were not there long enough to check out any of the other hotel facilities, but one day we’d love to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

In the midst of a hectic business trip, this was a surprising and welcome respite. The staff were helpful with a number of logistical matters. The setting is very peaceful and the food and rooms excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenecountrylodge, General Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Clairedog,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your experience at African Pride Irene Country Lodge. We are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future for yet another pleasant experience, please feel free to follow us on Facebook or Twitter to stay up to date on our current promotions and special offers.

Thank you and kind regards
Luke Sacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We recently stayed a Sat evening at this venue. Whilst the room (Superior Double) was very nice and the cleaning staff very friendly and efficient. I do have some negatives which left a bad taste in my mouth. Our accommodation was booked on a DBB basis. The Dinner was a buffet, when we arrived at 8pm (which is not late even in SA terms). The food on the buffet was either dry looking or finished. I asked about the sushi, where and when it was made. I was told by one of the chefs that it was source offsite and delivered that morning. Anyone who eats sushi will know that its meant to be prepared just before eating, not 12 hrs before and left to the elements. The second item was Oysters, clearly shucked sometime during the day also, as they were milky. Anyone attempting them would enjoy and unpleasant evening on the loo. In general the food and beverage staff, with one exception, were not helpful or friendly. Its like they were doing us a huge favour when asking for anything or asking a question about food. The hotel restaurant drags this hotel into the mud. I spoke with the duty manager on the Sunday morning, she was attentive, apologised and thanked us for the constructive feedback, saying she would follow up with hotel management and get back to me (I'm still waiting 3 weeks later).
Unfortunately, the sage didnt end there. We had booked a massage at the hotel Spa (at the same time we made the hotel booking) for 10h30 Sunday morning. When arrived on time, to be promptly and apologetically told we dont have a booking and that they could not accommodate us at all. This put the cherry on the cake for me. I can accept a few misgivings and errors, but this put me over the edge. To the credit of the Spa manager (Carmenetta sp?), she did phone me a couple of days later to apologies and offer us a free massage, which I gracefully declined, but I thank her for her customer service all the same.
As far as the hotel is concerned, I still await feedback which is a poor show from a 5 star (i believe) establishment.
Will I return and spend my hard earned cash there again? Simply NO!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenecountrylodge, General Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Zareeba1,

We thank you for your valued feedback regarding your experience at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

We apologize for the delay in response while we were conducting a full investigation into the matter.

Please note that we offer the extravaganza buffet which incorporates over 50 menu items. The hotel caters for the bookings confirmed and we on occasion interchange menu items throughout the evening .Our procurement company - ensures that the Hotel purchases all products through only approved reputable suppliers, as well as audits the delivery and intake process of items to production. Numerous products sourced locally are purchased in limited volume to ensure daily freshness.

The Hotel also subscribes to best practice in relation to exterior auditing through the services of Food consulting services (FCS). This exterior independent company audits the Kitchen Hygiene and Kitchen process to ensure best practise.

Carmenita Pedro was tasked to make contact with yourself as one of our executive team members. We are pleased that she has offered you the opportunity to return with the complimentary offer.

We can only assure you that we will remain dedicated to ensuring our business success and striving for service excellence, and I thank you for the constructive feedback. We hope to retain your custom and apologise for the shortcomings .We truly hope to welcome you back to the property.


Kind Regards,
Luke Sacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a trip out to Irene on Sunday with our Harleys and some friends. Had the buffet breakfast and can only compliment the hotel, as this was a very relaxing environment, breakfast was superb and everyone enjoyed the outing. Thanks to the staff and will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hotel is lovely, service very good, rooms spacious and clean, lake-view very pleasant. Perfect for quiet weekend break!
Warning: I booked and paid on Agoda but hotel insisted on being paid on check-out. It took weeks to get a refund from Agoda!! (and I got caught with the currency charges).

Room Tip: The suites are very nice but I would suggest getting one away from families if you are on your own o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Pride Irene Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Irene Country Lodge

Address: Nellmapius Drive | Irene Village, Centurion 0062, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Irene Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something to be said for an oasis situated within the heart of Gauteng, South Africa’s Economic Capital. The historical village of Irene, Centurion is known for the long and winding oak-lined country lane where cows graze in green pastures, you will arrive at a haven of peace and tranquillity. With lakeside views to rival most paintings, African Pride Irene Country Lodge is a luxurious upmarket hotel, which boasts spacious opulent rooms, fine dining restaurants, conference, function and wedding venues, and also boasts an upmarket day spa called Camdeboo Day Spa. Being in a peaceful setting does not indicate a lack of activities. Venture out and visit the nearby Irene Dairy Farm, Flea market or Smuts House Museum. Take it a step further and strap on you hiking gear. Explore the Hennops River hiking trail or the variety of wildlife in the Zwartkops Nature Reserve. Come and spend your getaway with African Pride Irene Country Lodge, where world charm meets modern day convenience in a breath-taking country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your African Pride Irene Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Irene Country Hotel Irene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Pride Irene Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.