We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A precious little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunkelly

Dunkelly
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Centurion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunkelly
Save
You added Dunkelly to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43 Arnold Road, Centurion 0062, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 61 Centurion B&B and Inns
The Hague
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A precious little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent about a week at Dunkelly while visiting family in Gauteng. Dunkelly is situated in a lovely area with lush green gardens. Its next to Irene Farm. We had the apartment. One spacious bedroom, a nice living room (with two optional beds), a good bathroom and pretty OK kitchen. The gardens are lovely and there is a swimming pool and a braai.

The owner is a lovely lady who is very helpful.

For the kids there was enough space to play. The pool was covered and the kids could run about safely. The place gave us the privacy and rest we needed that week.

Dunkelly is a comfortable oasis in the center of Centurion. It is pretty, non-assuming and very convenient.

We will certainly come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Situated in a quiet lane, Dunkelly is a peaceful and elegant B&B with beautiful gardens and amazing bird life. The apartment is comfortable and tastefully furnished and has a very comfortable bed! Has a lovely hot, strong shower, as well as all you could need in the kitchenette area. I loved the pool and the outdoor decking area nearby for sundowners. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at dunkelly.it was so peaceful.its double apartment is so intimate,clean and so beautiful. The rooms are so clean,the garden is a beauty.I have no complaints..:-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

I have been a regular returning guest at Dunkelly B & B when on business trips in Johannesburg. The gardens on the property, as well as the lovely rooms (and pool!) make it a stunning and quiet escape whilst being only a short trip from the hustle and bustle of the big city. The owner has always accommodated my and my partners needs, even on such short notice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunkelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkelly

Address: 43 Arnold Road, Centurion 0062, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunkelly 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Midrand and Pretoria in quaint, picturesque and secure Irene, a country village steeped in history and surrounded by nature. Irene offers a surprisingly rustic interlude in the middle of the country’s urban heartland. We offer private garden-suite accommodation for self-catering or B&B. Bird paradise; landscaped garden; secure parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunkelly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.