We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quite place in a quite area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenlea Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Centurion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenlea Guest House
Save
You added Greenlea Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   42 King Street | Irene, Centurion 0157, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 61 Centurion B&B and Inns
Linköping, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A quite place in a quite area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I like this guesthouse, it's placed in the quite area of Irene in Centurion. Yes, you need a car to get around, but that's valid for 95% of all places in SA. And it's close to the main highway ( N1, N14, N4, R21), so it's easy to get around. The room was great ( a balcony had been a bonus). But you can sit and relax in the garden! The breakfast was the thing i wasn't happy with, I think you could expect a bit more variety from such a up-end place. The wifi worked fine thou!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Greenlea! We aim to please our guests with warm, friendly service and facilities to match. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    13
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
10
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My experience at Greenlea Guest house was rather unpleasant , very noisy experience day and night. The breakfasts also was very disappointing for a four star Guest House rating. The rooms were comfortable , but no bath, so when booking please ask whether there are rooms with baths.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please keep in mind that our luxury rooms have baths and are away from the hustle and bustle of an operating owner run guest house. We appreciate your comments and will take it on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's a good place to get some work done after work, as it is very quiet and provides a decent internet connection. Furthermore, the host is very friendly and helpful and always up for a chat. After a few days it felt like a home away from home. For our next trips we will stay again at Greenlea, as it is ideal for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Greenlea! Our aim is to make all guests feel at home and comfortable. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my short stay at this place. I travel to Centurion quite a bit and I know where I will be heading when I am in town. The room is very generous with its courtesy bar fridge, fold away work area and refreshment station. Lovely comfortable bed for a good nights sleep and huge bath and shower cubicle.
The breakfast service could be improved. With the kitchen area being removed from the breakfast area I was not able to request some small things without shouting for someone downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and positive feedback. We are looking forward to your next visit and will be sure to take suggestions into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really friendly family run outfit. Enjoyed my stay and will not hesitate to return on my next visit to Pretoria. Helped me whenever I needed it without looking like they are being put out. Great coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and for the positive feedback. It is our mission to please our guests and no request will "put us out" or be too much effort. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived at Greenlea after a long drive up from Port Elizabeth, and easily found the place with directions supplied.
Our first impressions were extremely favourable - An enormous, beautiful and tranquil mature garden with pool, a trampoline and a jungle gym with tree house for our two young girls to clamber on. We felt like we were in the countryside. The room was also top class . We had a room with private bathroom and terrace in the annexe away from the main house - an antique teak 4 poster bed for us, and Marianne arranged a spare bed and mattress for our two daughters in the same room. All of us slept extremely well. The room had a well stocked mini bar, a decent sized flat screen with satellite to watch the rugby and view straight out onto the garden to watch the children play - what more could one want?(Actually the free WiFi was a bonus as well!) There is a well equipped shared kitchen in the annexe and facilities to braii / have a big fire in a charming Boma in the garden if one wishes . A nice touch is also the take out menu provided which delivers from a variety of local restaurants if one is feeling lazy.
We took advantage of the breakfast the 2 days whilst we stayed - Nicely presented and served with a smile in the main house dining area. It was perfect for what we wanted - seasonal fresh fruit salad, a choice of several cereals and yogurts with unlimited tea and coffee, followed by bacon or sausage with eggs and toast.
The hosts themselves, Bruce and Marianne, couldn t have been more helpful in tips for local restaurants/things to do, or more accommodating in helping out where possible (eg we were granted a late check out at the last minute with no fuss when our departing flight time was changed for example) .
All in all a great experience.
Pros - Large well equipped rooms and bathrooms - all tastefully decorated yet modern, good cooking facilities if required, nice breakfast, the neighbourhood and villa are very secure, good privacy, charming hosts and the amazing garden/play area. Plenty of parking inside the complex. The photos on the website don t do justice to the surroundings.
Cons - Couldnt stay longer.

Room Tip: We only saw our room at the far end of the property from the main house but couldn t have asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Greenlea! We aim to please our guests with warm, friendly service and facilities to match. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

As an international traveller, I was delighted to arrive at Greenlea and I couldn't have been more happier. From my greeting, to the gorgeous grounds and ambience, and a very comfortable and relaxing room, I felt immediately at ease and relaxed. I enjoyed the service, the ability to rest and even the chance to work (at odd hours due to time zones) and the privacy to do so. I thoroughly recommend Greenlea for any overseas visitor!

Room Tip: Ask for the front cottage area in the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarianneRichards, Owner at Greenlea Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlea Guest House

Address: 42 King Street | Irene, Centurion 0157, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Centurion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenlea Guesthouse eco-friendly accommodation offers a true "country escape" within the city. Eight beautifully furnished en-suite bedrooms overlook tree-tops and an abundance of bird-life. The guest house also has a conference venue/ executive meeting facility for a maximum of 10 delegates. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenlea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.