We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service a bit slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olive and Oil - Ballito - CLOSED

Olive and Oil - Ballito
Main Road | Ballito Lifestyle Centre, Shop 49, Ballito 4390, South Africa
032 586 0177
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, service a bit slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

For lunch on a hot day of the summer holidays, Olive and Oil had plenty of spare tables so we decided to give them a try. The ambience is cool and clean so it is pleasant environment away from the heat of summer. The menu has quite a lot of seafood but we opted for pizza and a chicken dish at cheaper prices. Our orders were taken promptly but service from the kitchen was slow. At least the waiter acknowledged that we were still waiting by coming to the table to apologise. Note sure why it took about half an hour for the food to arrive because the restaurant was quiet. The food was tasty and good quality, so the memory of the wait faded as we tucked into the fare.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    13
    9
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Didn't even eat!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 20:00 and by 21:00 after promises that our table would be ready in 5 minutes on 10 occasions we left. The owner was rude and unapologetic. He told us that if we not willing to wait we must go and this is what we did. There were at least 20 other people withy he same problem as us last night. Don't even book here. No food is worth this wait and rude service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What Service?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good Food ruined by bad Service. We were told that the wait would be 20 minutes for a table, this turned intros an hour and a half wait with regular promises that they were busy setting the table for us.
We asked the manageress if we could have plain rice for my daughter and a takeaway focaccia at the end of the meal - both would not be a problem. By the time we had finished eating they had worked out that plain rice would be impossible and that takeaway food is against their policy. Btw my daughter isn't fusy, just spent two days vomiting from the bug that is flying around Ballito at the moment so plain food is important, so the obligatory option of a free dessert was not appealing which left the manageress stumped. They couldn't even find the right bill for our table. Try this restaurant out of season when they can probably cope with the number of people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disorginised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We ate here and they had no stock of the pizza toppings, service was poor. Our pizza came out the oven yellow as they used the wrong cheese. I would expect more considering it was the festive season.
Atmostphere waa nice and had a cool breese so would have been nice if they knew how to make a decent meal.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We usually eat at the Olive and Oil in Umhlanga and we were delighted with the food and service from the Balito branch. The manager went as far as to organise a particular dish fo me that had been taken off their menu about four years ago.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive and Oil - Ballito also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive and Oil - Ballito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.