We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crawdaddy's - CLOSED

Crawdaddy's
16 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito, South Africa
032 946 1858
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food was well prepared, but not very original or true to the southern tastes advertised. It is a franchise restaurant as well, as it looked a little kitsch. My seafood chowder was average, my partner's jalapeno steak was a little better. Good vibe, quiet.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

a kilo of prawns...wow... went there for lunch while staying a few nights in Ballito...only picked it on a whim, but happy we did...excellent fresh seafood choices and pretty resonable prices. Other equally impresive dishes (from looking at other table, lol). Lots of options for daily specials...and we had a table that looked out over the ocean...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dinner on two occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the best meal we had in Ballito, the quality of the food was excellent plus the location, the service was a big plus, with all our orders exactly as requested and the Food was hot, unlike other Restaurants in the area. The Manager also took time to visit our table and had a chat on how and where we came from, a nice touch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
“thanx to vannessa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

the food is just too good to be true
atmosphere is lovely
and the waitress was amazing
and a big thank u to the chef,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible will never go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The place looks good from the outside as well as the inside however the service is shocking... Menu has so much on it even Gorden Ramsy would have a heart attack...... Prices are very high.. We did not even get to eat as the service was so shocking. Our waitron suggested we go to another place to reather eat.... They take forever to bring your drinks.... Will never go back there again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crawdaddy's also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crawdaddy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.