We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Beach Bar and Grill

Galley Beach Bar and Grill
17 Compensation Beach Rd | Dolphin Coast, Ballito 4420, South Africa
+27 32 946 2546
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 57 Restaurants in Ballito
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Family Fare, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated Right on The Beach.Specialising in relaxed Seafood dining.The Galley offers spectacular views of the ocean. Boasting 2 outdoor decks where one can sit and watch the dolphins go by whilst sipping on cocktails and eating wild KZN rock oysters , or for more formal dining sit in our main dining room with ocean views from every table .For the young at heart try our Long Board Oyster & Cocktail bar with juke box & large screen TVs. We are child friendly with a kiddies menu and play area & also pet friendly on our outside decks with a Canine Cuisine menu for our four legged friends. We are not a fast food Restaurant but a laid back Island Style Beach Restaurant where one comes to Relax and Enjoy the views of the Ocean whilst savouring some of The Best Seafood on The Beach.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

1st restaurant we went to when we got to Ballito. Good place to get the feel of the ocean being from Joahannesburg. The wall decor is unique. Wonderful cocktail menu.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    52
    15
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great position, great pies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The first time we went here was a lunchtime. The place was bustling. We had some of the pies, which were enormous! But be warned they take a while to cook! The food was very good, as were the cocktails and we sat and watched the ocean, even catching a glimpse of a pod of dolphins! The service was efficient and friendly and I would definitely recommend this place as the best place to eat in Ballito!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks our pies are freshly made to order, hence the wait.Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner, too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We arrived at 11.30am for a coffee and cake having driven up to Ballito. Hubby wondered if we were too late for breakfast as we were given the lunch menu. Our waiter went to ask in the kitchen and came back with the breakfast menus. Well prepared breakfast and coffee duly supplied to weary travellers. The view from the terraced (enclosed in winter with a separate smokers area still outside) was great with huge waves rolling in on a spring tide andlenty of shipping out at sea.

Having seen the menu we came back later in the week for dinner. A relatively varied menu. We shared a plate of antipasta which came with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and four small strips of focaccia. Therein lay a major disappointment for a European visitor - no bread. Hubby asked the waiter who came back with triangles of supermarket sliced bread. When we explained our disappointment we were given some more focaccia strips but still not quite right IMO. Olive oil and balsamic need a more absorbent bread such as ciabatta.

After a longer than expected wait (and I am not an impatient diner when my food is being cooked inividually to order) my fillet arrived. With no sauce to spoil the taste, it was cooked to perfection. They obviously know their stuff. The rest of the party enjoyed their fish dishes and my daughter was very happy with here pasta bolognaise.

Desserts were good. Daughter's only criticism was that the tiramisu could have benefitted from a little more alcohol in the base! My creme brûlée was crisp on top and creamy underneath, just right and the panna cotta had a wonderful taste and texture. Served with good coffee. A great end to the meal.

The restaurant is quiet and low key which suits me. I like to enjoy my meal chatting quietly without being overshadowed by music or kids running around. All in all, I would go back but next time I would take my own bread!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“what a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely friendly staff awesome view. very relaxing atmosphere. prices are very reasonable. The view is awesome. Locals are supporting the venue in big numbers whish is always a good sign.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesea, South Africa
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“CULINARY GATEWAY TO BALLITO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The four of us planned our annual KZN reunion for two nights in Ballito. Since the drive up from Durban was a breeze we planned to get to The Galley for lunch before going to the hotel. Smart move!!! The weather was perfect to sit above the beach and Indian Ocean so we were in! The setting, service, food and wine were up to standard. As hoped lunch at The Galley before checking into the hotel was the right choice. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley B, Owner at Galley Beach Bar and Grill, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you hope the reunion went well and that we will see you for the next one. Mark & Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Beach Bar and Grill also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Galley Beach Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Beach Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.