We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vetho House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vetho House to your Saves list
Vetho House
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   10 Edward Place, Ballito 4420, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Kempsey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“On The Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Friendly welcome host and couldn't do enough for us during our overnight stay. We arrived late from the airport and he called the nearby restaurant to make a booking and walked us up and introduced us to the owner. It was a great recommendation and we were looked after superbly.
Our room faced the ocean for the lovely sunrise. There is a lovely walked along the shoreline and the breakfast was very tasteful and plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moffat Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The standard of accommodation, the food, the helpfulness of the staff..... nothing could have been better. whether for a night or for a week or longer stay , you will struggle to find somewhere better. we would love to return

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views so you can't lose
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vetho_Apartments, Guest Relations Manager at Vetho House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience at Vetho House with us and the Tripadvisor community.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you had such a good experience. We would be honoured to welcome you back to Vetho House.

Warm regards

Cuthu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottmingen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

o.k., the size of the room was not exciting, but it was very tastefully decorated, the bathroom was perfect (included a twin shower), and the balcony overlooking the promenade was just great (you are maybe 30m away from the sea). In addition there is a nice public living room with a large terrace on the first floor - beautiful. The service was extremely friendly, very personal and covered everything you can think of, and the whole place was very clean and beautifully maintained. The place itself is absolutely secure (including parking), the surrounding area not. Breakfast could have been a little bit richer, but was o.k.
There is a pretty good seafood restaurant right around the corner (50 m distance, you don't need the car).

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor. There is no elevator, but the view is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vetho_Apartments, Guest Relations Manager at Vetho House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Rudolf L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience at Vetho House with us and the tripadvisor travelling community. We appreciate the compliment regarding the interior design, lounge, maintenance and cleanliness of Vetho House. We have been working tirelessly to ensure that the quality and standard is of a satisactory level, so it is really welcome.
We are also glad to hear that you had a good reception and felt welcome at Vetho House. We will endeavour to ensure that this standard is mantained and possibly exceeded the next ime you visit Vetho House.

We hope to welcome you back to Vetho House soon.

Warm regards

Cuthu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Despite the New Years chaos in the surrounding area, the hotel was great. Amazing service by the staff, especially Wilson who did everything we could have asked for.. including changing a tyre, finding us a place to eat on new years day, etc.
Rooms were great- modern and comfy beds, strong wifi signal all over the hotel, very secure place. Good location; on the beach, far enough from the busy apartment areas, and next to some decent restaurants for lunch. Breakfast was nice especially the coffee.
Can't recommend this place enough- unsure what the slightly negative reviews are about!

Room Tip: upstairs has a sea view; downstairs has a pool view and a nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vetho_Apartments, Guest Relations Manager at Vetho House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Rosie M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review relating your experience at Vetho House.
We are happy that you received an excellent reception from our manager. We are also glad that he is the reason that you had a formidable stay at Vetho House.
We appreciate the positive feedback and will endeavour to superceed the level of service you received the next time you visit us.

Warm regards

Cuthu
Vetho Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hluhluwe, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice beachfront location, close to some restaurants & bars. Average sized room, in our (captains / honeymoon room) case with whirlpool, separate shower, toilet and sink. Room rate was above average and not value for money. General maintenance was average and can use some attention, corroded balcony railings, damaged balcony chairs, extremely moist smell in the room due to a big leak that had been there for quite a while (the water had left its marks on the floor and wood) The service was personal and friendly but it missed the x-factor..... Breakfast was ok, coffee was very good.

All in all an average stay, and due to the leak in our room not the experience we hoped for, certainly not worth the money we paid for the room.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, this will give you sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vetho_Apartments, Guest Relations Manager at Vetho House, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear WildebeesEcolodge,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Vetho House.
Thank you also for the constructive criticism and giving us the opportunity to focus more energies in areas where we fell short whilst staying at Vetho House.

We have since had a plumbing specialist come in to the establishment and had to close the room for renovations. The leak was attended to and all appears to be in working order.
Regrettably, the Ballito area is extremely humid and maintenence is an issue which we are faced with on the daily. We have furniture changed every two years or as necessary and have balcony railings coated in protective coating on a weekly basis but unfortunately the climate renders us at a disadvantage.

We do however appreciate you pointing these issues out and I would lke to let you know that we are constantly looking at ways improve maintenance and find new technologies to protect the establishemnt from the high rate of wear and tear.

Warm regards

Cuthu
Vetho Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Little guesthouse with 8 modern rooms on 2 floors. Very personal service. Secure parking.
Perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vetho House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vetho House

Address: 10 Edward Place, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vetho House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vetho House is a charming beach front getaway nestled in Ballito along the famous dolphin coast of Kwa Zulu- Natal. Vetho House rooms each open onto a private balcony which boasts unobstructed sea views; allowing our guests the opportunity to enjoy the unforgettable experience of watching dolphins play and feed along the shores. Vetho House offers exceptional comfort and class in our individually decorated luxury rooms which are serviced daily. Vetho House provides perfect accommodation for holiday makers and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Vetho House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vetho House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.