We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know better by now” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Montagne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Montagne to your Saves list
La Montagne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Hluhluwe, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Know better by now”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed about 7 times at La Montagne. Tried to book by email but got no reply so we phoned to make a booking. We asked for a 2 person studio at the sea side but not on ground level. We got a sea side studio on ground level...
When we arrived we finally got an email telling us La Montagne was fully booked.
The electric stove could not be turned out, only with the main switch under the kitchen sink.
TV channels are very limited.
The place looks nice, very friendly staff but the rooms are very small and over priced. We paid R 1487 per night for the tiny studio. A few days later we were back at Ballito and stayed at a place called Ballito Sands, almost next door to La Montagne. A very nice 3 sleeping room apartment with sitting room, big kitchen, nice furniture for R 1200 per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a beautiful and accommodating hotel and resort. There is so much that this hotel offers and the view of the sea from the room is wonderful. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food style is perfect and very well prepared.

The rooms were a little bit pricey for the size but all things considered it was fantastic and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: the top floor rooms make for a tough walk from the beach but the views counter for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Friendly staff and good food. Great entertainment for the kids. And best of all, the sea views....
Spent most of the morning on the beach and then lunch at the pool side, while watching the kids have a ball.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We love our little studio at La Montagne. We have been going each year since 1999. We are taking along a number of things to make the most of our holiday; such as a plunger for coffee; decent size mugs; a large umbrella for the patio; comfortable folding chairs; iPod and player to listen to music (we switch the TV off); and a camping cupboard for sufficient space for our clothes.
We make a point of visiting the Barnyard at Gateway and to see the Adult Pantomime at the Suncoast Casino. As usual, both were very good this year.

Room Tip: Level 1 is marvellous at the promenade level; however, vendors and beggars may cause a nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's a large hotel about 2 km from Ballitos small centre . We didn't actually stay in the end but I looked at a couple of rooms. It's right on the ocean front and both rooms I looked at had sea view but none have a private balcony- you share with 2 other rooms. The rooms were quite small, seemed clean but a little worn. The layout of the hotel was strange - we took a lift to the second floor and walked along a corridor which was semi outside- there was exposed brick work with some plants but which had me thinking of an underground car park. The hotel seemed to have a few bars and pool and at R1400 was cheaper than other beachfront options in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

went for the weekend ... found it pricey and hardly had a sea view witch was disappointing
the room we stayed in was out dated .... so ya .. but the hotle was looking good bar was great the grounds looks clean and pool looked awsome

Room Tip: ask for sea view that why u go to ballito to see the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spend a week every year at La Montagne

As usual the staff are very friendly and are a huge asset to this hotel.

We stayed in the newly rennovated rooms near the beach on our last visit. The bedrooms havent been thought out well as there is very limited space in them. The living area and kitchen area is also very small. Luckily we dont have small children with us otherwise it could have cost a fortune for them to entertain themselves in the arcade.

The daily activities become monotonous after the second day, the Cocktails however DEFINITELY make up for this.

Unfortunately our airconditioner was faulty and only got fixed after the third day. But got fixed none the less,

We will always be back here and have referred many business and work colleagues here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Montagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Montagne

Address: 100 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Montagne 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the Dolphin Coast, just 15km from King Shaka Airport, 120 luxury terraced apartments with breathtaking sea views await you at La Montagne Resort Hotel and Spa. With restaurants offering a wide variety of cuisine and room service, a great in-house Wellness Retreat, a live supper theatre club, squash courts, swimming pool, magnificent seaside sun deck and a daily entertainment programme for the whole family, La Montagne is guaranteed to fulfil your holiday dreams. The resort also boasts superb wedding and conferencing facilities with a full banqueting function, themed evenings and special activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Montagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montagne Hotel Ballito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Montagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.