We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mo-zam-bik

Mo-zam-bik
Compensation Beach Road | Boulevard Centre, Ballito, South Africa
329460979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Ballito
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Good Food, healthy portion size. Grilled calamari was excellent. Reasonable Prices. Good Service. Décor a bit on the rustic side.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Hi CVanmari,

Thank you for your review on our restaurant. I'm glad you enjoyed the Calamari. If you ever in Ballito again please get a hold of me and I'll do the proper Mozambican Lulas. The species of calamari is slightly tougher but the flavour is out of this world.

Regards,
Brett
0824272903
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    74
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tasty Mozambican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This restaurant offers some of the tastiest Mozambican/Portuguese cuisine you are likely to find on the North Coast.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Hi Gabriella B
I'm really glad you enjoyed your time with us. Sorry it has taken so long for me to respond.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous food, divine atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The atmosphere in this restaurant is just awesome. The food equally divine! Customer service was impeccable and waiter super friendly attending to every need! I will certainly be returning to this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Hi StoreyD
Thank you very much for your 5 star review on our store. Nothing makes it all worth while then when people have a good time in our restaurant. Safe travels.
Regards Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely casual experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

One of our regular restaurants, Mozambik offers good food and a friendly service. Generous portions for the hungry! Casual dining at its best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hi Roselyne,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoy our restaurant. Sorry it has taken so long to reply I have had problems with my tripadvisor account which have now been sorted out. Hope to see you soon and have an awesome weekend.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best and getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just when I thought that they could not top their current offerings, Mozambik in Ballito now has the most sensational crab cakes with an amazing curry leaf mayonnaise. I do not do curry at all, but this mayo is simply sublime, very flavourful and complimentary to the tasty crab cakes. Thanks Brett! This is why we keep coming back. Consistently excellent on service and food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett M, Owner at Mo-zam-bik, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Tania S,

Thank you for your 5 star review!!!! I have just finished a new recipe I think it is one of the best I have ever done. Please give me a call when you coming again 0824274903 and I'll cook it for you.

Regards,
Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mo-zam-bik also viewed

Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
Ballito, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mo-zam-bik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mo-zam-bik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.