We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday of a life time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco De Mer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coco De Mer to your Saves list
Coco De Mer
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Ballito B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday of a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

From arrival to departure it is probably one of the most amazing birthday experiences I have ever had, totally awesome. The management & staff are absolutely incredible nothing is too much trouble. A well situated beautiful hotel close to the beach with stunning sea views what more could one ask for - perfection doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    35
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
46
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Coco De Mer is the hidden needle in the hay stack which you have to visit whilst in Ballito.

You will not believe that such a place exists. The staff are incredible, especially Shaun, and the food in the restaurant is awesome and well priced. The atmosphere and environment you find yourself in is very memorable with a great mixture of ambience, architecture, interior design, natural forrests complimented by the great level of service.

Well done on a great creation.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked out the hotel for 4 days in May and the hotel staff bent over backwards to make our stay a very memorable one. The rooms were fantastic and service was top draw. All our friends and family had an amazing time and the restaurant and bar also made every effort to make our stay a very special one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a wonderful stay! From the staff, food and beautiful rooms! We truly felt like celebrities! And, for our younger people it is located less than 1 km to the most hopping night clubs and bars. I would recommend Coco de Mer to everyone! Just a big thanks to the cleaning lady's! :O !!

You will be seeing me again! Sooooooooon!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the forest are just as good as those overlooking the sea! So rather save that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We originally chose the hotel because of its nearness to Durban International Airport - just 20 minutes drive away, but on our two separate overnight stays, we found that the hotel was excellent in its own right. The rooms were large and elegant. There is an excellent restaurant, bar and swimming pool. Staff were excellent, friendly and really helpful. On our first stay we arrived too late to eat in the restaurant, but it was no problem for staff o set up tables in our room for ourselves and two friends and to dine from exactly the same menu as in the restaurant. The hotel is only about 100 yards away from the beach and promenade. When we are next in the Durban area we would certainly stay again at Coca De Mer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights visiting friends & family we loved it the location is great the breakfast is fab, and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The dinner menu was too posh for us we are more steak, ribs & chips sort, and felt there was not much atmosphere in the evening so we didn't actually eat at the hotel but have heard it was really good.
Free parking, secure out the back. Spa facility which again we didn't use but looks great.
The rooms are huge, huge palatial and beds comfy the bathrooms are also roomy. The hotel is somewhat noisy at night as all tiles & you can hear the neighbours in the shower & doors slamming at night when they come home at late at night. I wouldn't say its great for kids but it does have a pool and large koi (fish ponds)

Room Tip: Sea view is view over the road and buildings in front, the property is close the the sea but you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Coco De Mer is a beautiful resort which we just fell inlove with during our stay there. It was quite convenient as it's close to the shops and the beach and the friendly staff was the cherry on top. We definitely will be coming bavk soon

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco De Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer

Address: 63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco De Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco-De-Mer Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballito's bustling hot spots, and within close proximity to all the modern convenient stores, shopping malls, restaurants, points of interest - all within strolling distance to exclusive beaches.The hotel itself is distinctively Afro- Bali styled, perfectly situated in the midst of a natural eco forest and backdropped by the sultry and warm tropical Indian Ocean, boasting a fusion of creative interior design marrying its natural element surrounds along the friendly Dolphin Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coco De Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Ballito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco De Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.