We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasent stay besides the weather.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco De Mer

Save Saved
You added Coco De Mer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coco De Mer
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Ballito B&B and Inns
Canby, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A pleasent stay besides the weather.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Coco de Mer for a few nights in Ballito. The hotel is very nice, we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the rooms, the wonderful bathroom an view over the forest/pond area. There is a nice pool, easy access to the beach as well as walking distance from quite a few restaurants. The service was good, the staff was good at making sure we were well taken care of. The free in room wifi was an added plus! We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We found this hotel as a last minute search and we were overwhelmed on how stunning this place is. Both the hotel and the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive (big thanks to Khetha and Bongani!). I'll definately come back!

Room Tip: We had a jungle room, which was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a one night stay at the hotel and it was the perfect place to start our honeymoon. I appreciated the effort the staff made with us a newly weds and the hotel also really focus on the detail. I will definitely try and arrange a extended visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

forget the rest, just head to co co de mer, i guarantee you will not be disappointed, the staff was excellent, the room brilliant, am planning on coming back with more family members to this place, 1 block from the beach, if you want ocean views ask for rooms 104,105,106 and maybe 107, they offer the best without being shielded by trees.
Do yourself a favor and have at least 2 meals at Fiamma, the guys are all great.
I hope they stay the same for a long time to come!

Room Tip: rooms 104,105,106,107 those get you the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I absolutely loved this place!! The value for money (especially if you're from Europe) is extraordinary. The room was beautiful, super comfortable, with a really nice balcony facing out on a luscious tropical garden. The bathroom was really nice. You really get a sense of luxury and comfort from this place. The staff are really friendly, both in the reception and in the restaurant. The food at the restaurant is really good. The hotel is a five minute stroll from the beach, and also very close to a grocery store if you need to stock up on anything. Room service from the restaurant is available and free of charge. As someone else wrote, there is nothing bad to say about this place at all, I did not want to leave. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Marvellous hotel , excellent view of the ocean , friendly staff who go an extra mile , tasty food.My wife and I really enjoyed our stay there and we will definitely come back.I ll reccommend to anyone who wants leisure and comfort.A place to go for anyone visiting Ballito

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed over for one night during August 2012 for a business trip. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and an extremely beautiful bathroom which is open plan to the bedroom. The bed is comfortable and has lovely linen. We ate lunch (pizza) and dinner (room service as it was very cold and we didn't want to leave our comfy room) and both meals was excellent. The veal especially was outstanding. We visited the spa and both my husband and myself had excellent massages.

There wasn't anything bad to say about the hotel, staff, restaurants or spa and one seldom goes away without finding a gripe about something.

Well done Coco De Mer!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5, beautiful room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco De Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco De Mer

Address: 63 Compensation Beach Road, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco De Mer 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco-De-Mer Boutique Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballito's bustling hot spots, and within close proximity to all the modern convenient stores, shopping malls, restaurants, points of interest - all within strolling distance to exclusive beaches.The hotel itself is distinctively Afro- Bali styled, perfectly situated in the midst of a natural eco forest and backdropped by the sultry and warm tropical Indian Ocean, boasting a fusion of creative interior design marrying its natural element surrounds along the friendly Dolphin Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Coco De Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer Hotel Ballito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco De Mer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.