We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A full house hotel room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4048 Moffatt Drive | Ballito Business Park, Ballito 4420, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A full house hotel room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i were attending an evening wedding, so we booked ourselves in at the Hampshire for one night. Though the hotel is situated in the industrial part of Ballito with no picturesque views, once you get into the rooms its like one is in a five star hotel and not three star. The decor is expensive and the king size bed with expensive linen, just made us feel like royalty. Evrything a guest would need is in the room...things like iron and ironing board, fridge, microwave, tea making items, a safe and big screen tv to mention a few. For me that was sufficient comfort away from home. Breakfast was good. I would definitely return to this Hotel. The staff is very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
20
1
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great price.
Clean and quiet.
They offer a computer in the lobby, free of charge.
Excellent breakfast included in our rate.
The fitness room was small, but it worked for us.
Fridge in the room.
It was located near the Lifestyle centre, which had decent shopping and restaurants.

Unfortunately the pool and spa were out of service during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel is definitely not the best I have stayed in. The rooms are neat, and have a good bed and a nice tv, but the bathrooms could do with an upgrade. The shower was in the bath, and the bath looked a little dirty. Also, there was a funny smell in the bed; like off hair product. The breakfast also left a lot to be desired. Overall, if you need a reasonably priced hotel for a very short period, this hotel could do, but I can guarantee that their are better places out there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Absolute disgrace from beginning to end!
Short and sweet, the issues:
Lost our reservation
Overcharged us on the room rate
One hand soap for our entire 4 day stay
Spoilt milk at breakfast buffet
Drainage problems in bathroom
No curtains in room
Defective door that didn't lock
Clueless staff in need of serious training and elocution lessons
No towels in pool area
Staff disobey "do not disturb" signs
No toilet paper in rooms
Poor housekeeping
Tiny breakfast area clearly inadequate during busy times
Very poor location for holiday travellers

I could go on but won't bother since I will never choose them again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was extremely surprised at how comfortable staying at this hotel was. The rooms were very spacious, equipped with everything one would need and the beds were very comfortable. That her than the hotel not being located in the most scenic area of Ballito I must say that I was very happy and would reccomend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

After a long flight we arrived at this hotel and were looking forward to our room and to getting some sleep. But: The lady at the reception told us there was no booking for us. Which was ridicoulous because I had a print-out of the e-mail confirmation from the hotel with me. I had booked this room 6 months in advance on their homepage.
They were very helpful and found us a nice room in a different hotel right away, but I was still pretty pissed: After a long flight I didn't really feel like driving around any longer and was very tired.

I still don't understand how they could have messed up my booking since I even received an automated booking confirmation on my e-mail.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards Bay, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Positives are large room, free internet, big TV. Negatives are toilet was dirty, hair in coffee machine, no hot water. Seems that someone forgot to turn on the geysers. Negatives overwhelmingly outweigh the positives. Needless to say we will not be back. Would prefer a place with clean toilet, no hair in coffee maker and hot water for the shower.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel

Address: 4048 Moffatt Drive | Ballito Business Park, Ballito 4420, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to King Shaka International Airport and the Ballito Durban greater area, Hampshire Hotel is great accommodation for Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.