We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced 3,5 *kiddies playground.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Zimbali Resort to your Saves list
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced 3,5 *kiddies playground.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The severely over priced and limited selection of restaurants and activities at the resort are disappointing. Management seems to be lacking in attention to detail. Needs improvement. Prices are not commensurate with services.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    102
    49
    24
    15
See reviews for
82
124
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely resort a little bit posh. It was our first vacation with our Son 4 months old. He enjoyed it very much. We really had fun and definitely will go back. Service was great. Staff friendly.Had good time with the family.Went for nature walks .it will be great maybe if they had fireplace on the informal sitting area

Room Tip: sea facing rooms.... excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay, and extended it by a couple of days. Loads of activities on site and nearby... I played golf, took nature walks, went quad-biking, had a surfing lesson, and there was plenty more I wanted to do. The resort caters for all ages as there are many pools, play areas, bars, restaurants, etc. If you get bored, Ballito has many delights to experience, vibrant night-life, beaches, restaurants, and so on. Durban is also just a short drive if you want to check out the city attractions or go shopping. PLUS it's always summer in Ballito.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent our July holiday at the Fairmont Zimbali and despite having read some bad reviews prior to our stay regarding service etc, I have to say that we had overall a great experience.

It was off season so it was quite empty, the staff was very friendly and very efficient when we had special requests e.g. extra towels and extra sleeper couch brought to the room etc. We had a one bedroom suite (we have 3 kids) and it was a beautiful spacious room with a nice lawn in front for the kids. It also had a small kitchenette, which was great when the kids needed meals in between. The setting is breath taking, unfortunately the pools were too cold to swim. No problems with monkeys or anything like that.

My only criticism is really that it is a Fairmont Hotel. I have stayed at several Fairmont Hotels in the US and Canada and what works there, does not necessarily work in South Africa. For example to charge a delivery fee for room service does not go down well with South Africans who expect such service to be free of charge as it is with other 5 star hotels here. Also we had to pay some exorbitant fee for watching a movie, then my kids only watched it halfway and when they wanted to continue we had to pay the price again. All in all we spent close to R 500 for watching the same move 3 times.

But otherwise I can definitely recommend this venue.

Room Tip: one bedroom suite definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

1st year wedding anniversary, we decided to go to Durban and had heard about Zimbali from friends who had stayed there. We unfortunately did not realise that there was a golf tournament at the time we were going to be staying there, and had not been advised of this, but we didn't expect that to detract from our stay or experience since we were paying customers. However, we were downgraded to a twin room and were told it was because they had a number of " important functions" over the weekend (we received a bottle of champagne to "make up for the mishap" - my husband and I both don't drink). Only 1 restaurant was accessible, also because of the events - the rest were reserved for the other guests. The shower was not draining properly so our bathroom flooded on the first night, and the AC was not working (but they did send someone to check it out as soon as we called the reception/ concierge) Definitely NOT the 5 star experience they claim to offer. Not impressed at all.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although we stayed 1 night at the Zambali resort we had the most wonderfull time. What an exotic place along the ocean. The rooms are stunning with a fantastic view of the Indian ocean. Service of the reception and conierge was great and we were pampered. .A well spread of breakfast plus the meals in the restaurants were superb and fresh. Location is fantastic if you need to go in to Durban. Will definitly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with our family for 6 days at the Zimbali resort. It was a mixed experience. Location is fantastic, rooms are spacious and restaurants/bar are of good quality. Food is not top notch, though good enough. Concierge was extremely service minded, but reception was below standard. The rooms were not clean and we requested them to redo this. The moisture in the hotel is rather high and corridors are sometimes smelly. The outside acilities are great with a stunning golf course, tennis courts, swimming pools and squash court. Definitely worth staying if you do not expect 5 star in all details.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay at Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to make use of all the wonderful facilities that we have on offer. Our management team has made note of your comments and have addressed your concerns with individual departments.

We hope to welcome you back to Fairmont Zimbali Resort again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Zimbali Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.