We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appreciated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nokeng Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limpopo Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nokeng Eco Lodge
Save Saved
You added Nokeng Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Farm Uitvlugt 6 | Uitvlugt dirt road, Dinokeng, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appreciated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I hosted 2 birthday weekends at Nokeng so far this year, needless to say we will return in future as this has been a memorable experience to say the least. The boma, swimming pool, the river...everything was amazing. a big thank you to the Nokeng staff for their hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked for our annual time away with friends over New Year.( Not the greatest time to go as it is VERY hot) Our cottages were not ready when we arrived and they had to run around finding crockery, cutlery and glasses and a microwave- of course this was once we found management. There is no reception really, or at least no one there. Have no idea where the restaurant is that they advertise. All this was not a problem- we were there to relax. With six children, the pool was the biggest draw card and greatest disappointment. It was murky, full of chlorine filters and nothing like the picture. People brought drinks in glass to the pool area and even in the pool so we had to constantly look out for broken glass. No hiking paths for walks as we planned. You get what you pay for- we left a day early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokeng_Eco_Lodge, Owner at Nokeng Eco Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
All the guests after "cheap but not great", have enjoyed their stay and the personal service at Nokeng fully. There is a reason for adhering to booking in times at venues, especially in high season for guests booking out in the morning, for the next guests to book in the afternoon. We have tried to accommodate them and as they had very small kids to consider, therefore the running around.

The swimming pool still is as bright as on the photos. Note to travellers, please address your issues immediately while still at the venue!

And just remember, the venue cannot choose the guests booking in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved our time at Nokeng. It was a total escape from everything for us. We stayed in the Karee chalet where we enjoyed virtual isolation to enjoy walks on the path, dips in the pool, and plenty of the sunshine that a Canadian February could never provide. We really enjoyed exploring the grounds and appreciated being made aware of things to watch for to stay safe. We felt our well being was important. We were also delighted to be introduced to the Braai and all the stars of the southern hemisphere which we could easily enjoy enjoy far from any city lights. Of course visiting the very nearby Dinokeng Big 5 Game Reserve was a plus. With a watchful lookout for wildlife, we enjoyed a little geocaching too.

Room Tip: Call ahead to discuss needs and concerns and you will receive helpful and honest advice to make the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My whole family (25 people) came together at Nokeng Eco Lodge over Christmas 2012. We had all our delicious meals served in the restaurant, were able to bring our pets, and had amazing service and accommodation. All the staff were polite and efficient, and we felt we were "at home". We'll absolutely hold all our familt (and other!) gatherings at Nokeng - the place is amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Nokeng Eco Lodge offers a nice bushveld breakaway at attractive rates. The lodge is located next to the Elands river, with easy access (dirt road in very good condition). There is also the option to have dinner and breakfast. Also some playing area for kids and a big swimmingpool. The staff is very friendly. I would strongly recommend the "Karee" unit as it is slightly nestled in the bush with a very nice braai area. Our unit was very clean and neat. An additional bonus is that it is pet-friendly. Also, at night, you will hear the hippos from the river. The only caution I would give - they sometimes host large groups for teambuilding etc - I would call ahead to ask if there are any big groups. All in all we were very happy and will return again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nokeng Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nokeng Eco Lodge

Address: Farm Uitvlugt 6 | Uitvlugt dirt road, Dinokeng, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 383 Specialty Lodging in Limpopo Province
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nokeng Eco Lodge is situated in unspoiled bushveld alongside the beautiful Elands River. We’re a mere 45 min north east of Pretoria, and 1½ hours from Johannesburg. We are also just 20 min away from the Rust de Winter Nature Reserve and Dam, and adjacent to the exciting new Dinokeng Game Reserve. Nokeng Eco Lodge is a perfect place for:- Couples and friends needing a break from city life- Small bush weddings- Corporate functions and team building- Family reunions and birthday parties- Leadership development camps- Church retreats and anyone wanting to experience the bushveld in its most pure and natural form! We're absolutely committed to great service and to making your stay with us as memorable as possible. It's important to us that you leave with wonderful memories and a rested spirit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nokeng Eco Lodge Africa/Limpopo, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nokeng Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.