We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and spectacular view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Club Cafe

Cotton Club Cafe
R531 Orpen Road | Kampersrus, South Africa
079 286 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing food and spectacular view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I had the most amazing version of chicken pot pie ever! Full of flavor, tender chicken and a light, flakey crust. Soo good! Great wine selection and we set at an outdoor table that had amazing view of the mountains. We should have gone back again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hoedspruit
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Sunday Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is where the locals go for Anne's delicious Sunday lunches, which often extend into lovely, leisurely afternoons. The menu is simple, yet the food is exquisite and beautifully presented. Anne is a wonderful hostess, who is very ably assisted by the sweet and friendly Rosie and Angel.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, stunning view and...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of once again enjoying lunch at Cotton Club Cafe between Hoedspruit and the Blyde River Canyon. I was with some international visitors who had just enjoyed the cruise on the Swadini Dam in the canyon, so Cotton Club was convenient and allowed us to continue enjoying the stunning views of the escarpment, from the lovely garden setting at the restaurant. A uncomplicated menu and service from friendly ladies set the scene. Then the food!.. I went for a simple toasted ham and cheese for a light lunch but wow - this was something else! A meal of delicious bread, real sliced ham, stacked together, covered with cheese and grilled. The best toasted sandwich ever and, it came with a crisp salad! My guests loved their home cooked babootie burger (different!) and various other lovely and delicious meals from Annie's kitchen. With that she arrived to greet our visitors and was met with due applause. All in all a most delightful lunch, setting and venue I can recommend, with great conviction, to any visitors to the Blyde River Canyon. Bravo Annie!..

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stunning food from a small but well put together menu.From fun tasty vetkoek burgers and milkshakes to more sophisticated salads and tarts everything was beautifully presented and very reasonably priced. The setting is really stunning and allows you the opportunity to eat outside under the trees. We will definitely make this a regular stop on our visits to the Kruger.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The eating is outdoors if you want, in an absolutely beautiful garden. Felt a bit like France, in some ways. The food was very good and creative. Lovely place. The only imperfection is that some of the staff did not seem so happy. Altogether, a great place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Club Cafe also viewed

Haenertsburg, Limpopo Province
Haenertsburg, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Cotton Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Club Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.