We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner response”
Review of Kingfisher Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kingfisher Country House to your Saves list
Kingfisher Country House
1030, Dumbleton Road (off Waterside Road) | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wilderness, western cape
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Owner response”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are very pleased that you saw some excellent birds whilst staying with us, it is always exciting seeing new birds up close. Thank you for the kind comment about breakfast, your review was very encouraging. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and would love to welcome you back in the future. Hoping that you see many more lifers!!

Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
89
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed there solo for two nights on a recent wander through South Africa, and wished I could stay longer. For a bird watcher it is a superb base for searching for the birds of the Garden Route, with the first lifers coming while sitting on the porch, and more to be found within a few miles since the area is surrounded by a number of very diverse environments. The rooms are beautifully and peacefully decorated, the hosts are delightful and helpful, and the breakfasts were the best I had in South Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We are very pleased that you saw some excellent birds whilst staying with us, it is always exciting seeing new birds up close. Thank you for the kind comment about breakfast, your review was very encouraging. We enjoyed having you to stay with us and would love to welcome you back in the future. Hoping that you see many more lifers!!

Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard,
Kingfisher Country House, Wilderness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Unforgettable terrasse with bird- feeders, where you can easily watch rare species such as the Knysna Turaco veery close, all while having breakfast! Also, a very hospitalarian, familiar and helpful welcome from the owners Sue and Phil. Thanks and hope to see you again!
The location is also very convenient to explore the area, at a confortable distance from the village.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Once again, what a pleasure to have bird watchers to stay with us and from Spain too. Thank you for a super review, we appreciate it. I was very happy that you saw some really special birds while you were staying with us, did you see all the birds you wanted to see in the Swartberg Pass and Karoo National Park? South Africa is a marvellous country for birding. We hope that you will return and that we can welcome you once again. Wishing you a very successful birding year.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place was 'food for the soul'. The room was beautifully decorated, bed so comfortable, breakfast delicious, the song of the birds restful and delightful and information supplied by Phil and Sue was invaluable. From where to eat to places to visit, we would have been lost without them. In the opinion of my husband, this place ticked all the boxes and more! Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the special comments!! We are so blessed to have such super guests who enjoyed everything they did. You said that you had been working very hard so you really deserved the rest and I am so happy that you found the visit to be "food for the soul" For me the bird calls are very relaxing. I really enjoyed chatting to you both and hearing about what you do. We would love to welcome you back ( in a heartbeat ) and I hope to see you again in the near future. Wishing you everything of the best with your projects, may you be blessed!!
Best wishes,
Sue Millard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

At the end of a three week birding and wildlife adventure in South Africa we were fortunate enough to stay at Kingfisher. Not only were the hosts welcoming and delightful, they took great pleasure in showing us the forest birds which came to their well stocked feeder, including some very difficult to see species. It could not have been a nicer finale to our visit.

Room Tip: The rooms off the balcony are the best for viewing the gardens and birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are just so blessed to have such beautiful birds in our garden and surrounding forests and it is always such fun having birders to stay with us, we really enjoy it. I don't know why but birders and naturalists are always happy people!! I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday, you went to really diverse habitats and your bird list was amazing. Thank you so much for the lovely review, we hope to see you again in the future, until then happy birding !!
Best wishes,
Sue Millard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromara, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful trip to S. Africa in July 2013. We stayed at Kingfisher Country House and simply can't wait to go back again!! Kingfisher House is idyllic in every sense. We were welcomed with open arms and immediately felt totally "At Home". Our room was simply charming, very "Laura Ashley" in style. The huge bed was exceptionally comfortable! Everything was immaculate, totally spotless! The breakfast was simply delicious! Sue and Phil were a delight, friendly and helpful. Their enthusiasm for travel and exploring was so evident with Sue giving us the most useful advice on beautiful trips and glorious locations. Truly a beautiful place to stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments!! It was a real pleasure to have such happy guests staying with us and that you felt "at home" It is so important for Phil and me that the guests are able to completely relax, because that is what holidays are all about. Our area is so beautiful, as is our country and we really want visitors to experience the best that is available. We can't wait for you to visit us again. Until then, have a great 2013.
Best wishes,
Phil and Sue Millard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

George and I loved spending two nights here. Sue and Phil are so genuine and love their place, their birds, dog, cat and doing what they do. Plus Sue gives THE best local tips and one of them led us to seeing 4 Southern Right Whales at play in Witsand Bay on our way back yo Camps Bay. WOW!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemillard, Owner at Kingfisher Country House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
It was super having you to stay at Kingfisher Country house. Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are really happy that you saw whales in Witsand. Many people don't know that there are nearly always whales in that area during the whale season, there is something very special about seeing these huge animals propel themselves out of the water with such agility (breaching) amazing!! We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes for a wonderful 2013,
Sue Millard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingfisher Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Country House

Address: 1030, Dumbleton Road (off Waterside Road) | Wilderness National Park, Wilderness, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious country style guesthouse set in a beautiful rambling garden overlooking Wilderness National Park which is a Ramsar site. Comfortable antique furniture, fresh flowers and romantic log fires in winter create a warm, relaxed atmosphere. Delicious breakfasts (including freshly baked muffins or scones and home made jams)served on the wide, covered veranda. Cosy cottage style en-suite bedrooms have king-size/twin beds, heater, fan, tea/coffee tray and private entrance. Sparkling pool. Prolific bird life, hiking and canoeing along rivers and lakes. Beautiful beaches nearby. Ideal as a base from which to explore our magnificent area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.