We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful guest house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interlaken Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Interlaken Guest House to your Saves list
Interlaken Guest House
713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful guest house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Interlaken. Our room was lovely and spacious and clean. We had a large balcony area, TV, fridge, huge bed and mini kitchen area. Breakfast in the mornings overlooking the lake were lovely, fresh fruit followed by eggs. Elsie and Kevin were also very welcoming and helpful in suggesting places to go or eat and making reservations for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review, we really appreciate it and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in this gorgeous place!!
Kind regards
Elsie and Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
151
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Elsie&Kevin created their own small paradise in Wilderness. A heartwarming atmosphere in conjunction with the awesome view over the lake/river of the National Park makes it a memorable stop in your Garden Route trip.

Rooms are very clean, tidy and spacious. Every day the tasty breakfast (fresh fruits, homemade cereals, various variants of eggs, chees&sausage plate) was served on the sunny terrace as a perfect start in the day. Elsie&Kevin also take care of reservations for restaurants, follow their advice and have a nice dinner.

Having always a smile in their face and being always open for a small talk with nice local information we had hard time leaving them after 3 nights.

Summarized Interlaken is the best place to stay when being in the Wilderness area! We will come back one day!

Room Tip: The Sunbird Suite - your private paradise: own access, own terrace, 100% privacy, stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
So Mr and Mrs Delicious..... it was a real pleasure meeting you both and have you stay here in this lovely house and serving you a delicious breakfast which we know you enjoyed!!

We enjoyed your company just as much and thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest House and taking the time to give us a review, we really do appreciate it!!

Till next time,
Regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The rooms are extremely spacious and very nicely furnished. Our room had a big balcony with a fantastic view on the island lake and the valley. Very delicious breakfast on terrace. The hosts were very kind and helpful. They recommended us nice little restaurants for dinner.
Good value for money.
Nicely situated next to N2, but quite and with a great view. Only reccomendable with car.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure meeting you and looking after you in this gorgeous part of the Garden Route, Wilderness!!!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

KInd regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This visit to Wilderness was made very special indeed by the most delightful friendliest hosts you could possibly wish for- Elsie and Kevin . They looked after us and helped us advising us special things to do in the area and it was agreat pleasure to stay in their most comfortable home. Kevin came to our rescue with a candle after we arrived back from eating out in the dark when because of a storm there had been a power cut and everywhere was in darkness!

Room Tip: We had a lovely large room with French windows leading out on to a spectacular deck which was sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was a real pleasure meeting you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Interlaken, we enjoyed chatting to you both!!

Hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is the fifth time we stayed at Interlaken. We immediately felt relaxed when we met our hosts, Elsie and Kevin.

We usually stay at Interlaken as it is a natural hub to travel to other resorts without having to live out of suitcases; George is only a little way away with its Outeniqua Power train travelling through the Witfontein Forest Reserve and the Montagu Pass.

In the other direction is Knysna and Plett; the Birds of Eden is a mustbut this adventure needs half a day to enjoy. Another must is a short canoe trip up a nearby river to a fantastic waterfall.

All the rooms are spacious and clean and the views from all of them are breath-taking; ideal for having a cool drink on the terrace after an afternoon drive.

Restaurants are numerous, mostly in nearby Milkwood village, where it is best to book beforehand. Milkwood Village has shops, a cheap laundry and a market.

We just love Interlaken as it’s so convenient, very sociable and helpful hosts who go out of their way to ensure you have a memorable stay.
Master-chef Kevin produces wonderful breakfasts. The breakfast area also contains a pool area; ideal for a relaxing dip.

There is absolutely no noise from the main N2, a short distance away. In a nutshell, if you are looking for a breathtaking central place to stay with fantastic food and hospitality, then Interlaken has to be your first choice.

Denis & Val

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular, the Honeymoon suit is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Denis and Val,

Apologies for the delay in replying.... we are lucky to be very busy!!

What can we say, you arrived here 5 years ago as guests and now you are good friends.... we look forward to your 6th stay here and thank you for always putting Interlaken on your agenda.... we love it!!!

Thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to making the next holiday just as nice!
KInd regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

There are certain places that you just keep on coming back to.
Interlaken Guest House is one of those. The good vibe created by its owners Kevin and Elsie is just so relaxing that you don't really want to leave. I guess that's why I keep coming back.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, the views on the lake are really beautiful and Wilderness beach is just around the corner.
So what else is there to wish for? So I guess i will just have to return again. Soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I

Thanks for coming back ... again .... and .. again, its a pleasure to see you!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Elsie and Kevin, I can not thank you enough for your great hospitality and the beautiful accommodation. I hope we can come again and stay at your gorgeous place.
We came as guests and left as friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
It really was our pleasure to meet you and have you stay here so thank you for choosing Interlaken and we hope to see you again in future!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interlaken Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.