We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday begins on your private balcony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Interlaken Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Interlaken Guest House to your Saves list
Interlaken Guest House
713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Holiday begins on your private balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

A very nice place to stay (first of all in the “kingfisher suite” on the first floor with private balcony) with a beautiful view all over the lake.

Kevin and Elsie welcomed us very warm, were so friendly and helpful, gave us good leads and organized us a bottle of wine to enjoy our balcony view. Our room “kingfisher suite” was very clean and appointed with everything you need. The balcony view made us just speechless! Breakfast in the morning was rich and very well prepared by Kevin and Elsie– we did not miss anything!

From “Interlaken” you drive about 5 minutes to Wilderness center. There you’ll find a lot of nice restaurants for dinner.

Unfortunately our stay at this amazing place was too short. Elsie and Kevin, thank you for everything! We will definitely come back!
Michael & Christine

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
151
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Elsie and Kevin could not have done anymore to make our trip better.
Amazing breakfast terrace and views.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was one of the best experiences we had during our holiday. Elsie and Kevin are great. Down-to-earth and genuine people whom we would happily invite into our home. Elsie tracked us down to our next desintation to return an item we had left. Much appreciated. The room we had was HUGE, well appointed with a balcony (stunning view) and a huge, extremely comfortable bed. There are another 2 suites - one with a huge sun deck and a honeymoon suite (but we are way past that!) Breakfast was lovely - Kevin is a bit of a whizz in the kitchen - and the view over the lagoon was stunning. WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND Interlaken to anyone visiting the area and will definitely return when we scratch the itch which is South Africa.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: if you want a HUGE sundeck then ask for the Kingfisher suite. If you want a HUGE room, then ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
It is guests like you that make us remain so passionate about our Guest House and our country.
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we know that we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon. To be quite honest, we'd booked a stay in Wilderness as we wanted to break up a drive between Port Elizabeth & Stellenbosch and didn't have much in the way of expectations, but we were totally wrong, and had a wonderful stay here.

Elsie & Kevin are the most fantastic hosts ... and the location of the guest house just couldn't be better, high on the hills overlooking the lake. We stayed in the honeymoon suite so had our own "floor" so were playing cards and having a glass of wine watching the sun set. Elsie is so sweet she even apologised for it not being a spectacular sunset that evening!

The real sign that we were enjoying ourselves? We were intending to get up at 5am to drive to our next destination to watch England in the rugby world cup ... but decided instead to stay and have breakfast and watch it with Elsie and Kevin - definitely the better choice! They even put up some patriotic support with us! ... just sorry both our team and South Africa are now out!

Anyway I digress, the point is, what a lovely stay, what wonderful hosts, and we'd absolutely recommend the place to anybody!

- Charlie & Milly

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for a lovely review and we are so pleased that you decided to watch the rugby here with us, it was nice to have some company for the game! We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in this stunning country of ours!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at Interlaken for two nights during our recent Western Cape Holiday. We received a wonderful reception from Elsie. It was without a doubt the highlight of our trip. The location was wonderful, both picturesque and peaceful. Our accommodation was excellent. Great breakfasts served by Kevin, the highlight was the homemade muesli!

Thank you to Elsie and Kevin; you were magnificent hosts.

Room Tip: Kingfisher was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your positive review! It was lovely having you here and we were so pleased that you managed to really relax and chill out which is what Wilderness is all about!
Folks like you make this all worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night during a three week trip to South Africa and found Interlaken to be very good.

We made to feel right at home as soon as we arrived and were given a bottle of bubbly (it was our honeymoon). The views from the guest house are fantastic (unfortunately the weather was a bit too cold and windy for us to make the most of the balcony), the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast very tasty.

In my opinion the guest house isn't quite deserving of a five star review as the finish of the rooms is not great (the shower is a little basic and we were quite surprised to find a large fridge when we entered our room), but I would definitely recommend the guest house and would stay here again if I was in the Wilderness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Thank you for your review and we hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our lovely country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had a lovely stay even if it was only for 1 night. Elsie made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and we had a lovely room with a fantatic view! Kevin made us a great breakfast the following morning, we really enjoyed our stay there and it makes such a difference staying at a b&b where the people are so hospitable!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Interlaken Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.