We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Lodge to your Saves list
Boardwalk Lodge
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Young Terrace | Constantia Kloof Road, Wilderness 6529, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
“As good as it gets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just want to say thank you to Chris and his staff at Boardwalk. They are always very accommodating and friendly. The facilities are first class with a view to die for!! If you are prepared to climb steps this is a fantastic plays to stay. Thank you once again, see you later this year again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

What a great view on the sea from the cottage terrace. A very nice place, with fancy interior design, unfortunately no internet access though (only from the lobby). Nice pool area and friendly hosts. With bad weather the isolation gets tested to its max, and the chalet gets very cold at night even in in summer.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the boardwalk lodge for two nights at the start of a tour of Africa. Decent rooms and the view was outstanding. Very private.

Wilderness is a great little place. The township itself has some decent restaurants and it is a very laid back place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our stay at Boardwalk was absolutely great! Thank you to the staff for all for the great service and profesionality. The room was stunning and the view was awsome. We would definitely recommend Boardwalk to anyone who wants a great time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The design of the lodge was amazing it really made you feel like you were in a luxury tree house. We had views of the sea from our balcony. The staff were very attentive. We enjoyed being able to walk down into the village to eat in the evening, it felt very safe to do this although there was a lack of foot paths. We would recommend doing some of the walks in the National park. We were disappointed not to meet one of the very large South African rain spiders, but did see beautiful kingfishers and a lovely waterfall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We very much enjoyed the luxury studio we rented for two nights. It was by far our favorite accommodation of our 2.5 week South Africa trip. We didn't find that much to do in Wilderness but still decided to stay for two nights because we loved the boardwalk lodge so much. It did get very light very early in the apartment which was the only negative thing to report.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Lovely setting, peaceful and private. Rooms are quite basic for a 4 star-need a bit more attention to detail like rusks for your complimentarty coffee/tea, ice in the fridge, a choccie on your pillow etc. Staff were friendly though and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Lodge

Address: Young Terrace | Constantia Kloof Road, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boardwalk Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boardwalk Lodge, a four-star guest house and self-catering lodge, is a popular retreat within the tranquil seaside village of Wilderness. Set high on the slopes above the village, a short stroll from the beach and lake below, the lodge’s innovative design, exclusive features and excellent facilities provide the ultimate Wilderness experience.You will be warmly welcomed by our attentive lodge staff and will love the luxury rooms, stylish suites and comfortable self-catering timber chalets. All have private decks overlooking the village, lagoon and sea.Whether staying for a night, a weekend or a week, Boardwalk Lodge with its picture-perfect views and lovely setting amidst natural forest vegetation provides the perfect venue for a glorious holiday.Boardwalk Lodge is an ideal venue for intimate small weddings, honeymoons, celebrations, meetings, small conferences, team building events, or other corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Boardwalk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.