We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excelent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xanadu Guest Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Xanadu Guest Villa to your Saves list
Xanadu Guest Villa
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No.43 die duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Safe 20% on your stay!
Ranked #9 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nuernberg
1 review
“excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

the servic e was o.k., the room very fine and extravacent, the location good to reach from the autostreet, but very silence an d the romm to the beach very nice , to show direcht to the beach we liked all of this hotel. thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
168
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a wonderful experience I had at this 5 star establishment. Call me sentimental or nostalgic, but it was truly amazing to experience the same interior decor and style that I grew up with in my oumas house in the late 80's. I loved the abundance of floor to ceiling curtains as well as the rich wood furniture, and thick plush carpeting. The angle statue bedlamps also added a special touch.

Too often I find that many of the 5 star establishments have changed to a more contemporary and modern minimalist style.
These old fashioned gems are hard to find, and this one was quiet a find and worthwhile a visit.

Thank you

Room Tip: Definitely the sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Xanadu is a great guest lodge, with luxurious furnishings, a great beach outlook, and wonderful hosts. Breakfast was excellent, and Albert was very helpful regarding attractions in the area. They even tidied our room over breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlesey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had the most amazing stay here in Oct 2013.
Accomodation was amazing with a stunning view from the bedroom windows. I was asleep when we arrived at Xanadu and was totally not expecting what was on the other side of the front door!
Luxury accomoadtion at its best, the rooms were well equipped and enormous! My husband & I with our 2 children only stayed for one night but wish it could have been for longer. Breakfast was fabulous and the kids loved being able to nip out on the beach as soon as we'd finished eating.

Hope we can go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Although I have only stayed for one evening, I was treated as somebody that was staying for a loooong vacation.
Albert, was the perfect host. My rental car, broke down, and without any question/hesitation he carted me around, assisting me, this was not at all his responsibility or problem.
The rooms are lovely, views spectacular and the breakfast something to look forward to.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XanaduGuestVilla, Owner at Xanadu Guest Villa, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Roelien,
You are too kind. We give assistance to our guests as much as is possible . When you are in a strange place , a little" local knowledge" helps !
Most important for us is that your stay at XANADU will be remembered as a nice dream , not a nightmare !!
Trust we will see you again ?
Regards,
Albert & Tersia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our room was one of the most opulent I have ever stayed in. All the rooms had a unique décor and were quite superb. Hotel set right on the beach for sunbathing, whale watching. Excellent breakfast served round a large round table so that guests could meet each other. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: We chose a rear facing room as we only had one night there and arrived quite late, but for another s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Xanadu Guest Villa is all that you see, have read and more. Tersia and Albert greeted us with a warm welcome. They showed us around the house our room and gave us information about the area.

We stayed in the Dolphin room. It was well equipped with our own heating, television, wireless wifi, king bed, beautiful bath, beach and garden views. The room and house were very clean. We felt right at home. If this B & B had been located in the States, the rate would be three times what we paid. The room was very affordable.

If we are ever in the area again, this will be out first stop. The house and room were beautiful. The setting was beautiful. It was so much more than we expected, the pictures are beautiful, but you really have to see it to appreciate it. When you see this property you can see that it was well thought out and executed. We only wished we would have stayed longer. Our stay was only over night.

We left early the next morning before breakfast and Tersia was kind enough to leave fruit, sandwiches and water for us to take.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xanadu Guest Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Guest Villa

Address: No.43 die duin, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Xanadu Guest Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Guest Villa is situated right on the beachfront of the beautiful, unspoilt Wilderness Beach, the jewel in the crown of South Africa’s famous and scenic Garden Route. Centrally located for day trips to Oudtshoorn (1hr), Knysna (30 min) Plettenberg Bay (45min), and even to Addo Elephant National Park (3hrs), this luxurious Garden Route guest villa is the perfect choice for your Wilderness Garden Route accommodation.Save yourself the chore of packing and unpacking every day. You can explore this wonderful region and at the end of the day return to Xanadu Guest Villa, the best of accommodation, and still have time for a beach walk and a sundowner on our pool deck.WINNER 2013 : TO TRAVEL AWARDS "BEST GUESTHOUSE ON THE GARDEN ROUTE"FREE UNCAPPED WI FI 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Xanadu Guest Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xanadu Guest Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.