We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location but accommodation a bit dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mont Fleur - Wilderness

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mont Fleur - Wilderness to your Saves list
Mont Fleur - Wilderness
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   334 Limberlost Lane, Wilderness 6529, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4-Nights as low as R2200
Ranked #21 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“nice location but accommodation a bit dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Nice location overlooking Wilderness and within convenient (safe) walking distance of the small centre with a choice of restaurants. We stayed in one of the garden cottages and felt the accommodation could do with a facelift. It was certainly not up to the standard of some of the other 4 star places we stayed whilst on the Garden Route. A shame as Denise was a welcoming, informative and helpful host and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

The location of this B + B is excellent for walking to the local restaurants, shops, beach & lagoon. The hosts Lou & Denise are good hosts and try hard to assist where needed. We were accommodated in room number 1 which is directly connected to the common area, separated only by a stable door with glass in the top half, affording one with little privacy. Additionally all guests have to pass the external windows of this room to go to the common lounge area and breakfast. Unless you keep the blinds closed you have no privacy at all as everyone can see into your room. The room's decor was very tired, smelt very musty and is in vast contrast to the more updated decor in the rondavel rooms.

The other member of our group was give a tiny single room which must have previously been staff quarters. The room was minute, just fitting a single bed, and is stuck at the back of the guest house, not at all ideal!

We feel for what we overpaid for the rooms we got!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

In addition to loving the location of this B&B in The Wilderness, it was a hoot to have such a great time with the American owner!! Already planning to return again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed in one of the garden cottages and had a great time in and around Wilderness.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We included Wilderness in our itinerary, staying for 4 nights in November 2010 at Mont Fleur. Our accommodation was one of the garden cottages, which was nicely furnished and spacious.

On arrival we were met by Denise who made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were the nicest of our trip (particularly the home made muffins!) and the location was ideal as a base for exploring the Wilderness area. Complimentary wi-fi was available which was useful for updating everyone on the great time that we were having!

If you are planning to stay in Wilderness I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Mont Fleur. Thanks to Denise and Lou for their hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great location plenty to do wonderful host pleasant room. Visit the outdoor market on Thursday evening in Wilderness village. Also Farmers market at Sedgefield on Saturday. If you want a great meal try The Girls in the village.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed here for one night while traveling from Cape Town to Addo. A very warm welcome, and we had a lovely self contained cottage with views over the beach. The centre of Wilderness is a safe 10 minute walk away, the beach another 2 minutes. Leave your car there, everything is walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont Fleur - Wilderness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Fleur - Wilderness

Address: 334 Limberlost Lane, Wilderness 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont Fleur - Wilderness 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Fleur, a 4 star B&B and highly recommended by AA Travel, is nestled against the wilderness mountainside, with breathtaking ocean and lagoon views. All rooms are en-suite, with TV and tea trays. Choose from two Cottages, or two Main House rooms. Mont Fleur is a few minutes walk to the beach, restaurants and hiking trails. Fabulous bird life. Credit cards. Children by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mont Fleur - Wilderness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont Fleur - Wilderness, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.