We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake view and seclusion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa to your Saves list
Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lake view and seclusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our road trip along the garden route. Our agent had originally booked us somewhere else but they wanted us to change rooms mid stay so we booked here instead, what a good move. It is a very stylish and spacious villa with just five rooms all with balconys and views over the lake. One night it was just us staying and we felt like we were in our own luxury villa. Breakfast on the terrace, sun loungers by the small infinity pool, huge rooms and friendly staff all made for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. if you feel like splashing out book the honeymoon room (3).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
68
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fish Hoek, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge on the Lake en route from Cape Town. Pleasantly surprised at the View and the Size of the room and how the shower was laid out. Arrived in the dark, went for breakfast the next morning, greeted by a healthy buffet sitting overlooking the Lake and at the edge of the pool at the lodge, glorious setting. Big let down was the lack of a flat tv screen in the bedroom, the building and interior is of good quality and the room has an old fashioned thick TV which was difficult to watch programs on being so far away from the bed and couch, it certainly was a disappointment. Went for a spa treatment and they were utterly professional. Met Vicky the Manager and Patrick who helped with our luggage, very friendly and open and attentative. Its a good view, a good venue, relaxing retreat and Spa and the pool looks heavenly (it was in winter so we could not try it out). We had 1 lunch with them of salad and lasagne and was very suprised at how tasty it was and presented so lovely on the plate, cant complain about the food. The entire building is in marble, I felt it was a bit cold, but it looks astonishing, and the furniture is in good taste. Overall a good place for my Daughter and I to stop over en route to visit family, and have a relaxing spa and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Only has 5 rooms I think, they all face they lake, and are all upstairs, so great views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansbaai, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My Husband and I got married on the 1st of September, and not knowing what he was planning for our very special Honeymoon, I was really excited!! After arriving at Lodge on the Lake on Tuesday afternoon, we were welcomed by extremely friendly staff!! We had a three night stay in this breathtaking Lodge, with great service and the most amazing views!! (Vicky, Chantal, Carolise, as well as the rest of the staff - you can tap yourselfs on the shoulder for treating us proffesional and made us feel at home!! ) We had Spa treatments, as included in their spectacular packages .... Girls!! You were SUPERB in the Spa area! I can truly advise you to visit this incredible Lodge in a very beautiful part of our country!! Spoiled with unbelievable breakfasts, champagne and true royalty!!

Room Tip: Middle Suite is nice and big!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a wonderful day of spoiling at the Lodge on the Lake Spa. Chantal and Carolise looked after us like royalty, the treatments were generous and lovely, and the food well presented and tasty. The setting is superb, overlooking the lake and mountains, such tranquillity. Value for money excellent. We missed the slippers, and a hair-drier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulbagh, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed 2 nights, took a package that includes a massage, dinner and a welcome bottle of "Champagne". The massage was really good, dinner not up to standard, food was made probably earlier the day, the fish tasted like rubber .....I suppose they don't specialize in food and more in accommodation and spa treatments. The accommodation is really good and the views is stunning from you room!! It was an overall great experience, just next time I would eat at the many excellent restaurants nearby. Oh, and the "champagne" could be better than a cheap sparkling, any South African MCC will be sufficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lodge on the Lake near Wilderness in the Western Cape. Arriving at about 4pm we were greeted by Shayne who proved not only to be incredibly friendly but helpful,pleasant and did everything from mixing cocktails, serving supper and setting the table.
We had a fantastic time and the view of the lake is incredible - being able to watch an amazing array of birdlife from the balcony whilst sharing a stunning sun set made my wife and I feel special. This was followed by a romantic supper on the patio - a 3 course meal that was great.
I therefore would have no hesitation in recommending this Lodge - which I also think was value for money. In addition and because we were leaving early, we wern't able to experienece their breakfast however they then went to the extra trouble of making sandwiches in lieu thereof. Clea, good value, beautiful with large, clean rooms and fantastic staff sums it up. We will definitly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs with a view so anyone will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We only stayed 1 night, but what a fantastic stay ! Together with our stay in Oudtshoorn, the best lodges we did stay in during this vacation.
The view was superb ! The nice room and manager on duty did finish everything up nicely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa

Address: 746 North Street, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview: Lodge on the Lake is built on the outskirts of Wilderness. Found on the world-renowned Garden Route, Wilderness is also known as the Eden of the southern coast of South Africa. The Lodge is an exclusive five star guesthouse nestled on the hillside overlooking the spectacular Island Lake and the mountains beyond. Nature and architecture blend seamlessly into a setting that surely must be among the most beautiful in the world. Guests are offered internationally competitive exclusivity in both the accommodation and the adjoining Wellness Spa. Relax in the lounge area and gaze out onto the rimflow pool and the expanse of lake beyond. Accommodation: The Lodge has 5 magnificently appointed rooms, each with full en-suite bathroom, private balcony and unsurpassed views over the lake below and the surrounding mountains. The rooms have been individually decorated in sophisticated style with earthy undertones. Not only honeymooners can indulge in the luxury and space of the Honeymoon Suite with its 4 poster bed and free-standing stone bath. Wellness Spa: Merely walking into the beautifully tranquil Wellness Spa is an exercise in relaxation. Leave your stress at the front door and allow yourself to sink into a truly sumptuous and restorative experience. The emphasis of the spa is on whole body wellness and the 2 treatment rooms are sure to leave you feeling revived and invigorated. There are Facial Treatments, Body Treatments, Massages and TheraVine & TheraNaka treatments to target stress, muscular strain, cellulite and detoxification, amongst others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Lodge On The Lake Hotel Wilderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge On The Lake & Wellness Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.