We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent honeymoon destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale's Way Ocean Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Whale's Way Ocean Retreat to your Saves list
Whale's Way Ocean Retreat
858, 6th Avenue, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent honeymoon destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We went to Whale's Way for the first part of our honeymoon and stayed in the Ocean suite. When we walked into the suite, my wife couldn't believe her eyes and hugged me and jumped up and down at the same time. The suite is breath taking with a view of the ocean from the bed and a view of trees from the jacuzzi bath. The room is very spacious with a huge bed, large jacuzzi bath and two basins. It also has a standard shower, toilet, fridge, walk-in cupboard area and lounging area. The whole suite is one large room with only the toilet enclosed separately. There is a vast range of delicious food to choose from for breakfast.

The beach is within walking distance, although quite a few steps down (and up again). It is also close to many other activities and tourist attractions.

The owner, Dedrei, is very accommodating and extremely helpful, with lots of knowledge of the area and activities. The special treats after a day out was a lovely touch which we really appreciate.

We stayed for 4 nights, but felt that is was still too short.

This was truly a magical experience, and I would recommend this to anybody wanting to explore the garden route region or just relax in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: The ocean suite is excellent as honeymoon accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kempten, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Lovely house on the cliffs with a great view of the sea! Very friendly staff and a polite and helpful host. Excellent breakfast on the magnificent terrace. Unfortunately we were there at the wrong time of the year for whale watching.

Room Tip: The room under the roof is great!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Whale's Way is set high up on a bluff overlooking the Ocean in Wilderness. There are 4 rooms and we saw 3 of them and all seemed very well done. The more expensive rooms are larger and on the upper floor of the B&B so they have more to view, but the lower room on the main floor we had was more than suitable, although it is not terribly private if you have the sliding doors open and the curtains opened. The breakfast was good and filling. The B&B hostess (not the owner) was very helpful and friendly and set us up for dinner at a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Upper rooms (2) - better view, more private. Room on main floor was fine. Room on lower floor has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just beautiful!! Location is high up with spectacular views of the sea, and the house itself is beautiful. What topped it off though was the hospitality of Deidre and the guy (sorry can’t remember name!) they were friendly, helpful, informative and go out of their way to assist you. On Valentines day we were given a glass of champagne at breakfast on the decking in the sunshine overlooking the sea – perfect! Then we were given a single rose – amazing gesture! This was one of our favourite stays – really loved it here. P.s. we recommend serendipity for dinner, 5 course fine dining for reasonable cost, again this was organised for us by Deidre. Only negative, we only had one night here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We only stayed for one night in Whales Way and really wanted to stay longer. We had booked the Sky Penthouse Suite but had been upgraded to the Ocean View Suite which was just stunning. The room was enormous with amazing views from the floor to ceiling windows, the ocean at one end and the mountains at the other. The room was all white with a big jacuzzi bath at one end. It had a really lovely calming feeling to it which was most welcome on our travels. Across the road are steps down to a stunning beach which was deserted when we were there.
The hospitality of our host, Andre, was second to none. You could clearly see that he really wanted all his guests to enjoy their stay and even dropped us at the restaurant we had booked and came and fetched us when we had finished our evening which was really kind of him...thank you Andre.
The food was lovely too and again all the staff went out of their way to ensure you got everything you needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryd
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely stay here .

The location is beautiful right on the coast with amazing ocean views. A short stroll from the hotel is some step leading down to a gorgeous beach, that was completely free of people when we went which was just amazing

The room was beautiful and the bed was soo comfortable. The breakfast was superb.

Deirdre and her husband make the perfect hosts, providing all the information you need and providing a very personal touch.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Whale's Way we were made to feel very welcome and special by the host Denise. Nothing was too much trouble and Denise went out of her way to accomodate anything we wanted. Breakfast was amazing with a variety of different choices which Denise added her personal creativity to. We stayed in the Ocean suite which was even better than the pictures and again Denise added some lovely personal touches that reflect how thoughtful she is and mindful that you have the best time possible. The views from the room were fantastic and we were recommended a lovely restaurant nearby at Serendipity which offers a unique dining experience. We would highly recommend this very special place to anyone travelling the Garden Route as we were - the initial impression when we were shown to our room was jaw-dropping. We look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whale's Way Ocean Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Way Ocean Retreat

Address: 858, 6th Avenue, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale's Way is a stunning ocean-front retreat where you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Enjoy the spectacular ocean and mountain views and watch whales and dolphins from your bedroom. Most of the rooms have ocean views, TV, DVD and CD player. The style is light and open-plan with a natural elegance. The Penthouse rooms are particularly luxurious and decadent, perfect for those who appreciate the best of everything. Relax in the jacuzzi overlooking the Indian Ocean, walk along the deserted beach, enjoy a breathtaking sunset and be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Many fine golf courses nearby. Close proximity to activities such as canoeing, paragliding, horse riding and more. Award-winning restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Whale's Way Ocean Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale's Way Ocean Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.