We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guest house run by two equally great guys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Manor Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wilderness Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Wilderness Manor Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 51 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Bournemouth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic guest house run by two equally great guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Wilderness Manor is a beautifully presented property, inside and outside, in a delightfully quiet and picturesque location. Gerald and JD are the perfect hosts, who independently, and very kindly, arranged a dinner appointment for us at The Girls (which was great) when we were late arriving, and then further adjusting the booking so that we didn't have to rush. Even though we were late, they sat us down with a drink and immediately relaxed us into the Wilderness pace of life, ensuring that we would enjoy our stay right from the outset. Breakfast was brilliant in lovely surroundings and Gerald and JD couldn't have been more helpful in providing guidance and advice in terms of places to visit and routes to take. We loved our stay and our only complaint is that it was too short!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
200
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This incredible home is somewhere that you just have to stay if you're travelling along the Garden Route. Gerald and JD were the consummate hosts, and we were sad to say goodbye the minute that we left. The house is luxury personified and we were so well looked after we felt like family. The breakfasts were incredible and the views spectacular - we honestly can't rate Wilderness Manor any higher! As for Wilderness itself, WOW. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is our fourth trip to SA and we have been very fortunate to stay in some superb accommodation over the years but none would rank as highly as Wilderness Manor. There is so much to commend but for a start he we go:-

The location - Wilderness is just fabulous - great views, lovely beaches, some super restaurants (see review of The Girls), fairly quiet and 100% safe.

The accommodation - spacious, comfortable and so tastefully presented that we have been taking photos to use as inspiration for when we get home.....

The hosts - Gerald and JD treat their guests like royalty and set the standard for customer care - useful tip - if either of the owners express an opinion or make a recommendation then you will be well advised to act upon it as on each occasion that we did, it improved the quality of our stay - a great example being JD's suggestion of a more enjoyable route back to Cape Town - stunning views.

The food - as you would expect, a super breakfast with both cold & cooked courses - useful tip 2 - try the muesli.

The welcome - Maxwell & Maggie (the lovely labradors) do a great job in supporting Gerald & JD.

As you can tell we loved the experience and cannot recommend Wilderness Manor highly enough - simply wonderful. You need to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If you want immaculate accommodations bordering a pristine wildlife area that is a lovely boardwalk into town, you have found it! I enjoyed lovely early morning walks on the boardwalk along the lagoon to the ocean. Then, we were served a delicious, hot breakfast. The factor that makes Wildness Manor stand out is the knowledge of the area and support given by the owners. Their ability to facilitate mountain biking arrangements "at the drop of a hat" (my husband is still talking about it), to giving detailed directions on local hiking areas allowed us to make the most of of 3 days stay there. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were 3 couples traveling together. All room were great. All rooms were quiet with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

From our first 'hello' to our final 'goodbye', our hosts Gerald & JD ensured we were treated like VIPs in their beautiful home. A tranquil & beautiful setting to enjoy this spectacular part of the Garden Route. We long to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are a good size & beautifully appointed. There is a choice of a garden view, but most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
king's lynn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just as good as we had been told. Breakfast on the verandah watching the sunbirds feeding, while we enjoyed our wonderful food. Spacious bedroom, bathroom, and private lounge and balcony looking over the lagoon. And then those enormous visitors' lounges with so much of interest to read or items to look at from all over the world. Shame that we couldn't find an opportunity to challenge Gerald or JD at their lovely snooker table.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Well, let's describe our stay.
Wilderness is not the place for a dip in the sea! Victoria Bay 10 minutes away is good for that.
Wilderness IS the place to stay for village living, good nature walks and the opportunity to stay at Wilderness Manor.
Exceptionally well run with large rooms and bathrooms, excellent breakfasts and local knowledge expounded by the hosts.
An excellent stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Manor Guest House

Address: 397 Waterside Road, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilderness Manor is an elegant and refined Colonial Guest House situated in Waterside Road, overlooking the beautiful Wilderness Lagoon, in the scenic village of Wilderness.Step out of the front door and onto the boardwalk for an easy and safe stroll to golden beaches, restaurants and village shops.This exquisitely decorated home has an ambiance of tranquility, serenity and style. Relax in the spacious guest lounge or billiard / reading room decorated in an African Colonial style, with oriental rugs, art and antiques. Enjoy superb views from the balconies overlooking the lagoon. Retire to the spacious and luxurious lagoon facing rooms or to the standard garden room.Wilderness Manor is centrally located to explore the lakes area and nearby Garden Route towns like Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, Mossel Bay and Oudtshoorn in the Klein Karoo. Spend the day walking on endless beaches, playing golf, bird watching, canoeing, cycling and hiking. A three or four night stay is ideal to explore the Garden Route and Klein Karoo from Wilderness Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wilderness Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.